R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-08-2005, 09:18 PM   #1
Tech Adept
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 109
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Novak XRS CRAP

I just got a replacement xrs back from Novak. The first one ran 6 laps of practice with a P2K2 and an average (1.16) GP 3300 before it started faulting. I only bought it for practice so I could back off a wall if I got hung up. I won't even try the replacement. A Novak tech. called me and told me that the problem with the first controller was that I replaced the stock plugs with Sermos. I replied that I was running a mild stock motor and since the controller was rated for a 15 turn mod, I should be fine. He replied that they rely on the resistance of the bullet connectors and the Tamiya plug to limit the current, and if you replace any connectors, the speed control will not handle even a mold STOCK motor. I talked to a supervisor who also confirmed this. (I didn't even replace the crappy 16 gauge speaker wire they used!)

I've been racing since 1987. I have 15 year old Tekin esc's that still work great. Novak is false advertising their product. They should recall the XRS's.
kevinsreell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2005, 04:35 AM   #2
Tech Apprentice
losi_g+'s Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 67

I bought my XRS for the same reason - just to mess around. It lasted 5 months then went bang. Thankfully Novak replaced it even though it was a month out of warranty. I changed the wire to Novak super flex wire and run corally connectors and have not had a problem with it. That was just over 6 months ago.
FYI i run a trinity Chameleon 2 pro with GP3300's and the speedo is swapped between my XXXS - carpet, street weapon - asphalt and RC12L4 and doesnt have a problem running under any conditions.
losi_g+ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2005, 07:48 AM   #3
Tech Master
dakrat's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581

so i guess the problem occurs when hardwiring the wires. and should always use some connectors? that sucks.
dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005, 08:25 AM   #4
Tech Apprentice
losi_g+'s Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 67

Do you mean just on battery or on motor as well cos my motor is hardwired!
losi_g+ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005, 08:32 AM   #5
Tech Adept
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 160
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

I also have one I got just to mess around the house with and so far it's been ok, but another guy I know at my local track has one he put in his mini and after a couple of minutes it seems to go into thermal overload.
RCAmerica | Xray | Team Tekin | RC Paint By Sonny | P1 Brand
Monte Hess is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are TC5s crap? Bikerbob Electric On-Road 42 03-03-2008 04:58 PM
HOLLY CRAP!!! themanimal Northwest Racers 54 09-09-2006 12:47 AM
all my crap yokomo7 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 03-17-2005 10:37 AM
Carrying all yer Crap! Geek Electric On-Road 9 12-12-2003 09:12 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:20 AM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0