R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes

Old 07-03-2013, 02:59 AM   #2011
Tech Apprentice

Quote:
Originally Posted by DMSewell27 View Post
First. Welcome to the hobby!

I have been in and around the hobby, thanks to my Father, for the past 20+ years. I only just got serious about road racing and drift vehicles last September. Again, thanks to (wanting to beat) my Father. Learning the detailed ins and outs of vehicle setup has been by far the most challenging fun I have ever had.

That being said. I am no expert, but I can tell you a few hings I have learned overall and about the Sakura D3 CS chassis.

#1 Use a good radio.
~ I started off using a Hobby King/Flysky GT3B radio. Although not bad to get started it has a framerate of 22ms. Frame rate being the time it takes for input command at the radio to reach the car. I switched to a Spektrum with a 5.5ms frame rate and noticed great improvement in control in all my on and off road vehicles. Futaba. K.O. Proppo and Airtronics/Sanwa also make excellent radios and receivers, but I got my Spektrum very cheap second hand.

#2 Use good servos
~ $10 servos are great for playing with a truck in the back yard. But useless for anything that demands complete control. I am a fan of Savox and use a 1251MG or better in all of my vehicles. Quick radios are useless without quick servos. Again, Futaba, HiTek, JR and others make great servos, but I get Savox at a good price.

Those are the two biggest things I see people skimping on that have the biggest effect. Of course you should use quality brushless motors, Speed controllers and Lipo batteries. The cheaper it is at full retail the cheaper it is made.

As far as a setup for tile goes. I am not sure of a good starting point but be assured there are no magic numbers or universally great setups. It's all about finding a setup you can drive. My D3 is set as follows and runs great at my Locall Hobby shop on CRC HD carpet.

Front: