R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-28-2015, 08:31 PM   #3706
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sutter, California
Posts: 1,178
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

Is there any more durable aftermarket foam bumper available for the r1?i can't seem to find anything
dpcardoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 09:06 PM   #3707
Tech Regular
 
shiston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 410
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpcardoza View Post
Is there any more durable aftermarket foam bumper available for the r1?i can't seem to find anything
Not 100% sure but i think the Xray T3 bumper may work.
__________________
Hang around......we'll talk some more
shiston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 04:42 AM   #3708
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chi-Town West Burbs
Posts: 1,397
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiston View Post
Not 100% sure but i think the Xray T3 bumper may work.
+1 The Xray bumper will fit. Parma offers foam bumper blanks, that you can use to cut you own custom fit bumper.
__________________
Goal Achieved....Not Dead Last.
mooby64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 06:50 PM   #3709
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sutter, California
Posts: 1,178
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

Does anybody know if the spec r1 and the r2 are interchangeable? I have an extra carbon fiber r1 chassis and was thinking about getting an r2 sport to upgrade.
dpcardoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2015, 12:24 AM   #3710
Tech Elite
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,001
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

shock towers should be. lower and upper plates are not. green/brown/bronze whatever it is bulkheads are different and only work on the r2 chassis. all the red parts, plastic parts ect are compatible. identical even.
shocks are tll new internals, same shafts, shorter springs but normal springs fit just fine.
__________________
My stuff
| Team Associated - Reedy - Reflex Racing/RSD - ProAMPS RC |
My RC
www.irocc.ca - www.wcics.ca - www.vrcworld.com - http://proampsrc.com/ - www.teamassociated.com
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2015, 11:27 AM   #3711
Tech Elite
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,001
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

I will say that getting correct ride height/droop setting with full lenth shock springs can be a challenge and you have to play with the shock angle and mounting points to get it right. id suggest using full length springs in the back and getting a few short lengths for the front just to take away this problem. this will be espectially evident with stiffer spring rates.. to get the front end down to 5mm with std length springs i had to stay on the softer side, yokomo black or blue.

i put my car back together with the stock mainc hassis for outdoors and the new floating top plate. couldnt really find any information on where that part would be of benefit but my guess is it could be use to keep the flex linear? since it attaches to a middle point but allows movement, i guess it would restrict how much the rear flexes proportionate to the front. I think this should allow the front end to wander and hunt for more bite with the rear following more controlled. ill just have to see. i guess the other way to look at it is it allows the use of only 4 screws which normally gives a MESSTON of flex, but when you use the ccenter pivot, just one screw radically changes that characteristic..

i tend to like a rigid car that bites hard so we will see how this works. I didnt really like it indoors, but im used to a super rigit aluminum chassis and all the top plate screws being in. so i think for that, the cf chassis already has too much flex.

I think this car should be pretty good outdoors. outfitted mine with floating servo mount and pivot top plate. aluminum steering blocks FINALLY and got a shitton of yeah racing shims. they sell them in 0.25,0.5, then 1-3 in half mm incriments in a set for like $15.. pretty good deal.
__________________
My stuff
| Team Associated - Reedy - Reflex Racing/RSD - ProAMPS RC |
My RC
www.irocc.ca - www.wcics.ca - www.vrcworld.com - http://proampsrc.com/ - www.teamassociated.com
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 08:17 AM   #3712
Tech Adept
 
TheeMikeCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 213
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I know it's probably already been posted in here. But reading thru 248pages is kinda brutal. The Spec-R S2 is $85 on rcmart. Are the parts for the R2 interchangeable? Say I buy the Cf chassis for the R2. Can I use that for the S2 kit? I want to make my purchase but want to buy some of the Finer R2 parts at the same time. IE aluminum shock body etc..
TheeMikeCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 08:35 AM   #3713
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,799
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Plastics, suspension mounts and drivetrain are about the only things that are interchangeable, however they make all the S2 parts in carbon and you can use the R1 aluminum parts to make you own decked out S2.

If you can, spending the extra cash for the R2 is worth it though. It is a great car and super fast. It also comes with all the carbon suspension parts.

We sell the kit for sub $300.00 at our shop when used with one of our coupons. PM me if you are interested.
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 08:49 AM   #3714
Tech Adept
 
TheeMikeCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 213
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the quick reply Cristian. Good to know. Now my only problem is that Im impatient with a small budget at the moment so I figure I can hop up the car at a rate where the wife wont notice. The account missing $100 is easier to explain than $300 haha

Btw do you have a website I can check out?
TheeMikeCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 09:35 AM   #3715
Tech Master
 
patorz31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 1,390
Default

http://www.reflexracing.net/ Great guy to deal with too. He actually knows his $hit compaired to some guys in the hobby.
__________________
Northern Alberta Scale Car Auto Racers Pres. and Promotions
TEAM POWERS, RACE-OPT, SCHUMACHER RACING,R-Factor, Bezerk RC
patorz31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 10:27 AM   #3716
Tech Elite
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,001
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

I'm gonna suggest you don't get on that hamster wheel lol.. you would spend a lot more money slowly upgrading the s2 by he time you arrived at even a full on r1. If budget is tight try to buy a used r1 and some aluminum steering blocks and hard bumper.

But as already mentioned, suspension is compatible, drivetrain bulkheads are not. Basically everything on plastic trees that aren't the s2 transmission bulkheads are compatible.

Chassis and top plates are not compatible. So only consider r1 aluminum/cf parts.
Stuff like the floating servo mount bolt right up though.


Had my r2 out on ashphalt with the pivot topplate and stock cf chassis the other week. Dispite using old indoor tires it had so much grip... where people were making setup changes to find more traction I was trying to make it more aggressive lol. Blake beat me with his s2 but I had a body tuck and had to catch up. I caught him at the end for a dragrace to the finish ha.
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 10:48 AM   #3717
Tech Adept
 
TheeMikeCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 213
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

That was gonna be my next question. Whether the drivetrain was the same. Ok. Ill slow myself down on this. Thx
TheeMikeCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 02:35 PM   #3718
Tech Elite
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,001
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

All the moving parts in the drivetrain are the same. Bulkheads are not. Upper and lower and motor mount. And layshaft...

S2 is more of a s1 with some plastic option parts the r1 had. Its not really fair to compare it to the r2 and the modeling is kinda missleading I think.
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 08:16 AM   #3719
Tech Adept
 
TheeMikeCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 213
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Any performance difference btwn the R1 and R2? Ive read 50 of these pages and I want one. I know Im 3yrs too late on this but I went on a 5yr hiatus from 1:10 nitro.
TheeMikeCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 04:39 PM   #3720
Tech Master
 
big al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,025
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know if the S2/R2 motor position is closer to the center line than the S1/R1? Or are they the same? Thanks-Al
__________________
TA05 gen 1.... the real OG.
I'm not a racer, I just crush a lot.
17.5- Spec-r S1~ Scale Spec- VBC Ghost EVO ~ GT2- TA05 ~ GT3- TB03 ~ F1-F104
Keepin' it real with my M11x
big al is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Losi JRXS Type-R Andrew Gray Electric On-Road 13454 07-11-2017 07:26 PM
2012 R.O.A.R Carpet Nationals andrewdoherty Electric On-Road 774 04-04-2012 03:26 PM
JR R1 Pro w/ case for sale... Sorcerer001 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 12-10-2004 11:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:32 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net