Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
AE TC 6.1 or Tamiya Spec R R1? >

AE TC 6.1 or Tamiya Spec R R1?

AE TC 6.1 or Tamiya Spec R R1?

Old 10-24-2012, 07:58 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default AE TC 6.1 or Tamiya Spec R R1?

OK so my neighbor (resqnu) and I are buying our first touring cars. First I am not new to the hobby and I'm an accomplished offroad driver. I have had everything from losi, mugen, kyosho and Durango 1/10th - 1/8th nitro and electric. I got my neighbor hooked on offroad and now we want some onroad cars.

We have narrowed it down to these 2 and now are comparing the 2 cars the TC6.1 on sale for $250 and the Spec R R1 $289.99 which is not made by Tamiya sorry I'm new to onroad.

My neighbor wants the TC6.1 which is a nice car. I am leaning towards the Spec R R1.

What I am looking for is which one of these cars box stock is capable of competing at a high level. If any upgrades are needed what would need to be purchased. We have lots of electronics to get them up and running instantly.

We are looking for advice from real racers (no fan boys). As we have both learned most cars are quite capable in the right hands.

Oh and should I get a 1/10th set up kit? If so other than Hudy (I have an 1/8th scale hudy set up station) who makes a good 1/10th set up station.

Last edited by vladconnery; 10-24-2012 at 08:16 AM.
Old 10-24-2012, 08:01 AM
Dan
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)

For one, a little more research helps.....Tamiya does not make the R1, it is Spec R. Tamiya don't really do anodized red for their team cars too and worth about double that price.

I would get the Spec R. I think the Associated is among the lowest build quality of all the top end tourers out there.
Old 10-24-2012, 08:02 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

I'd get the new TOP EX...

but since thats not on your list I would say the TC6.1
Old 10-24-2012, 08:05 AM
Tech Fanatic

Originally Posted by Dan