R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-25-2013, 05:33 PM   #5296
Tech Master
 
Meradin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,298
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyujmn View Post
Had an awesome drive with the RSD v1 on Thursday night. I hadn't raced or practiced for probably 3-4 months before Thursday, so I was incredibly rusty. The car during practice was really loose. I was traction rolling or sliding out at every corner. It was incredibly frustrating. I couldn't hold a corner with speed to save my life.

I made 3 small setup changes right before the first qualifier. Laid the rear shocks down 1 notch, took some droop out of the front and the rear, and added a 1mm shim underneath the inner upper bulkhead. OMG what a difference the car made. I quickly jumped out to a lead and was over 6 secs ahead of 2nd place and extending my lead when I decided to just go ahead and choke and jump a dot over half the track! Landed on my back and ended up 4 secs back of 1st place. I still closed down on him, and finished 1sec behind him.

It was amazing how responsive the car was to setup changes. It went from meh to absolutely dialed with some simple changes. Before I got this chassis, I was always a middle of the pack guy, even when I was driving a lot more. Now, after not even driving for MONTHS, I came back and almost won. I'd consider that a success!

What was the base before your setup changes? Stock carpet setup? I am curious as this is a pretty good endorsement, just wondering what you startd with as I find the t4'13 to be a great car.
__________________
Better than Randy, Adam said so!

Second thought...I don't trust Adams, they make up everything!

"Leave it to Steever", custom paint masks, decals, and paint.
Meradin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 09:21 PM   #5297
Tech Master
 
mac853's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dirty place
Posts: 1,725
Questions??

Dear anyone:

In fact i am looking for run my T4 with normal length spring, of course to be possible is to run another make short shock.

Could anyone tell me if fit with tamiya new short shocks?

http://www.rcmart.com/tamiya-42273-s...g-p-38320.html

Or other brands else, suggest me please!

Best regards
mac853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 10:42 PM   #5298
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meradin View Post
What was the base before your setup changes? Stock carpet setup? I am curious as this is a pretty good endorsement, just wondering what you startd with as I find the t4'13 to be a great car.
Base setup was what I was just using on the stock T4... 350w oil all around, 2.3kit springs, pretty standard droop/ride height and shock position settings.

I wanted to see what how the car drove with the same exact setup as I had on the stock T4. After some very minor refinements, I can honestly say that this car was tons better, at least in my own personal experience. It was the first time that I felt my T4 could've gone much much faster had there been a better driver! The setup I ended up with is....

FRONT:
2 dot inserts all around set up like this... (.. ) ( ..)
1mm shim under suspension blocks
350w oil with 2.3 springs
1mm shim on the C-hub, none on the bulkhead
Medium camber lengths
2nd hole from the bottom on the shock tower
1mm droop, measured over RH
5mm RH

REAR:
3 dot inserts on the front, 1 dot rear like this...
( ...) (... )
( .) (. )
1mm shim under suspension blocks
350w oil with 2.3 springs
Shocks laid all the way down
1.5mm ORH droop
5mm RH
3mm shim on the rear hub carrier
2mm shim on the inner bulkhead
Medium camber lengths

Using stock layshaft bulkheads, but no screws in them at all. Just screws on the front and rear bulkheads

500w oil in the rear diff

Btw, you also need to add wheelbase shims or else the suspension will have tons of play. I think it's a little less than 2mm of shims that you need for the wheelbase. I added them to the front most and rear most sections of the car, such that the inner wheel base sections have no shims at all, and the outer ones have all the shims. Not exactly sure how much I had to shim it. I had some weird sizes laying around and just matched up sizes and shimmed it.

This setup was just absolutely dialed on low-medium traction carpet. Again, I was always very much just a middle of the pack guy, but this car just allowed me to drive the hell out of it. Had fast laps in the qualifiers, and this is against guys that had TONS more track time than me. I feel like had I been able to withstand the pressure, I could've won. I was shaking cuz I was so nervous at being in the lead!
__________________
Xray | Airtronics | R1Wurks LiPo | Hobbywing
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 06:00 AM   #5299
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 13
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by chasingthepack View Post
i cant see why not, they use the same battery holders
Thanks
Fille_SWE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 08:42 PM   #5300
Tech Elite
 
RED-LINE M03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: >>> USA <<<
Posts: 4,102
Trader Rating: 127 (100%+)
Default

I'm looking to upgrade my bumper on my sedan.
I was looking at the Reflex Racing bumper.

Does anyone have any recommendations?

http://www.reflexracing.net/RSD-XRAY...er_p_1769.html
__________________
A battery pack a day keeps the stress away

🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻💪😃👍🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻
RED-LINE M03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 08:44 PM   #5301
Tech Elite
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

I prefer the T3 bumper over the RSD one.
__________________
Xray - ORCA - Avid RC - MaxFX Paint
TriCitiesRC.com
Odin544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 10:04 PM   #5302
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,215
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

I cut down the center mounting area of the T3 hard bumper and have been perfectly happy with it. Before that I tried a BSR bumper that only made it a couple packs and ripped. Maybe it's bad luck but I'm sticking with the T3 bumper.
__________________
www.teamgravityrc.com
Leisure Hours Raceway
Troy Carter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 10:19 PM   #5303
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

I've been runnin the CSO bumper with pretty good success. It's stiffer than the stock T4 one but not quite as wide as the RSD bumper. Still lightweight, unlike the T3 bumper which is quite a bit heavier.
__________________
Xray | Airtronics | R1Wurks LiPo | Hobbywing
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 12:48 AM   #5304
Tech Elite
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

I cut the t3 bumper down to the same thickness as the t4 bumper and it works great.
__________________
Xray - ORCA - Avid RC - MaxFX Paint
TriCitiesRC.com
Odin544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 04:52 AM   #5305
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RED-LINE M03 View Post
I'm looking to upgrade my bumper on my sedan.
I was looking at the Reflex Racing bumper.

Does anyone have any recommendations?

http://www.reflexracing.net/RSD-XRAY...er_p_1769.html
I've been running the RSD version for a while now and like it, had a T3 hard bumper I cut down to T4 size before but prefer the width of the RSD, plus it's a lot lighter.
__________________
Xray T4'16, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2016
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RD Disco
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 11:34 PM   #5306
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canberra in Australia
Posts: 94
Default

What spares and tuning items should i get for my new t4 '14? C hubs, steering blocks of course but how about belts? Pins? Roll bars? Ideas please, thanks
Fly'n Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 04:16 AM   #5307
Tech Master
 
mac853's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dirty place
Posts: 1,725
Questions??

Could anybody explain me if is this DRIVE SHAFT COUPLING which could replace original 305231 of Xray?

Does it worth to buy, then will not create loose since is smaller?

http://www.reflexracing.net/RSD-XRAY...ff_p_1753.html

Then about this 1 too, could it worth to buy since fits on V2 chassis of RSD?

http://www.reflexracing.net/SPR027-U...T4_p_1794.html

Best regards
mac853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 11:01 AM   #5308
Tech Addict
 
Bigz84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 587
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mac853 View Post
Could anybody explain me if is this DRIVE SHAFT COUPLING which could replace original 305231 of Xray?

Does it worth to buy, then will not create loose since is smaller?

http://www.reflexracing.net/RSD-XRAY...ff_p_1753.html

Then about this 1 too, could it worth to buy since fits on V2 chassis of RSD?

http://www.reflexracing.net/SPR027-U...T4_p_1794.html

Best regards
Hi, let me take a crack at this..
your fist picture is a steering rack post, so no it will not work for the drive shaft coupling.

yes, this top teck, w/ the motor mount support will be a great tuning option, as I will be picking one up myself the next time I order thru them. this option lets you take out all the layshaft screws to alter traction of the car.

general question for all out there. Has anyone gone from the V1 RSD chassis conversion to the V2 conversion for 17.5 blinky, and if so, what did you have to change about the chassis setup? I was just wondering if you have a good setup on the car already, will it work for the V2. Also, what did you do about mounting the antenna mount as there is no hole in the top deck for the antenna tube to go up thru. as of right now, I just wrapped the wire towards the servo and bent the wire up, so it won't get tangled. What have others done?
__________________
Radiopost : EA Motorsports : Speedzone : Orca : Waldorf RC : Reflex Racing/RSD : Wild Turbo Fans : Franchise Racing Products : RCAmerica : Hudy : Xray : Diggity Designs: Pro One Racing
Bigz84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 11:11 AM   #5309
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,674
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Use the hole directly behind the original one to route the antenna through the top deck. It should go through just fine.
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 12:34 PM   #5310
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

On my T4s, I drilled and countersunk a hole behind the servo. Now I don't have to faff about with the antenna when I remove the top deck.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xray T3 2012 rasta_man Electric On-Road 4220 11-09-2016 02:45 PM
RC10B4/T4 Forum DerekL Electric Off-Road 14331 01-01-2016 03:18 PM
****HUGE AE T4 TRUCK TIRE SALE *** CRCDUDE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 32 08-23-2010 09:55 AM


Tags
xray t4


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:21 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0