R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree5Likes

Old 03-22-2016, 06:06 AM   #6916
Tech Master

Both cars are great out of the box. You'll need springs and different oils for shocks and gear diffs. A body. Don't trim too much until you get to the race. There will be a box that measures the wing and height of the body. Speedo will need to be in blinky mode if you don't run mod. Batteries have to be approved on roars list I think. Seriously. Both cars are really good. Pick one and go race.
Juan Aveytia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 06:22 AM   #6917
Tech Adept

Quote:
Originally Posted by bLamey470 View Post
Ok go easy on me I've been doing off road for the past 5-6 years and been trying to get into the off road reedy race for the past 2 years and failed thru the lottery system so I thought just for shits and giggles to sign up for reedy on road race and I got in so it came as a shock...I've never raced on road and I'm trying to decide on a car...I'm torn between this car and a T4 2016...obviously answers are gonna be a little bit biased due to where I'm posting this...but any imput would be helpful, as in driving characteristics and hop ups needed...thanks
Both are high quality cars. I had a T4 14 and am now running a Yokomo. I found that the Yok suited my driving style better. On the T4, I never could get the steering like I wanted. Never had that problem with the BD7.

Plastic might be a little tougher on the Xray, but durability never was an issue on the Yok either. In 2 years, the only thing I broke was a C-Hub. Parts are much cheaper on the Yokomo.

As for hopups, for both cars, some 3mm shims of various thickness, various springs and oils. If you go the Yokomo route, possibly get a couple of optional suspension mounts (look on Petit RC, there are several setup posted) Also get a high quality servo saver like the Xray one.