R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-02-2014, 07:39 PM   #1396
Tech Master
 
ghoppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sin City - Las Vegas
Posts: 1,666
Trader Rating: 48 (98%+)
Default Front arm track width

Hope someone can help

Cpl of the local fast guys who run (AE platforms) have addressed that I may need to widen my front track with on my ego. Is there a longer lower front arm as an option vs the stock arm that comes with the kit??? All they have to do is shim the arm away from the bulkhead, what is our option with the altered ego platform??? Can someone enlighten me on any option please.

Thx!
__________________
RCAmerica - Team Trinity - Xray - Revtech - Jgo Paintz
Hobbywing - Hudy - Futaba - P-1 Brand - 702 RC Raceway
ghoppa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 08:33 PM   #1397
Tech Master
 
I)arkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Victoria,Aus
Posts: 1,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

how much wider are you needing to go? and what width do the AE guys run at, as you will eventually be limited by what maximum width is in the rules you race to.
__________________
B.Portelli
Hyper RC - Metro Hobbies - RAB Hobbies - Wild Turbo Fans
Off road - Schumacher - R1Wurks Australia (Coupon Code - R1BP5%)
On road - Race Opt - Team Powers
I)arkness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 08:53 PM   #1398
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

max width according to rules is 172mm.
Andrew S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 08:55 PM   #1399
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

why do you want to go wider? That makes the car have less steering and therefore slower.
I can see why if your on high traction and traction rolling or car is to aggressive.
Andrew S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 04:46 AM   #1400
Tech Master
 
ghoppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sin City - Las Vegas
Posts: 1,666
Trader Rating: 48 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by I)arkness View Post
how much wider are you needing to go? and what width do the AE guys run at, as you will eventually be limited by what maximum width is in the rules you race to.

Im currently running 166mm the cars I mentioned are 169 & 168mm. They seemed just a bit more planted entering and in the middle of on throttle sections of our local track
__________________
RCAmerica - Team Trinity - Xray - Revtech - Jgo Paintz
Hobbywing - Hudy - Futaba - P-1 Brand - 702 RC Raceway
ghoppa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 04:48 AM   #1401
Tech Master
 
ghoppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sin City - Las Vegas
Posts: 1,666
Trader Rating: 48 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew S View Post
why do you want to go wider? That makes the car have less steering and therefore slower.
I can see why if your on high traction and traction rolling or car is to aggressive.
the local track is super high bite for sure, I believe this will help, just need to know if there are longer arms available..
__________________
RCAmerica - Team Trinity - Xray - Revtech - Jgo Paintz
Hobbywing - Hudy - Futaba - P-1 Brand - 702 RC Raceway
ghoppa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 05:30 AM   #1402
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I think it would help. Why can't you just add shims to the axle?
166 is pretty narrow.
Andrew S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 05:37 AM   #1403
Tech Master
 
I)arkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Victoria,Aus
Posts: 1,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

not sure what your budget is but crc did release the CRC Pro Strut Front End (1/12th Scale) [CLN3240], which i believe uses longer arms
__________________
B.Portelli
Hyper RC - Metro Hobbies - RAB Hobbies - Wild Turbo Fans
Off road - Schumacher - R1Wurks Australia (Coupon Code - R1BP5%)
On road - Race Opt - Team Powers
I)arkness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 08:44 AM   #1404
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,144
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by I)arkness View Post
not sure what your budget is but crc did release the CRC Pro Strut Front End (1/12th Scale) [CLN3240], which i believe uses longer arms
that is not new.

the xti uses a plate 32583 that would need to machined with a wider placement. a new cnc machined part more likely than a new molded plastic part. I don't see how to change the front width other than shims on the front axle or a different front wheel offset.
__________________
Tony Shimko
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 12:37 PM   #1405
Tech Adept
 
gdiddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: the Senna S's
Posts: 213
Default Xti Inline for sale

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=141245290025
__________________
The desired effect is what you get when you improve your interplanetary funksmanship.
gdiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 03:52 PM   #1406
Tech Master
 
I)arkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Victoria,Aus
Posts: 1,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by avs View Post
that is not new.

the xti uses a plate 32583 that would need to machined with a wider placement. a new cnc machined part more likely than a new molded plastic part. I don't see how to change the front width other than shims on the front axle or a different front wheel offset.
i never stated it was new!
__________________
B.Portelli
Hyper RC - Metro Hobbies - RAB Hobbies - Wild Turbo Fans
Off road - Schumacher - R1Wurks Australia (Coupon Code - R1BP5%)
On road - Race Opt - Team Powers
I)arkness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 04:22 PM   #1407
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by I)arkness View Post
not sure what your budget is but crc did release the CRC Pro Strut Front End (1/12th Scale) [CLN3240], which i believe uses longer arms
That is the same as the front end that comes with the car already. There is a longer upper arm option but that doesn't make the car wider and can't be used with the in-line version of the car because the servo is in between the front arms.
__________________
Apex RC
www.apexrc.com - Hawaii's #1 RC Proshop

Share & Like Our Page:https://www.facebook.com/ApexRCProshop
Win free stuff!
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 04:26 PM   #1408
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,547
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kave
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
That is the same as the front end that comes with the car already. There is a longer upper arm option but that doesn't make the car wider and can't be used with the in-line version of the car because the servo is in between the front arms.
You CAN use the long arms with the servo between the arms. It will work on the inline car as well as the transverse car with the servo mounted up front.
__________________
Kevin Van Ert | RC^2 | CRC Racing | Team Scream Racing | McFactory | Lake Superior RC Car Club | www.lsrcc.com
Kave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 04:36 PM   #1409
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kave View Post
You CAN use the long arms with the servo between the arms. It will work on the inline car as well as the transverse car with the servo mounted up front.
You can use the long arms with the hinge pin in the short arm holes. But to use the long arms with the battery in-line the brace that moves the arm mounts will hit the servo. Unless you can find a really tiny servo that will fit under the brace and still give you enough room to adjust for ride height. Not everyone is running a servo that small.
__________________
Apex RC
www.apexrc.com - Hawaii's #1 RC Proshop

Share & Like Our Page:https://www.facebook.com/ApexRCProshop
Win free stuff!
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 05:24 PM   #1410
Tech Master
 
I)arkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Victoria,Aus
Posts: 1,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

my mistake, i thought the long arm set was actually physically longer, making the front end wider,

so yes as AVS mentioned you would need to make a new carbon plate where the arms bolt onto to offset them out 2mm, if you are not able to just shim the front on axles
__________________
B.Portelli
Hyper RC - Metro Hobbies - RAB Hobbies - Wild Turbo Fans
Off road - Schumacher - R1Wurks Australia (Coupon Code - R1BP5%)
On road - Race Opt - Team Powers
I)arkness is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12th Scale Racing is Alive and Well in So Cal RedBullFiXX California Racing 563 11-20-2016 08:18 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:13 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0