R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-04-2013, 08:26 AM   #2131
Tech Champion
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,019
Trader Rating: 133 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DriveItLikeYSIT View Post
Last week I used a 4600 mah 70c shorty pack in my Spec R on a carpet track. It felt real quick and nimble compared to the stick pack I was using but I had to add about 7 grams of wgt to the rear. Is anyone else using a shorty lipo? Do you feel a difference? What set-up changes did you have to make?
Sounds interesting and I was thinking of trying a shorty pack this weekend in my R1 for my club's VTA class.
SteveM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 08:53 AM   #2132
Tech Elite
 
metalnut's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,726
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveM View Post
Sounds interesting and I was thinking of trying a shorty pack this weekend in my R1 for my club's VTA class.
Pardon my ignorance, but with a minimum weight requirement of VTA (and most other classes) why switch to a shorty if you'll need to add more weight anyway? Are you guys just trying to distribute the weight to a different area of the car? I'm running a 6500mah full pack and the car is pretty balanced left-to-right. All of my extra weight was added to the front half of the car.

On the other hand I'm running a shorty in my F1, but that's because our F1 class has no minimum weight requirement. So, there, any weight you can shave off is good (well, up to a point )
__________________
Team Nervous | Team Scruffy | Team Orange

"If you ain't first, you're last!"
- Ricky Bobby
metalnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 12:09 PM   #2133
Tech Master
 
DriveItLikeYSIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,282
Trader Rating: 90 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalnut View Post
Are you guys just trying to distribute the weight to a different area of the car? I'm running a 6500mah full pack and the car is pretty balanced left-to-right. All of my extra weight was added to the front half of the car.

On the other hand I'm running a shorty in my F1, but that's because our F1 class has no minimum weight requirement. So, there, any weight you can shave off is good (well, up to a point )
I was trying a different setups to shave weight off of my TC; I use a 17.5 motor with an open esc. With the shorty it performed well and felt easier to drive. I initially tried a 7200mah 70c lipo and it felt like a boat. 5500mah 60c packs have also worked out well but I'm gonna experiment more with shorty packs.

I use shorty packs exclusively on my off road 2wd stock SC truck and on a high bite track I turn faster lap times than with a stick pack.
__________________
TEAM DRIVER==> BocaBearings|Pro-Line Racing |HWNA |
=========================================================
PRO4 - HW XR8 SCT PRO ESC & HW G2 4300kv motor
EXOTEK 22 SCT 2.0 - HW Xerun XR10 PRO ESC & Express Motorsports 24KO 17.5t
TLR 22T 2.0 - HW XR10 PRO ESC & HW Bandit 10.5T

Last edited by DriveItLikeYSIT; 12-04-2013 at 08:00 PM.
DriveItLikeYSIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 02:11 PM   #2134
Tech Regular
 
mrjudd77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 251
Default

Tried a Hard Case in mine on the weekend. A combination of this and a slight improvement in my driving resulted in a 2 second improvement in my PB lap time
__________________
HPI Sprint 2 Flux (second ed.) Porsche 911 GT3 (sold)
Spec-R S-1
Spec-R R-1
http://au.dollarshaveclub.com/ref/index/r/yc8/1wmmuv8/s/tx/cx/1/
mrjudd77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 06:07 PM   #2135
Tech Master
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 1,967
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

holy crap you weren't kidding about the tamiya ballcups. those banches are tough to get on.

the whole shorty pack thing seems moot in touring car classes with the weight you have to add back to make weight. though i suppose it allows you to adjust where the battery weight sits on the car which has some advantage. I usually just adjust that by moving the axles forward or back to push the entire center of mass forward or back.
the 5600packs i run almost perfectly balance the car with my orca/speed passion power system. since the only part of that side of the car that moves is the motor, and really.. only moves very small amount.. meh to moving the battery.
now a transverse shorty pack is another story entirely and could greatly influence the traction of the car when moved around.

im not sure the flexibility is worth more than the higher consistant voltage a higher capacity battery offers. in modified it doesnt even seem like an option.
__________________
My stuff
| Sanwa M12 - Team Associated - Reedy - ProAMPS RC - Novarossi |
My RC
www.irocc.ca - www.wcics.ca - www.vrcworld.com - http://proampsrc.com/
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 01:01 AM   #2136
Tech Regular
 
mrjudd77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 251
Default

Any specials on Spec-R in the lead up to Xmas? I have been allocated a budget for my hobby to spend as a present and want to get the best bang for buck. Also must be delivered to Australia
__________________
HPI Sprint 2 Flux (second ed.) Porsche 911 GT3 (sold)
Spec-R S-1
Spec-R R-1
http://au.dollarshaveclub.com/ref/index/r/yc8/1wmmuv8/s/tx/cx/1/
mrjudd77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 01:23 AM   #2137
Tech Regular
 
daveaustin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 438
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjudd77 View Post
Any specials on Spec-R in the lead up to Xmas? I have been allocated a budget for my hobby to spend as a present and want to get the best bang for buck. Also must be delivered to Australia
Rcmart seem to be the cheapest. USD85 for the s1 and USD270 for the r1 pro spec.

