R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-09-2008, 07:11 PM   #14686
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

i recently received a PM about this but for anybody wondering how to wire in a Tekin RS for their cyclone:

__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 07:19 PM   #14687
Tech Addict
 
Herc Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 526
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

And the little nubs (probably not the correct term) fit the slots under the chassis fine? All versions (Moore edition)?

I only ask is because my last competetive tourer was a TA05 that I put a 3 racing chassis on and discovered the batteries wouldn't fit without being jerry rigged. So after $100 chassis I had to go back to the ol' plastic one (should have done more research).

Thanks for the replies...just don't want to make a mistake/I have gone all lipo.

Thanks for the earlier photo as well...any of the battery in the chassis slots? Again thank you.

Last edited by Herc Driver; 12-09-2008 at 07:36 PM. Reason: added/spelling
Herc Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 07:38 PM   #14688
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Herc Driver View Post
And the little nubs (probably not the correct term) fit the slots under the chassis fine?

I only ask is because my last competetive tourer was a TA05 that I put a 3 racing chassis on and discovered the batteries wouldn't fit without being jerry rigged. So after $100 chassis I had to go back to the ol' plastic one (should have done more research).

Thanks for the replies...just don't want to make a mistake/I have gone all lipo.

Thanks for the earlier photo as well...any of the battery in the chassis slots? Again thank you.
If you are going to run the cyclone TC the slots are larger so the battery will fit with lots of room to spare. The older cyclones still have plenty of room for the humps. Even so when you file the chassis down to re seal it you can make the holes bigger or angled. And sorry a picture of my chassis would do no good as i run a lipo plate and have ground my battery humps off
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 08:43 PM   #14689
Tech Addict
 
bigz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: QC/Las Pinas
Posts: 502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow102 View Post
Couple things to think about. Pick up a set of 1.1mm 3 hole shock pistons made a large difference in my handling. You can use springs from alot of different manufacturers, if you have anything left over from the xray you can use them but to get started you can go with the Pro4 spring kit although you wont use much over the white springs.

For parts you can also look at speedtechrc, amainhobbies, and tower
are you using the 3 hole pistons on all shocks or only in the rear? what shock oil are you using?
got these pistons and installed them in the rear.
__________________
Hot Bodies - Nosram - Tekin - Speed Passion - Futaba - Sorex - RIDE
bigz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 09:29 PM   #14690
Tech Fanatic
 
CHRIS CHAVEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Weekend Warrior
Posts: 962
Default

I have an old school question.

Do any of you guys remember what the internal drive ratio of the Moore Speed Cyclone with the upgraded 18tooth center pulleys is?

Thanks, Chris
__________________
"Dirt is for growing Potatoes"
TQ RC Racing
CHRIS CHAVEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 10:06 PM   #14691
Tech Apprentice
 
birdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRIS CHAVEZ View Post
I have an old school question.

Do any of you guys remember what the internal drive ratio of the Moore Speed Cyclone with the upgraded 18tooth center pulleys is?

Thanks, Chris
Chris,

It's 2.1667.. if it is 16T then it's 2.4375
birdman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 10:13 PM   #14692
Tech Fanatic
 
CHRIS CHAVEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Weekend Warrior
Posts: 962
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by birdman View Post
Chris,

It's 2.1667.. if it is 16T then it's 2.4375
Thank You Very Much, Chris
__________________
"Dirt is for growing Potatoes"
TQ RC Racing
CHRIS CHAVEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 01:14 AM   #14693
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,342
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Yes - the "shaped" orion packs drop right in the existing slots in the chassis. I use 3800's in my Hara Ed.

I used to have platinum 4800's but I sold them as I was tired of loosing the pack during the races, no matter how much tape I used (granted, the tape wouldn't rupture if I didn't hit anything, but, hey, we're all humans )

Paul
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 03:35 AM   #14694
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigz View Post
are you using the 3 hole pistons on all shocks or only in the rear? what shock oil are you using?
got these pistons and installed them in the rear.
I am using the 4 hole pistons with 40wt all the way around
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 04:10 AM   #14695
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Does anybody use the titanium racing spool? Is it better than hot bodies (3) spool?
wassermann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 06:23 AM   #14696
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

If you mean the TIR spool, dont get it as the outdrives break easily....
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 06:39 AM   #14697
Tech Champion
 
Kwikvdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 5,967
Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kwikvdub
Default

Does anyone know where I can get a LiPo tray that will fit the Black Edition Cyclone and take the IP 3800 25c Battery??

Thanks!
__________________
Alex Valdes

TQRacing / 360 v2 RC Raceway / Team Downgrade Designs
Kwikvdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 07:25 AM   #14698
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kwikvdub View Post
Does anyone know where I can get a LiPo tray that will fit the Black Edition Cyclone and take the IP 3800 25c Battery??

Thanks!
Doesnt the IP 3800 fit the cyclone (not much clearance though)??? I have a bitty designs lipo tray but i havent tried it.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 07:54 AM   #14699
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

The picture I posted below is the ip3800 on a pdp lipo plate. I shaved down the humps and I have a ton of clearance but even before shaving them off I had room if you shave the bulkhead down
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 08:51 AM   #14700
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Another question to the titanium racing spools.There are two different spools:
1.US-spec spool
2.Pro comp. spool

Which one is better and why.

Thanks Michael
wassermann is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:05 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net