R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-15-2008, 01:19 AM   #14131
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dontfeelcold View Post
anyone???
Dont take this the wrong way, but to me that is kind of a silly question.

To me the radio should be set up so:
A) The servo does not try to turn further than the servo saver (with the ackerman adjustments) will allow. IE if you turn it too hard it will just be hitting the aluminium bulkheads (usually you can hear this as your servo will just start buzzing as its unhappily trying to turn further that it is allowed).

B) The steering should be configured so the car turns in even circles both left and right.

This is going to be different on every car depending on many factors and the ones which come to mind are the servo, how the servo is mounted and toe adjustments....
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 02:11 AM   #14132
Tech Master
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Its not a silly question at all.

I know how to set a radio so that it gets as much lock as possible without loading the servo up. I would just like to know what other people's EPA/dual rate ends up at when they have set up there radio's for a cyclone. Its called cross checking.
dontfeelcold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 04:20 AM   #14133
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

**SHRUG** well even with the figures they wont make much difference in comparing them. I forgot to add ackerman settings should completely change what settings are on peoples radios too.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 04:25 AM   #14134
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,963
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dontfeelcold View Post
anyone???
without having my radio in front of me - i believe mine is set for about 85-90%...but that's with a M11

all radios are going to be different, there is not 1 definitive setting that all cars need to have...

The easiest way to set it is:
  • turn the wheel full lock
  • if the servo is making "straining" noises, adjust the EPA gradually until the noise stops
  • Return to neutral and try again - make little adjustments each time
  • repeat for other side
Maybe that's not the "proper" way, but its how I do and it seems to work out pretty decently
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 04:32 AM   #14135
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Dont forget after that to do a check for turning circle at low speed for both left and right and then adjust the side which is turning tighter to match the other side....

As for dual rates, they are so gunna be traction dependent it is not funny....
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 09:20 AM   #14136
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt
Default

Full lock, the Dual Rate is in the hand
__________________
JMI Motorsport / Red Bull Racing
HB Cyclone TC - Schumacher CAT SX & Cougar SV
Advanced Electronics - Autopartner.se - Sav÷x - NorthTQ
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 10:13 AM   #14137
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

you guys seen these?

http://forums.radiocontrolzone.com/s...d.php?t=251469

What are the chances these fit on the cyclone? Anyone got any measurements?
Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 11:41 PM   #14138
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

hI guys is the 3racing 1.5deg pivot block good or is it better to get the hb one.
Does it have any issue.
Thanks
cyclone speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 01:39 AM   #14139
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,345
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
**SHRUG** well even with the figures they wont make much difference in comparing them. I forgot to add ackerman settings should completely change what settings are on peoples radios too.

same here - too many other things influence D/R setting on a radio, if only the steering "balance" and "travel", on top the ackerman setting, which servo arm you're using, and so on so forth... not to setups will be similar, let alone the same.

Paul
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 03:52 AM   #14140
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Any body know if hot bodies usa have gotten their act together as far as ordering parts? I don't want to order the stuff I need just to have them cancel it next week
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 06:56 AM   #14141
Tech Elite
 
lightfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Thousand Oaks
Posts: 3,574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syber Serulean View Post
you guys seen these?

http://forums.radiocontrolzone.com/s...d.php?t=251469

What are the chances these fit on the cyclone? Anyone got any measurements?
I would really love to know if these would fit on my TC... I've noticed my car vibration during turning... does anyone know if the measurements are adaptable ?
lightfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 08:58 AM   #14142
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,870
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow102 View Post
Any body know if hot bodies usa have gotten their act together as far as ordering parts? I don't want to order the stuff I need just to have them cancel it next week
Who knows......if you try it out again let us know what the outcome is.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 09:12 AM   #14143
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclone speed View Post
hI guys is the 3racing 1.5deg pivot block good or is it better to get the hb one.
Does it have any issue.
Thanks
any advice please guys
cyclone speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 10:19 AM   #14144
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclone speed View Post
any advice please guys
there is no difference between the two besides the plastic pivots mounts the 3racing ones are longer
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 10:53 AM   #14145
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow102 View Post
there is no difference between the two besides the plastic pivots mounts the 3racing ones are longer
So it means that i dont have to get the hb ones .
I asked this question because i remember you said that the 3racing bulkheads had issues , so i thought the same with the pivot block.
Thanks
cyclone speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:59 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net