Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Suggestion needed picking f1 car..

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2012, 08:33 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default Suggestion needed picking f1 car..

As the tittle says I'm kind of lost at which one to go with. First of all I don't know much about them and I'm new to on road as well (only been racing for 2 months) but I hear they may have an f1 class coming up. Regardless if they do or don't I still would like to get one soon. I know there are quiet a few of them and been reading every single one of them threads, but it's kind of overwhelming all info from different cars at once.

So my question is which is the one you suggest going with?

Exotek
F104 v2
3racing fgx (maybe exotek conversation)
Whatever other f1 you suggest I'll look in to it.

I'm looking for some that's durable, I'm not a hacker but I don't want a weak car and would prefer some that has more tire/wheel ranger rather than have unique wheel firments. I was reading a section where they said the tamiyas are more fragile over the fgx? Also im sure the tamiyas would be more expensive to upgrade as well? Parts wise it won't matter much what the local shop carry as they won't carry any so anything will have to be ordered online.

Hope to get some good inputs rather than bumping the other threads thanks in advance
Old 07-30-2012, 01:16 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

Welcome to F1!

It depends on what type of surface you'll see yourself driving on most.

Broadly speaking, the independent suspension on the FGX is considered more versatile for various surfaces. However, if you're running primarily on carpet, direct drive of pan cars like the 104/104v2/F1R are considered to have more of an advantage.

Here's a great guide: http://uf1series.com/_sub_pages/2012/uf1_101.html

The info there is SLIGHTLY dated since it doesn't include the F104v2 and other new developments, but the fundamentals still apply.