R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-25-2015, 09:11 AM   #5371
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by retro_ryan View Post
motor mount screws i overtightened to try to stop the motor moving, indoors carpet probably. All 64dp , i ran a bd5 for a couple of years all be it at 17.5t with no problems.
But i've stripped 4 spurs now and i've had enough!
Drivetrain is free, i will get some pictures when i get another panaracer spur as i don't have any flat headed screws for my other spurs.

Why do you think the motor would move?

And if you're sure it does, why does it move? I mean I have seen cars in some really horrific crashes and the motor hasn't moved a hair.

One comment here. Most of the kits I've seen don't really come with screws for the motor, but I have seen some short screws used. That means you're not using the entire depth of the motor screw hole to hold it. I use the longest screw that I can without touching on motor's innards. To find out how long a screw you can use, try a very long screw and wind it in until the rotor can't spin or you feel the screw bottoming out. Measure how deep it went and how thick the motor bulkhead is and that's the length you can safely use. Keep in mind, if you go by the screw length given in books, they sometimes include the head height. You need to measure the threaded shank starting from under the head. I also use split washers under the motor screws, so if you want to do that, you can add another 1mm screw length. Never had a motor move, no matter what. You don't even have to do it up like you're trying to keep ze germans out.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 11:38 AM   #5372
Tech Fanatic
 
b20btec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sugar Land
Posts: 919
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by retro_ryan View Post
motor mount screws i overtightened to try to stop the motor moving, indoors carpet probably. All 64dp , i ran a bd5 for a couple of years all be it at 17.5t with no problems.
But i've stripped 4 spurs now and i've had enough!
Drivetrain is free, i will get some pictures when i get another panaracer spur as i don't have any flat headed screws for my other spurs.
1. Did you check the cams front and rear and make sure the settings are symmetrical each side? Belts should roll super smooth.

2. Check the center pulley and make sure it's on the correct side. Look over the manual and make sure it isn't flipped.

3. Spur must be snugged and shouldn't wiggle side to side.
__________________
Soap



REFLEXRACING.NET * TEXASEOS.NET * YOKOMO
b20btec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 12:28 PM   #5373
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamianW View Post
105/41 is about 5.1:1 which is over geared. 90 spur will make maters worse fdr around 4:1 and is perfect for blinky gearing.

I suggest you try a smaller pinion and larger spur to bring the fdr to 6.5:1.
Thank you Damian I will try it the next weekend!
nick1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 06:58 PM   #5374
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 66
Default

Hey guys, been wondering how big of a Mah battery would fit in the car without causing issues?
cheers
__________________
AE RC8.2, Go-Tech, Savox, Futaba
JellyBeans999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 07:24 PM   #5375
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,539
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JellyBeans999 View Post
Hey guys, been wondering how big of a Mah battery would fit in the car without causing issues?
cheers
I believe large 2s cases do not vary in size by much
7500mah is more than enough

many drivers choose around 6000mah
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 07:54 PM   #5376
Tech Master
 
EDWARD2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kagoshima, Japan
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Here are some videos I've made recently.

I hope they are some use to you. If you have any video requests, I am more than happy to do them.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZWqKepJtpig
(Lipo Balance Structure)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NFvkeD8ZLNQ
(Chassis Balance Using Electronics)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GYVcEPO3FME
(Various Methods of Measuring Chassis Droop)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GBs2O2q1iWc
(Shock Building Tips)

Videos I will be making soon will be covering topics such as; setting ride height, tweaking your suspension using a balance beam and digital scales.
EDWARD2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 11:27 PM   #5377
Tech Regular
 
bigbank66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: folsom, ca
Posts: 281
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default upgrades???

