R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-04-2012, 11:56 AM   #16
Tech Fanatic
erchn's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 768
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Mb3195 View Post
This is true to a point, however when you run tires that have different diameters (ride or sorex for example), the block method becomes redundant as 6 and 5 on the blocks with give a different amount of droop on both tires.

The over ride height method is transferable between tires.

I do use the block method though.
I almost replied with this same thought earlier in the week. I quit because there are so many other variables that change at the same time you change tire diameter:
- roll center
- ride height
- camber gain

For instance, if you put on larger tires, and raised your roll centers accordingly to have the same roll center, and lowered the car to have the same ride height, will having the same relative droop even matter anymore? Especially considering you are probably running different tires with different handling characteristics anyway.

Maybe it does, but it seems like too many variables for me, so I choose block method as well, it's simply easier, and you can adjust car from there based on handling. My $.02.

erchn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:21 PM   #17
Tech Champion
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5,540
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I use the droop over ride height also, but I use two ride height guages , one on each side of the car, to get a more accurate measurement. I also leave tires on my car so I can feel and match the tire scrub on both sides of the car. The tire scrub feel on the ground has to be the same on both sides , while the two droop guages elevate the chassis the same amount on both sides. This way of adjusting droop is more precise than using one droop guage, and won't be dependent on other factors like tweak, camber, etc.....
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:25 PM   #18
Tech Champion
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5,540
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

If you don't have a Hudy board, using two droop gauges is the next best thing, and it's cheap.....
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DROOP SETTINGS PLEASE THE GREEK FREAK Nitro Off-Road 16 02-10-2010 08:57 PM
rc8t droop settings SPARTAN300gt Nitro Off-Road 6 01-21-2009 08:33 PM
Droop settings fruitland04 Electric On-Road 15 11-17-2007 05:15 PM
Droop Settings? grymg Electric On-Road 16 09-23-2004 01:23 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:34 AM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0