R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-22-2013, 09:45 PM   #571
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,053
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalnut View Post
So, I had a chance to have a few local F1 guys look over my newly built kit last night. Overall I think I did a good job, but one of them noted a problem: my rear pod droops down past horizontal. I built everything per the manual as far as I can tell, but it looks like the length of the shock lets the pod droop. I have the shock mounted in the hole closest to the rear pod, and I'm using the shortest shock end screwed all the way in. So... what's the best fix here? I can add spacers to the inside of the shock to limit it's travel, or I could try mounting it in the "middle" hole. Have you guys done either, or did I screw something else up that is causing this droop?
For our track I would just put spacers under the piston before building the shock. I always liked the way this car worked with a short and angled shock, so I would't move the shock to the other holes.
__________________
Pro Spec America/Apex RC - Team ORCA - Awesomatix USA - Roche RC USA - AVID - Sweep - Protoform - Pro-One RC - Slapmaster Tools - Hebiki Design Works - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers - Timezone Hobbies
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 09:46 PM   #572
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Auburn, Wa
Posts: 2,267
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

You need to limit the shock internally, no you didn't do anything wrong it's a regular part of tuning F1chassis with pod droop
__________________
UF1 Seattle - SPEEDWERKES - VBC Racing - Team ORCA
Difuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 10:13 PM   #573
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 43
Default

Ya, cannot remember exactly but I do have 1 or 1.5mm spacer inside the shocks as the are way too much droops.
__________________
www.beamcat.com
beamcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 10:35 PM   #574
Tech Elite
 
metalnut's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,726
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys! I really appreciate the help. Talk about a crash course in F1 setup I'll add some limiting spacers and get the pod to a nice even horizontal.
__________________
Team Nervous | Team Scruffy | Team Orange

"If you ain't first, you're last!"
- Ricky Bobby
metalnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 11:38 PM   #575
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalnut View Post
So, I had a chance to have a few local F1 guys look over my newly built kit last night. Overall I think I did a good job, but one of them noted a problem: my rear pod droops down past horizontal. I built everything per the manual as far as I can tell, but it looks like the length of the shock lets the pod droop. I have the shock mounted in the hole closest to the rear pod, and I'm using the shortest shock end screwed all the way in. So... what's the best fix here? I can add spacers to the inside of the shock to limit it's travel, or I could try mounting it in the "middle" hole. Have you guys done either, or did I screw something else up that is causing this droop?
Some droop past horizontal is normal...as people above mentioned you use spacers inside the shock to regulate how much droop you have. I run mine with no additional spacers inside because on my track the car pushes and the extra droop allows more weight transfer to the front.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 01:27 AM   #576
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 16
Default

Hi, I have a question, you can place the body and wings of Yokomo in this car?
topansky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 01:54 AM   #577
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Some droop past horizontal is normal...as people above mentioned you use spacers inside the shock to regulate how much droop you have. I run mine with no additional spacers inside because on my track the car pushes and the extra droop allows more weight transfer to the front.
the sp1 have lots. talking about at least 3-4mm.
__________________
www.beamcat.com
beamcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 03:14 AM   #578
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beamcat View Post
the sp1 have lots. talking about at least 3-4mm.
Yup they do...and rubber tires on pan cars push like mad so more is needed than a normal pan car setup.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 11:06 AM   #579
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by topansky View Post
Hi, I have a question, you can place the body and wings of Yokomo in this car?
Body yes....wing, not sure....I think all the wings in the market should be all the same setup like the F103 from Tamiya...I am just guessing.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 12:07 PM   #580
Tech Elite
 
metalnut's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,726
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Yup they do...and rubber tires on pan cars push like mad so more is needed than a normal pan car setup.
Well, last night I added 3mm (I believe) of shims to the inside of my shock, which almost eliminated all droop. There is a very small amount now, I would say around 1mm. So, if my car ends up pushing too much on carpet, I'll just remove 1mm at a time and see how it improves.
__________________
Team Nervous | Team Scruffy | Team Orange

"If you ain't first, you're last!"
- Ricky Bobby
metalnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 01:35 PM   #581
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Auburn, Wa
Posts: 2,267
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

If your shock end is completely tight you can also make small adjustments by loosening the shock end. Usually once I have the big adjustment made(internal limiters) I just adjust by the shock end.
__________________
UF1 Seattle - SPEEDWERKES - VBC Racing - Team ORCA
Difuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 03:44 PM   #582
Tech Elite
 
metalnut's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,726
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Difuser View Post
If your shock end is completely tight you can also make small adjustments by loosening the shock end. Usually once I have the big adjustment made(internal limiters) I just adjust by the shock end.
That's a really good idea, thanks for the tip
__________________
Team Nervous | Team Scruffy | Team Orange

"If you ain't first, you're last!"
- Ricky Bobby
metalnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 06:18 AM   #583
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
Body yes....wing, not sure....I think all the wings in the market should be all the same setup like the F103 from Tamiya...I am just guessing.
thanks
topansky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 06:16 PM   #584
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 192
Default

Sick !
brushless55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 05:51 PM   #585
Tech Addict
 
clint's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ottawa,Canada
Posts: 740
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to clint
Default

Hi guys I may be getting one of these bad boys..question- do the Tamiya wheels and body kits/wings fit without any mods?
__________________
www.rcottawa.com TRF EVO 5.5 Exotek V2, TRF 419X, RSD RR12 V2
PR/HP PRS1 V1,V2,V3 FM, PR/HP PRSB401
http://hobbyauthority-dist.com
http://www.maclan-racing.com
http://www.pr-rc.com/
clint is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:24 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0