R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-29-2013, 06:28 AM   #196
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nico' View Post
Hi,

I wonder, in T-shox box, it should be 8 10042 conical shims?
because I got only 4....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nico' View Post
what I wonder is even if I screw 10004 at the same strength, the 4 shocks, without oil have totally different hardness, maybe because they are new...

I need so screw one 10004 very gentle or I have like 1000 cst in my shock and the 3 other I can screw normally.
Where did you buy yours?

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 06:43 AM   #197
Tech Addict
 
Matthijs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grippgoat View Post
I am not impressed so far.

1) Times two o-rings means that with no fluid at all, these things feel like my Schumacher shocks with 50wt.

2) The top cap assembly is retarded. First, the threads don't want to engage when you try to screw the cap on. I followed Jorge's video, and I had to press the cap down really, really hard to get the threads to touch, then try and back thread it to make sure it's straight, and then screw it on. It was really, really hard to get the threads to catch without cross-threading, and then I'm not sure the shaft guide even sits flat once it's on. There's barely any thread engagement, and the o-ring in the cap gets sliced up on the shock body.

-Mike
Try to assemble the topcap with the shaft all the way up, should be easier

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nico' View Post
what I wonder is even if I screw 10004 at the same strength, the 4 shocks, without oil have totally different hardness, maybe because they are new...

I need so screw one 10004 very gentle or I have like 1000 cst in my shock and the 3 other I can screw normally.
@both, maybe try the shocks with some oil (or the green AE stuff) applied to the o-rings? did that with mine, no problems at all
__________________
Exotek F1R3 // Tamiya TRF101
Matthijs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:28 AM   #198
Tech Adept
 
Quantra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 122
Default

If the plastic guides are tight you can run a 3mm arm reamer through them to speed up the break in process.
__________________
Vince Coleman
Quantra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:37 AM   #199
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgesimes View Post
T-Shox Assembly procedure

Hi All,

This is my method and only my responsability, i'm pretty sure AME will bring an instruction video very soon, until, you could watch how i do you it and some more details of the T-Shox.

Extra Tip - Use an arm reamer on the guidance pieces

Somehow missed the part when i put the rebound springs on the shock shaft, you should put it before you fill them with oil.

Hope you like it.

Cheers.
I think it's the main tip to solve most of the problems.
__________________
Team AME/ORCA
https://www.facebook.com/strawberryrcdesigns
http://www.strawberryrcdesigns.pt/
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:38 AM   #200
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,125
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

The thick plastic guide in the bottom is too thick. When you tighten the bottom end cap all the way down it squishes the o-ring and binds up the shock.

The holes in the piston are drilled too close to the edge which causes the piston to be out of round and rub the inside the shock body.

Quality control on these things is sh*t. Great job.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 09:59 AM   #201
Tech Addict
 
Matthijs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
The thick plastic guide in the bottom is too thick. When you tighten the bottom end cap all the way down it squishes the o-ring and binds up the shock.

The holes in the piston are drilled too close to the edge which causes the piston to be out of round and rub the inside the shock body.

Quality control on these things is sh*t. Great job.
did you put the conical washer in the bottom with the right side up?
__________________
Exotek F1R3 // Tamiya TRF101
Matthijs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 04:52 PM   #202
Tech Regular
 
bozzplayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: canada
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

so quick question about the rebound settings with these shocks, if i don't run the little springs inside the shock does that mean zero rebound? im looking to have no rebound in these shocks, thanks for any help guys.
bozzplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 10:55 PM   #203
Tech Addict
 
Matthijs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bozzplayer View Post
so quick question about the rebound settings with these shocks, if i don't run the little springs inside the shock does that mean zero rebound? im looking to have no rebound in these shocks, thanks for any help guys.
yes, without the little spring you will have zero rebound, that's how I'm using the shocks on indoor carpet.
__________________
Exotek F1R3 // Tamiya TRF101
Matthijs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 11:20 PM   #204
Tech Adept
 
Nico''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grippgoat View Post
Where did you buy yours?

-Mike
I bought mine at RC market,

so 100042 X4 conical shims missing and a bad finish

reading other messages I think I need to use a reamer for guidances pieces.
Do you have a link where to buy a 3mm reamer please?

I built my shocks many times ( using greenslime of course) , there are still a difference of stiffness without oil but it is better, I was hoping after some runs guidance piece would be "ground", is it possible or I need to buy a reamer?
( I'm not very happy to need to buy a reamer after having paid expensive shocks for poor quality and missing parts, one 10050 part was defective too)
Nico' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 11:44 PM   #205
Tech Fanatic
 
vabroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: dark side of the moon
Posts: 936
Default

Are you guys that ordered the shocks from AME having the same problems as the shocks ordered from Hong Kong?
__________________
RC racing is still trying to prove that two solid objects can be in the same place, at the same time.
vabroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 12:01 AM   #206
Tech Adept
 
Nico''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vabroom View Post
Are you guys that ordered the shocks from AME having the same problems as the shocks ordered from Hong Kong?
before having their answer I wrote a message to Andreas Myberg and RC Market,
I' ll tell you what they will answer.
this is the message, sorry for my English:

"Hi RC Market, Hi Andreas Myberg,

I write this letter at the same time to Andreas Myberg (boss of AME-T-shox) and to RC market, where I bought T shox (this is below my order).

I writte to you this message because I received my T shox yesterday and to be honest I am disappointed by the quality,

1/ some parts were missing, as the conical slices 10042 where 4 were present instead of 8 and one white 10050 was defective totally as bad molded.

Fortunately that I had also ordered spare parts, thanks to them I was able to go up my shock.

But please I would like to receive what must be contained in the kit, so thank you for sending it to me.

2/ Then by going up them, I discovered that the passages of piston in the bodies of aluminum shock absorbers were not clean and were sharp with aluminium parts and risked to line the piston.
I have filed these passages with a very soft round file.

3/ Then a shock absorber with a color darker than the others (why?) has his threading down slightly of fault, where screws the part 10004, what puts in constraint parts 10042 and 10041 and restrains completely the shock absorber.

4/ In one shock cap, the diameter of hole for 10050 is too small, so I needed to file a little bit to solve that.

What is necessary it to make please for all these various concerns?

Better greetings,

Nicolas Rouland"
Nico' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 12:25 AM   #207
Tech Addict
 
Matthijs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vabroom View Post
Are you guys that ordered the shocks from AME having the same problems as the shocks ordered from Hong Kong?
Ordered mine from Tonisport (he gets them from AME directly) and no problems at all.
__________________
Exotek F1R3 // Tamiya TRF101
Matthijs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 01:53 AM   #208
Tech Regular
 
spencehotbodies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: London
Posts: 267
Default

Hello

Got mine from Toni sport, no problems.
spencehotbodies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 02:22 AM   #209
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nico' View Post
Do you have a link where to buy a 3mm reamer please?
Arm Reamer

This is only one, you've got several from other brands there. Got mine directly from AME and no problems at all. Like i said before issues may arrise when a company is new, but i'm pretty sure Andreas is watching and solving all the problems, for sure he will answer you and wil solve your problem.
__________________
Team AME/ORCA
https://www.facebook.com/strawberryrcdesigns
http://www.strawberryrcdesigns.pt/
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 03:20 AM   #210
Tech Adept
 
Nico''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgesimes View Post
Arm Reamer

This is only one, you've got several from other brands there. Got mine directly from AME and no problems at all. Like i said before issues may arrise when a company is new, but i'm pretty sure Andreas is watching and solving all the problems, for sure he will answer you and wil solve your problem.
thanks for you reply
Nico' is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:51 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net