They've also got a combo offer on the s1 which includes a 13.5 motor and esc, servo and radio for USD190.

http://www.rcmart.com/kits-spec-c-420_1581.html

I've nearly finished my s1, just need to spray the body. Can't wait to get it out on the track.

One thing I've noticed though is that the sway bars don't seem too do much. I've never used them before but I believed that lifting one wheel would cause the other to rise. Mine doesn't seem to do anything.
daveaustin5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 01:55 AM   #2138
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,696
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveaustin5 View Post
Rcmart seem to be the cheapest. USD85 for the s1 and USD270 for the r1 pro spec.

They've also got a combo offer on the s1 which includes a 13.5 motor and esc, servo and radio for USD190.

http://www.rcmart.com/kits-spec-c-420_1581.html

I've nearly finished my s1, just need to spray the body. Can't wait to get it out on the track.

One thing I've noticed though is that the sway bars don't seem too do much. I've never used them before but I believed that lifting one wheel would cause the other to rise. Mine doesn't seem to do anything.
You probably did something wrong, if you use the grub screws on the back part of the bulkheads, back them out a fair way, you want them to be only just touching the the sway bar. Also make sure there is no binding in the arms, as that will stop them working right as well. If the arms do not fall down under their own weight, sand down the 2mm spacer on the hinge pin till they work free again, i found they are just a bit tight.
RogerDaShrubber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 05:09 AM   #2139
Tech Champion
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,019
Trader Rating: 133 (100%+)
Default

On my R1, with the shocks removed and the sway bars connected, moving one suspension arm in turn moves the other. You must have some binding some place.
SteveM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 06:50 AM   #2140
Tech Regular
 
daveaustin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 438
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I didn't ream the arms so perhaps it's that. I'll get a reamer and give it a try.
daveaustin5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 10:02 AM   #2141
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indianapolis give or take...
Posts: 659
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveaustin5 View Post
I didn't ream the arms so perhaps it's that. I'll get a reamer and give it a try.
I got a 3mm reamer per the manual. It slipped right through. Arms still bound up. I used a drill bit.
.crispy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 10:53 AM   #2142
Tech Master
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 1,967
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

Heh. Swaybar quality seems meh. I built the car with perfect freeness in the arms and the rollbar sits flat on table and moves freely in its keeper. Though, lifting left side lifts right but right wont lift left. Not sure whyas everything moves freely as it should and links same length.

Wire swaybars are always fiddly lol
__________________
My stuff
| Sanwa M12 - Team Associated - Reedy - ProAMPS RC - Novarossi |
My RC
www.irocc.ca - www.wcics.ca - www.vrcworld.com - http://proampsrc.com/
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 10:55 AM   #2143
Tech Master
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Check for preload. If one side has preload it will behave unevenly.
My son's r1 sway bars work as good as my t4 bars.
edhchoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 10:59 AM   #2144
Tech Master
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 1,967
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

Mine worked great when i got them lol. I mght try one of the bars i dont use. I defaulted my endlinks with 1mm shims both. I suppose i could remove those but that kust means the bar has tweaked in under an hours running lol.
__________________
My stuff
| Sanwa M12 - Team Associated - Reedy - ProAMPS RC - Novarossi |
My RC
www.irocc.ca - www.wcics.ca - www.vrcworld.com - http://proampsrc.com/
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 12:22 PM   #2145
Tech Elite
 
nf_ekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22 Acacia Avenue
Posts: 4,632
Trader Rating: 113 (100%+)
Default

Spec-R R1 with upgrades, very clean car, spares included.

Selling a very good condition R1, fully upgraded.

Will also have a good sized (NIB) parts selection for sale, pm with any questions.
__________________
Up the Irons \m/

Powered by Hotwings, Rolling Rock, and the urge to race toy cars...
nf_ekt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Losi JRXS Type-R Andrew Gray Electric On-Road 13450 04-21-2017 01:38 PM
2012 R.O.A.R Carpet Nationals andrewdoherty Electric On-Road 774 04-04-2012 03:26 PM
JR R1 Pro w/ case for sale... Sorcerer001 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 12-10-2004 11:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:56 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net