R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-19-2014, 09:12 AM   #991
Tech Elite
 
Rick Vessell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mars
Posts: 2,239
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B44 View Post
Thank you Sir. have a sp1 in the mail.

what bodies and wings fit the car,sorry im a newbie to this.
Newbie? HA!

Welcome to the circus Mr. Gaines.
__________________
Futaba, O.S. Engines, Tornado Fuel, Schumacher Racing, SpeedPassion USA, Eggroll Inc., Desoto Racing, Vesselli Racing
Rick Vessell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 10:58 AM   #992
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,770
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by liljohn1064 View Post
You'd have to modify the front part of the servo mount as the screw passes through the chassis, then spacer, then center plate and finally into the servo mount. For the plate to travel up, you'd have to remove the amount you want to shim off the plastic stock on the mount from both sides. Easy for the stock plastic servo mount, not so much if you have the aluminum bits.
got it! it all makes sense now, thank you
__________________
A800 HW XR10Pro HW G2 4.5T|||B5MFL HW StockSpec Team Powers 17.5|||VTA: Awesomatix EVO 1.1 Orca VX3 |||F1:
Xray X1 2016, HW V3.1, Ride XR Tires, D4SS 21.5|||Futaba 4PX|||iCharger 308Duo
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 11:09 AM   #993
B44
Tech Master
 
B44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,339
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Vessell View Post
Newbie? HA!

Welcome to the circus Mr. Gaines.
well new to F1
__________________
ed gaines
B44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 08:13 AM   #994
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,278
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to liljohn1064 Send a message via MSN to liljohn1064 Send a message via Yahoo to liljohn1064
Default

I added the aluminum steering bridge and clearance in 185 config is no longer an issue with the steering ball stud.
__________________
John Higgins
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 11:28 AM   #995
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: OC
Posts: 2,051
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

I've checked my normal sources for parts, but am not finding some of the carbon reinforced parts in stock. Anyone having any luck? I'm specifically looking for the steering uprights.
Sorcerer001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 12:12 PM   #996
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,278
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to liljohn1064 Send a message via MSN to liljohn1064 Send a message via Yahoo to liljohn1064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sorcerer001 View Post
I've checked my normal sources for parts, but am not finding some of the carbon reinforced parts in stock. Anyone having any luck? I'm specifically looking for the steering uprights.
Even SP USA is out. They have most everything else.
__________________
John Higgins
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 12:51 PM   #997
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
and have to re-mount the servo every time you do ride height? no thanks..

What I think we can all agree on though, is there are a number of ways to skin a cat. They all have their advantages and disadvantages, but for me, the technique I have ended up with, is the way I feel is best for me. Simple really.
I don't remount my servo...it is glued to the chassis with shoe goo and I just use some thin double stick tape on the sides for support. I just peel the mounts off and move them up or down with the plate. To me it is much easier than fussing with the bell crank height every time I want to change ride height. How often do we change ride height anyway? Once we get it set we pretty much don't touch it again unless we switch brands of tires.

Quote:
Originally Posted by liljohn1064 View Post
I know you mentioned that before, but I forgot you had done it that way. How does that impact the rear upper arm ball stud? Like a caster block on a pan car with arms angled down from back to front?
Everything moves together when you move the plate with the servo mounts so you don't have to change a thing on the upper arms. If you change the ride height using the arms you then would need to re-shim the upper arms as well since only the front upper arm mount moves with the arms.

For me moving the plate with servo mounts is a much more logical system since the whole suspension moves together. What SP should have done was tie the rear upper arm mount to the plate instead of the servo mount...then ride height adjustments would be very straight forward.
__________________
Apex RC
www.apexrc.com - Hawaii's #1 RC Proshop

Share & Like Our Page:https://www.facebook.com/ApexRCProshop
Win free stuff!
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 01:34 PM   #998
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: OC
Posts: 2,051
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by liljohn1064 View Post
Even SP USA is out. They have most everything else.
Gah! I was afraid that'd be the answer. Oh, well. Still have a couple of the soft stock spares left. Thanks! I just talked another friend in to buying this car, his main concern was parts availability as compared to other brands. I reassured him it wasn't a problem...
Sorcerer001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 01:04 PM   #999
B44
Tech Master
 
B44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,339
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I know to use f104 wheels for the sp1,I heard to use the foam wheel is this correct for rubber tire?
__________________
ed gaines
B44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 04:58 PM   #1000
jrp
Tech Master
 
jrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,599
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B44 View Post
I know to use f104 wheels for the sp1,I heard to use the foam wheel is this correct for rubber tire?
I know if your mounting the "pit" tires, then for sure use the foam rims.

Where you planning to race your F1 at?
__________________
Spektrum - CRC - Horizon Hobbies - RC America - XRay - Prolevel RC - Max Power - SRC

- RC Gears for Android - Find it in the Android Market
jrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 09:02 AM   #1001
B44
Tech Master
 
B44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,339
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

plan on running at Drews an making trips to Carbondale.
__________________
ed gaines
B44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 09:12 AM   #1002
Tech Elite
 
Rick Vessell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mars
Posts: 2,239
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B44 View Post
I know to use f104 wheels for the sp1,I heard to use the foam wheel is this correct for rubber tire?
Check out the youtube video from rcf1blog. Shows the easiest way to mount the tires.
__________________
Futaba, O.S. Engines, Tornado Fuel, Schumacher Racing, SpeedPassion USA, Eggroll Inc., Desoto Racing, Vesselli Racing
Rick Vessell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 11:31 AM   #1003
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 16
Default

Hi I have a doubt about the servo arm that can be used, I broke the original, and I will not have parts for the race. You can use any other?.
Thanks and sorry for my English
topansky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 11:43 AM   #1004
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,278
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to liljohn1064 Send a message via MSN to liljohn1064 Send a message via Yahoo to liljohn1064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by topansky View Post
Hi I have a doubt about the servo arm that can be used, I broke the original, and I will not have parts for the race. You can use any other?.
Thanks and sorry for my English
Any will work, just try to match the length. I used Kimbrough medium servo saver instead of a solid arm with no loss of steering.
__________________
John Higgins
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 11:46 AM   #1005
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,770
Default

the rear axle crescents:

for pit rubber tires do they go at the top or the bottom?
__________________
A800 HW XR10Pro HW G2 4.5T|||B5MFL HW StockSpec Team Powers 17.5|||VTA: Awesomatix EVO 1.1 Orca VX3 |||F1:
Xray X1 2016, HW V3.1, Ride XR Tires, D4SS 21.5|||Futaba 4PX|||iCharger 308Duo
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:20 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0