R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2013, 06:54 AM   #1036
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Princeton MA
Posts: 213
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radi0Flyer View Post
The bottom of the battery plate should be flush to sit on the battery. Did you use the right fasteners? I'm not seeing the problem from your pic. Here are some pics of my car. I have a Futaba R204GF-E receiver with an internal antenna so I don't have the antenna mount. The forward most hole on the battery plate isn't countersunk. Put your antenna mount in the first countersunk hole with a countersink screw. Your battery isn't too long.
:
Hope this pic show better that my battery is to long as per the instructions. But will perfectly fit and work just not with the designed cap screw head to hold it from going forward. I'm going to remove the cap screw and if I keep the antenna mount on move it back with a flat screw and double tape the battery in. The HS had smaller mah battery's that fit perfect but not recommended so I didn't buy it. Thanks for all the help guys I'm brand new into it and sure will be asking more soon thanks. Gerry
Attached Thumbnails
Announcing the new Team CRC Xti 1/12th Scale!!-image.jpg  
Gso125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 07:49 AM   #1037
Tech Addict
 
pmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bismarck, ND
Posts: 515
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I had the same issue. I moved the antenna mount to the furthest forward shock mount hole so that I could use a FH screw.

Rather than double sided tape, I use strapping tape. Don't use the super cheap tape though, make sure it has a solid layer of fiber, not a few bundles of strands.
pmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 08:15 AM   #1038
Tech Addict
 
pmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bismarck, ND
Posts: 515
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

here's a pic showing how I fit my pro-tek battery
Attached Thumbnails
Announcing the new Team CRC Xti 1/12th Scale!!-car.jpg  
pmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 06:16 PM   #1039
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gso125 View Post
Hope this pic show better that my battery is to long as per the instructions. But will perfectly fit and work just not with the designed cap screw head to hold it from going forward. I'm going to remove the cap screw and if I keep the antenna mount on move it back with a flat screw and double tape the battery in. The HS had smaller mah battery's that fit perfect but not recommended so I didn't buy it. Thanks for all the help guys I'm brand new into it and sure will be asking more soon thanks. Gerry
Just leave the cap head screw off. The ESC will hold the battery in place just fine. If you need somewhere to mount the roll over antenna mount you can countersink the hole or use one of the shock mount holes.

InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 10:19 AM   #1040
Tech Regular
 
Radi0Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Ontario
Posts: 309
Default

On my car the battery plate is holding the battery securely all by itself. I have had some good frontal impacts and the battery hasn't moved one bit. I have a few mm between the battery and my ESC/RX and that space is still there after several hours of use. If you want the piece of mind use a bit of double sided tape but I can almost guarantee it's not needed. I prefer to be able to swap my battery easily.



Sean
__________________
I'll drive it til the wheels fall off and burn
Radi0Flyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 07:28 PM   #1041
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Princeton MA
Posts: 213
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radi0Flyer View Post
On my car the battery plate is holding the battery securely all by itself. I have had some good frontal impacts and the battery hasn't moved one bit. I have a few mm between the battery and my ESC/RX and that space is still there after several hours of use. If you want the piece of mind use a bit of double sided tape but I can almost guarantee it's not needed. I prefer to be able to swap my battery easily.



Sean
I ended up keeping the antenna in the stock end hole and put a pan head screw filed it a little so it just touches the top of the battery. I used some 1/2 inch corded type packing tape so it won't move and I can take it out to swap if needed. I was able to file a little on the antenna mount so my rx fit on the top plate and didn't touch/bind the shock, fit nice.
Gso125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 11:02 AM   #1042
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 994
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys I'm looking for a second 12th car. I've raced a Gen xi all season and I love it. Having read this thread and seen a few XTI's it seems like the electrics installation is a bit of an art and its put me off.
I'm wondering if Gen XI's are still available anywhere? its a great car and I want to stay with CRC.
__________________
Cheers,

Kev
notsocrazybrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 11:53 AM   #1043
Tech Elite
 
DesertRat's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sniffin the 'Sauce Fumes
Posts: 2,379
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If you are looking for a more traditional car, CRC makes the Altered Ego which is a transverse battery car, but I got mine as a conversion and I dont know if it is made as a complete kit. Really there is no magic to the XTI electronics install, with the servo up front and out of the way even the biggest ESC's can be shoehorned in.
__________________
I race toy cars for fun. If I need to explain, you'll never understand.
If everything is under control... go faster.
WTB: Carpet racing in Arizona.
It is obvious and intuitive to the most casual of observers that RC racing is better than golf.
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 03:02 PM   #1044
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 994
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertRat View Post
If you are looking for a more traditional car, CRC makes the Altered Ego which is a transverse battery car, but I got mine as a conversion and I dont know if it is made as a complete kit. Really there is no magic to the XTI electronics install, with the servo up front and out of the way even the biggest ESC's can be shoehorned in.
Yep the Altered Ego certainly looks good and from what I've read probably would suit my driving a little better. From what I understand its not available as a complete kit yet. Its the end of the season now, I wont be needing two cars until October/November time but I thought if I could pickup another XI I would.
__________________
Cheers,

Kev
notsocrazybrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 11:33 PM   #1045
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,918
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

hey guys...anyone know if the futaba 9650 servo fits in with both ears attached? or does one have to be removed like in the directions??
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 12:31 AM   #1046
Tech Master
 
Car Breaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Grave Yard
Posts: 1,251
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

the need of a new servo and no altered ego kit are the main reason I stick with xi. xti to me is an over engineered car with no concern of that most customer has different equipments eg servo flexibility, battery size and shape, rx and esc size.
__________________
Xray X12 2015
ARC R10 ATS
Car Breaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 08:15 AM   #1047
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Portage, MN
Posts: 1,362
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

I am still rocking the old gen-XL and it suits my style perfectly
__________________
______________________________________________
Jason Deadman

I race toy cars for fun. If I need to explain, you'll never understand.
jdeadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 08:50 AM   #1048
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,763
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
hey guys...anyone know if the futaba 9650 servo fits in with both ears attached? or does one have to be removed like in the directions??
If it does fit, it would only be with one ear removed. I am not certain it fits with an ear missing though.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 10:49 AM   #1049
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 745
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Car Breaker View Post
eg servo flexibility, battery size and shape, rx and esc size.
The servo 'might' be different for some if you currently have the 9650. The JR servos fit with one ear removed and the airtronics bolt directly in. An alternate is the Spektrum A5040 which is the same size as the JR and costs $28. The battery size for the XTi is standard 1s full size. I have a Hobbywing ESC in mine and I don't know of any that are bigger. Putting the Rx next to the ESC should allow any to fit, I'm not 100% on this as I use a KO and the Rx's are tiny.
__________________
John Barr
On-Road: VBC WildFireD08; VBC Lightning10; VBC Lightning12; VBC Lightning10-235mm
Off-Road: Not likely
Special thanks to EMRFactory and VBC Racing.
linkless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 06:23 AM   #1050
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,918
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

anyone know what servo saver is needed for the spektrum 5040? the manual references the servo, but doesn't include it in the little kimborough chart
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12th Scale Racing is Alive and Well in So Cal RedBullFiXX California Racing 563 11-20-2016 08:18 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:12 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0