R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-08-2012, 08:12 PM   #556
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,157
Default

TQ 16awg wire for 17.5 or 13.5...much smaller wire which will fit more places and cause less tweak. Really any 16awg will work so even if your local hobby shop carries GS that is still going to be better than the thick wires you have on there. The 2 best would be TQ and the wire that ODPurple sells if he still does.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:19 PM   #557
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
TQ 16awg wire for 17.5 or 13.5...much smaller wire which will fit more places and cause less tweak. Really any 16awg will work so even if your local hobby shop carries GS that is still going to be better than the thick wires you have on there. The 2 best would be TQ and the wire that ODPurple sells if he still does.
Thanks guys Very helpful... I think I may have some Tekin but I'm not sure of the size... I have always liked and used (in 1/10th) Wet Noodle or superflex... in the large size... because of the lower IR on the wire....
__________________
Wheeling an Xray T4 and T4 14 using a Ko Propo, powered by EA motors and Speed Passion Speedo, paid for by my wife.

Digi3Dworks - 3D printing for the medical Field.
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:32 PM   #558
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bvoltz View Post
Thanks guys Very helpful... I think I may have some Tekin but I'm not sure of the size... I have always liked and used (in 1/10th) Wet Noodle or superflex... in the large size... because of the lower IR on the wire....
in single cell racing the thick wire is not needed like in 2 or 3 cell racing, it is not as much voltage the wire has to carry so with a lighter load then it allows you to use smaller gauge wire
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:38 PM   #559
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 745
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I've been very happy with the CRC wire which is what I use in all of my 12th scale and WGT cars.
__________________
John Barr
On-Road: VBC WildFireD08; VBC Lightning10; VBC Lightning12; VBC Lightning10-235mm
Off-Road: Not likely
Special thanks to EMRFactory and VBC Racing.
linkless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 08:02 AM   #560
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,653
Trader Rating: 193 (99%+)
Default

Can the rear pod and lower pod plate fit onto the Xi?
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 08:06 AM   #561
Tech Elite
 
al dente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: 5280 Raceway. Denver's finest RC facility
Posts: 4,750
Default

No
__________________
Team CRC / Dumper's Speed Shop / Team Scream Racing / Black Art
RC America / FB/FX / Colorado On Road RC Club / Manutech
5280 Raceway (5280raceway.com) home of the MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 20-23, 2017
al dente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 09:57 AM   #562
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bvoltz View Post
Can't tell if I like the wires under, not sure if they are will cause a problem with the rear pod.... but here she is....
Don't forget the antenna tube.

Tim3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 10:06 AM   #563
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim3 View Post
Don't forget the antenna tube.

Question (sorry it is a dumb one... you have been warned...)
Do I really need to run one? can do you cut them down? What is a purpose, to roll the car back over in a roll over?
__________________
Wheeling an Xray T4 and T4 14 using a Ko Propo, powered by EA motors and Speed Passion Speedo, paid for by my wife.

Digi3Dworks - 3D printing for the medical Field.
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 10:19 AM   #564
Tech Elite
 
al dente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: 5280 Raceway. Denver's finest RC facility
Posts: 4,750
Default

No, you don't have to run it, but a car that gets flipped with a rollover antena has a much better chance of finding its tires than one that does not.
__________________
Team CRC / Dumper's Speed Shop / Team Scream Racing / Black Art
RC America / FB/FX / Colorado On Road RC Club / Manutech
5280 Raceway (5280raceway.com) home of the MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 20-23, 2017
al dente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 11:26 AM   #565
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Portage, MN
Posts: 1,362
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Personally just for looks I don't run one. That and with racing being so intense some times a crash on you lid gives you a few seconds to breathe.
__________________
______________________________________________
Jason Deadman

I race toy cars for fun. If I need to explain, you'll never understand.
jdeadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 08:54 PM   #566
Tech Elite
 
NolanP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Westmont
Posts: 2,425
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

If you roll in stock 12th you pretty much just wrote off that qualifier period typically even if you land on your wheels. So while I do run one cause its faster than being marshalled i have only found it to help in the mains.
__________________
Mod Touring Car
Mod 12th
Nitro TC
Nitro GT
Wheeler and Mod Buggy
NolanP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 09:22 PM   #567
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Portage, MN
Posts: 1,362
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Re-read my Signature
__________________
______________________________________________
Jason Deadman

I race toy cars for fun. If I need to explain, you'll never understand.
jdeadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:05 PM   #568
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Stupid question ....the xti is my first 12 scale and I'm scratching my head on camber adjustment? Is there a way ?
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:15 PM   #569
Tech Master
 
LonnyJ1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ. USA
Posts: 1,139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
Stupid question ....the xti is my first 12 scale and I'm scratching my head on camber adjustment? Is there a way ?
Adjust the length of the turnbuckle in the upper suspension arm.
__________________
Lonny
LonnyJ1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:48 PM   #570
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Oh ya .....duuuhhh.....thanks dude
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12th Scale Racing is Alive and Well in So Cal RedBullFiXX California Racing 563 11-20-2016 08:18 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:46 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0