R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-15-2014, 04:17 AM   #2626
Tech Adept
 
OldfartWal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 151
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjudd77 View Post
Had our regular Friday night meet last night. Qualified 3rd and 4th in the Qualifying races. Was running 1st in the first final until I came up on some lap traffic and got run off the track with less than 20 sec to go. Stripped one of the rear turnbuckles. Finished 3rd after leading most of the race by half a lap. Oh well next time.
Changed wheels this week as well. Went up from 35 shore front and rear to using 37front and 40rear. Struggled a little for grip at the start of the night. Still I had fun and that is what really matters. Not how much is spent.

Side note. Speedy got hammered when I was punted by the lap traffic, so I guess I am up for a new one now.
Sorry mate, that might have been me when we came together, think I might have had my 'elbows' out all night, sort of sick of being the usual target.
OldfartWal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 06:57 PM   #2627
DBM
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 560
Default

I've been playing around with the car a bit more to try to find the reason(s) behind the inconsistent centering, as well add trying to remove more play from the steering. The kimbrough servo saver fits very loosely on the splines. ... I'm sure this would cause some/all of the problem. Too bad, cause the servo saver seems to function decently. ...firm, but not too firm.
I removed the 0.2mm shims from the steering and replaced them with 0.3mm ones which helped a bit, but there is still a lot of play in the smaller 3mm ID bearings.
I used the"plastic bag" method of taking up play in a couple ball cups, and swapped out the servo saver for a plastic servo arm that was supplied with the kit. The servo am is a tiny bit longer, so gives a bit more steering throw, which my car needed.
I'd like to try the inner holes on the steering blocks, but it results in the tie rods hitting the sway bar links....grrrr. That is a bit of a design oversight methinks.
DBM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 04:08 AM   #2628
Tech Regular
 
mrjudd77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 251
Default

wasn't you Wal. there was a newer driver out there on Friday night that was all over the place. Looking forward to next meet though. I will be trying my best to keep up with young Shaps
__________________
HPI Sprint 2 Flux (second ed.) Porsche 911 GT3 (sold)
Spec-R S-1
Spec-R R-1
http://au.dollarshaveclub.com/ref/index/r/yc8/1wmmuv8/s/tx/cx/1/
mrjudd77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 05:57 AM   #2629
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,919
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBM View Post
I've been playing around with the car a bit more to try to find the reason(s) behind the inconsistent centering, as well add trying to remove more play from the steering. The kimbrough servo saver fits very loosely on the splines. ... I'm sure this would cause some/all of the problem. Too bad, cause the servo saver seems to function decently. ...firm, but not too firm.
I removed the 0.2mm shims from the steering and replaced them with 0.3mm ones which helped a bit, but there is still a lot of play in the smaller 3mm ID bearings.
I used the"plastic bag" method of taking up play in a couple ball cups, and swapped out the servo saver for a plastic servo arm that was supplied with the kit. The servo am is a tiny bit longer, so gives a bit more steering throw, which my car needed.
I'd like to try the inner holes on the steering blocks, but it results in the tie rods hitting the sway bar links....grrrr. That is a bit of a design oversight methinks.
a sloppy server saver will definitely cause issues... its a shame hobbyking doesn't give you the spline count - that would definitely tell you who's server you'd need.

you could always be brave and count them yourself once you get a count, you can tell while brand (futaba, airtronics, hitec) you'd need

if the kimborough saver you have has the inserts - just try each until it fits very snug. once you get that, there's the one you'd need
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 09:35 AM   #2630
DBM
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 560
Default

The Turnigy 915 uses Futaba spline count. The servo arm marked "F" fits nice and snug. The futaba insert for the Kimbrough servo saver isn't nearly as snug. I'll order an Xray servo saver.....many people swear by them.
DBM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 10:43 AM   #2631
Tech Initiate
 
PEEKracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Montreal
Posts: 45
Default

I'm using the Tamiya servo saver with a red aluminum arm, I think it's 3 racing or maybe Yeah Racing, works really well. The Xray should be good too, it looks like the same design as the Tamiya one.
PEEKracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 10:55 AM   #2632
Tech Champion
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 5,725
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PEEKracing View Post
I'm using the Tamiya servo saver with a red aluminum arm, I think it's 3 racing or maybe Yeah Racing, works really well. The Xray should be good too, it looks like the same design as the Tamiya one.
I also use the Tamiya HD servo with the red 3Racing horn on a Savox 1251MG servo and I haven't had any issues.
SteveM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 03:54 PM   #2633
Tech Initiate
 
PEEKracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Montreal
Posts: 45
Default

So was just looking into assembling a CVTA on an S1 so as to race two classes next season, but all the S1s seem to be out of stock. Does anyone know if they're planning another production run, or is the car finito?
PEEKracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 04:02 PM   #2634
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indianapolis give or take...
Posts: 659
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PEEKracing View Post
So was just looking into assembling a CVTA on an S1 so as to race two classes next season, but all the S1s seem to be out of stock. Does anyone know if they're planning another production run, or is the car finito?
Car comes from Hong Kong/China. I'm sure they're just waiting on the next container ship...
.crispy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 04:09 PM   #2635
Tech Initiate
 
PEEKracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Montreal
Posts: 45
Default

They're out of stock on the SpecR site and RCmart too. But hopefully it's just because the next run isn't available yet.
PEEKracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 04:22 PM   #2636
Tech Adept
 
OldfartWal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 151
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjudd77 View Post
wasn't you Wal. there was a newer driver out there on Friday night that was all over the place. Looking forward to next meet though. I will be trying my best to keep up with young Shaps
That makes me happy Marty, I'm sick of being used as a 'berm' all the time, don't want to do it to others.

That's why I bought the bike, taking the R1 down today to run it on the carpet, see how it goes, been talking with Shaps about the ProS, since setting it to blinky it's been really cold, I've been gradually gearing it up (went from 48mm to 51+mm roll out), was doubting I was going the right way to get better lap times, looks like I'll be running somewhere over 55mm roll out next meeting.

Big change when Steve told me the speedie didn't come set to blinky, now I'm not loosing engines every meet, just need to find a second or 2 off my lap times.
OldfartWal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 10:23 PM   #2637
Tech Regular
 
mrjudd77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 251
Default

Having the speedy set to blinky will definitely make a difference. Over timing a motor and having the wrong gears will kill them pretty quick.

I am looking at a couple of combos at the moment for replacement ESC and Motor they look like this
http://www.rcmart.com/cb0584-p-35726...2&currency=AUD
and
http://www.rcmart.com/speed-passion-...Path=1100_1252

Anyone have experience with either?
__________________
HPI Sprint 2 Flux (second ed.) Porsche 911 GT3 (sold)
Spec-R S-1
Spec-R R-1
http://au.dollarshaveclub.com/ref/index/r/yc8/1wmmuv8/s/tx/cx/1/
mrjudd77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 10:50 PM   #2638
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,919
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjudd77 View Post
Having the speedy set to blinky will definitely make a difference. Over timing a motor and having the wrong gears will kill them pretty quick.

I am looking at a couple of combos at the moment for replacement ESC and Motor they look like this
http://www.rcmart.com/cb0584-p-35726...2&currency=AUD
and
http://www.rcmart.com/speed-passion-...Path=1100_1252

Anyone have experience with either?
I've used other speedpassion ones and they're good. never tried a hobbyking version. depending on the guts in the hobbyking, it could be a hobbywing that's been rebranded. if that's the case, then either are good choices. if it's not, then I'd stick with the SP, gonna be a betterone
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 02:24 AM   #2639
Tech Adept
 
OldfartWal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 151
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'm using the Reventon 1.1 with the SP 10.5 MMM motor, I like the Reventon (though I've now wrecked 2 of them), mostly they come with the tuning box (which other brands feel the need to sell separate), definitely worth the money, since changing from a Tekin RS Pro to the Reventon, I've had no 'brown out' issues.


I burnt the esc out of the R1 today practicing indoor at Trackside, had enough of the cars costing me money, keeping the ProSpec & building the bike, the 12th scale is up for sale, as is the R1, if you're interested, $130 as a roller.
OldfartWal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 07:49 AM   #2640
Tech Regular
 
mrjudd77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 251
Default

PM sent Wal
__________________
HPI Sprint 2 Flux (second ed.) Porsche 911 GT3 (sold)
Spec-R S-1
Spec-R R-1
http://au.dollarshaveclub.com/ref/index/r/yc8/1wmmuv8/s/tx/cx/1/
mrjudd77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Losi JRXS Type-R Andrew Gray Electric On-Road 13416 12-21-2016 06:45 PM
2012 R.O.A.R Carpet Nationals andrewdoherty Electric On-Road 774 04-04-2012 04:26 PM
JR R1 Pro w/ case for sale... Sorcerer001 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 12-10-2004 12:44 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:18 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0