R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-20-2012, 10:39 AM   #121
Tech Regular
 
TEAM BURN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Punisher View Post
This is my first 12th scale, so I apologize if this question is stupid! When I look at Hohwart's worlds set up, he has the upper arm mount with a 2mm spacer. Now when I tried that I could not get the arm brace to go in, since the upper arm mounts are now 4mm closer to each other. What am I missing?
your not missing anything... to do this you dont run the cross brace.
hope this helps!!
__________________
"Crazy" Mike Najdychor
XRAY T4 / LRP FLOW / LRP X20 5.0
AE 12R5.2 / LRP FLOW / LRP X20 4.0
2 sec faster
I Drive Mod :)
TEAM BURN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 12:19 PM   #122
Tech Rookie
 
The_Punisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 8
Default

is the purpose of running no brace to increase flex and front grip?

Last edited by The_Punisher; 10-20-2012 at 12:25 PM. Reason: spelling
The_Punisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 12:56 PM   #123
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,443
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

You can use the original brace from the R5 / R5.1 as the older chassis was 2mm per side narrower.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 02:22 PM   #124
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Punisher View Post
is the purpose of running no brace to increase flex and front grip?
Yup, more steering. No real negatives from not using it.
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 04:50 PM   #125
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 1,499
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

I need help freeing up the upper arms. With the steering block removed the arms should fall under their own weight, right?
Geppetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 06:39 PM   #126
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geppetto View Post
I need help freeing up the upper arms. With the steering block removed the arms should fall under their own weight, right?
You might need an arm reamer .
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:46 PM   #127
Tech Apprentice
 
asirolli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Shelby Township - MI
Posts: 80
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to asirolli
Default

What is a good start configuration in terms of esc, servo, motor brand for a mod class?

I was planning to use a 4.0t motor.
__________________
Clubhouse R/C - Larrys R/C
asirolli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:56 PM   #128
Tech Master
 
racer x 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: im 4rm a far away place called 1st
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asirolli View Post
What is a good start configuration in terms of esc, servo, motor brand for a mod class?

I was planning to use a 4.0t motor.
I run the hobbywing 1s lipo esc with an x20 4.5 and digital jr servo and love the esc motor combo! Very smooth and has been really reliable for me.
__________________
Matt Bell
Mugen MRX5 Ae R5.2 X6^3 M11x All powered by Speedtech Rc
racer x 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:02 AM   #129
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,864
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TEAM BURN View Post
your not missing anything... to do this you dont run the cross brace.
hope this helps!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattW View Post
You can use the original brace from the R5 / R5.1 as the older chassis was 2mm per side narrower.
This is the solution. I run the older cross brace.
__________________
www.reedypower.com
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 12:10 PM   #130
Tech Regular
 
TEAM BURN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart View Post
This is the solution. I run the older cross brace.
thanks for clearing that up rick!! im on the hunt for a old cross brace!
__________________
"Crazy" Mike Najdychor
XRAY T4 / LRP FLOW / LRP X20 5.0
AE 12R5.2 / LRP FLOW / LRP X20 4.0
2 sec faster
I Drive Mod :)
TEAM BURN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 02:46 PM   #131
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,864
Default New setup posted

Keven Hebert - IIC - 12R5.2 Modified
__________________
www.reedypower.com
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 05:16 PM   #132
Tech Apprentice
 
asirolli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Shelby Township - MI
Posts: 80
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to asirolli
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by racer x 1 View Post
I run the hobbywing 1s lipo esc with an x20 4.5 and digital jr servo and love the esc motor combo! Very smooth and has been really reliable for me.
Thank you!
__________________
Clubhouse R/C - Larrys R/C
asirolli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 12:58 AM   #133
Tech Addict
 
prawntoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 617
Default

We did a pet project for some customers and have extra chassis protector for the 5.1/5.2FT.
See if anyone is interested.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/321008293791...84.m1555.l2649
__________________
R/C Protect Decals :
www.playmorehobby.com
www.facebook.com/playmorehobby
email : service@jplmodel.com
prawntoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 05:32 AM   #134
Tech Champion
 
Logi Maker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 5,435
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prawntoe View Post
We did a pet project for some customers and have extra chassis protector for the 5.1/5.2FT.
See if anyone is interested.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/321008293791...84.m1555.l2649
Just saw that on Ebay, looks quite interesting...
__________________
Kyle Predmore
Facebook - "AE Fanboy"
B6D|B64D
TC7|TC6TEK|12R5.2|10R5.1
Logi Maker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 08:56 AM   #135
Tech Master
 
racer x 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: im 4rm a far away place called 1st
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

does anyone have the 5.2 top brace? the one on top of the motor mount? thats alll i need to run dampers!!!
__________________
Matt Bell
Mugen MRX5 Ae R5.2 X6^3 M11x All powered by Speedtech Rc
racer x 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Associated RC12R5 Ferrarimk13 Electric On-Road 3811 05-08-2016 10:02 PM
Pantoura, 1/10 Pan Car, 2S LiPo, Brushless, Tips and Tricks. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 2178 12-01-2010 11:26 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:40 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0