R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 11-17-2012, 05:42 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
Default Must haves to get started in electric racing

Hello im looking to get into electric onroad touring and need some direction. Ive been racing nitro on road for 15+ years but know nothing about electric. First off chargers and power supplys which ones are the ones to buy and which ones should i stay away from.Thank you
Mugen USA, Sanwa, Hobby People, Desoto Racing, Flashpoint Fuel
T.Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 09:58 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Thunder power chargers are really nice. Any power supply will suffice just as long as there is enough power output to run your charger and accessories. But I recommend 20-30 amps. A deceits soldering iron may come in handy(60 watts). Ride height gauge along with down stop gauge. A basic camber gauge, doesn't have to be the fancy Hudy kit but something to help with set up. Maybe a pit lamp. Oh and I almost forgot, hex drivers. I'm sure that other will suggest other items but that's what I would start with.

P.S. tire additive but I suggest asking your fellow club members what's they use and or allowed at your club.
Minh Nguyen-FD
[Hobby Authority Distribution][Maclan Racing][Xpert]
trigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 10:55 PM   #3
Tech Regular
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Find out the details on what your club is running. My club runs foam tires on electric touring cars. These touring cars are quite a bit different and more sensitive to changes than the off road stuff. In my opinion, there are areas where you can save money. That's on the chargers and batteries. As for chargers, I have one of these. $32 with a power supply.

It will charge up to a 6S battery. These touring cars use 2S batteries.