How upgradableis the bd7 rs....does all the parts from the 14 an 15 transfer over to the rs??? i just want to upgrade some things??? Thanks
bigbank66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 06:22 PM   #5378
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MN
Posts: 1,047
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbank66 View Post
How upgradableis the bd7 rs....does all the parts from the 14 an 15 transfer over to the rs??? i just want to upgrade some things??? Thanks
i have both a rs and a 2015 black. to be honest if your thinking about it you will be money ahead to just get the full option kit to start! that being said i use the standard rs kit for a USGT car and it works awesome for that class!
__________________
TEAM GENESIS R/C, Roche P12 2016, PAINT BY MIKEY
onroad dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 06:23 PM   #5379
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MN
Posts: 1,047
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

question. ive been looking at a lot of the factory driver setup sheets. and a lot of them say they are running 10 front droop and 8.5 rear... how? the arms would be in the air! or is there a different style guage that im missing?

also did they ever release the world GT car i had seen photos of?
__________________
TEAM GENESIS R/C, Roche P12 2016, PAINT BY MIKEY
onroad dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 06:55 PM   #5380
Tech Regular
 
nolo148's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by onroad dude View Post
question. ive been looking at a lot of the factory driver setup sheets. and a lot of them say they are running 10 front droop and 8.5 rear... how? the arms would be in the air! or is there a different style guage that im missing?

also did they ever release the world GT car i had seen photos of?
I believe they measure with the chassis flat on the pitboard and they measure the distance from the pin of the arm to the surface of the pitboard. Hope this helps!
__________________
Owen Ren
ll ORCA ll Pro-Spec ll
Overgeared Racing BOD (Facebook - Overgeared Racing)
nolo148 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 08:16 PM   #5381
Tech Master
 
EDWARD2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kagoshima, Japan
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by onroad dude View Post
question. ive been looking at a lot of the factory driver setup sheets. and a lot of them say they are running 10 front droop and 8.5 rear... how? the arms would be in the air! or is there a different style guage that im missing?
The measurement is measured at the pin. You"ll have to use a ruler to get those readings. You can just watch the video which covers this measuring method and many others.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GYVcEPO3FME
EDWARD2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 09:51 PM   #5382
Tech Master
 
mac853's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dirty place
Posts: 1,729
Default

Dear anyone run BD7:

I want to know if someone have problems with rollbar stoppers, in fact i cannot tight the stopper on rollbar.

Best regards
mac853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 11:32 PM   #5383
Tech Regular
 
bigbank66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: folsom, ca
Posts: 281
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by onroad dude View Post
i have both a rs and a 2015 black. to be honest if your thinking about it you will be money ahead to just get the full option kit to start! that being said i use the standard rs kit for a USGT car and it works awesome for that class!
Thats great...im running the car in usgt class...we r running on asphalt at medium grip...do u have a setup for the rs??
bigbank66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 04:08 AM   #5384
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,271
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mac853 View Post
Dear anyone run BD7:

I want to know if someone have problems with rollbar stoppers, in fact i cannot tight the stopper on rollbar.

Best regards
I had the same feeling when I built mine... the stopper is much less "tight" really than you'd think. Just gently tighten the setscrew so it "touches" the rollbar, you need no more than this. Because there isn't much stuff to tread it on, you certainly don't want to tighten the small setscrew (M3x3 iirc) more than barely finger tight otherwise you strip the thread! there is no side load on the rollbar anyway so no need to do more.

Get a feel for "how tight is tight" by assembling the stopper on the rollbar outside of the car to start with - ie not mounted on the blocks. Much easier to understand it after

Hope this helps

Paul
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 02:20 PM   #5385
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MN
Posts: 1,047
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbank66 View Post
Thats great...im running the car in usgt class...we r running on asphalt at medium grip...do u have a setup for the rs??
i run on carpet. but i could fill out a sheet for you and post it up if you would like!
__________________
TEAM GENESIS R/C, Roche P12 2016, PAINT BY MIKEY
onroad dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"TITC" THAILAND INTERNATIONAL TOURING CAR CHAMPIONSHIP 2006 John Doucakis Electric On-Road 233 03-20-2016 03:30 PM
Revolution Touring Car Championship 2005 (RTCC) SuPerDraGon Singapore R/C Racers 639 10-01-2005 04:25 AM
LRP Touring Car Masters 2005 V12 Electric On-Road 337 09-02-2005 01:43 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:17 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0