R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-03-2008, 04:22 PM   #14011
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,150
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Doucakis View Post
Superb racing from the very best...

Right click on the below link and "save as" to your file
31.6 MB file from SUDA TYPE R (http://sudacolumn.cocolog-nifty.com/typer/)

http://suda.mine.nu/2008EPT/SEX_A1.wmv
Yes nice battle !
Hara Cyclone had Hi Torque pick up , unknow used which Magnet rotor ?
but have some noise .
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 04:25 PM   #14012
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,101
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclone speed View Post
Also , forgot to say that i ran my car with 1mm under FF and FR blocks instead of 1.5mm and the car did have a bit more steering in corners.
I also tried 1mm under rear camber link wich did help alot , before i had 2mm and the rear end was very like a fish tail , and when i put 1mm it did help alot .
But my probleme know is that in corner exit under acceleration , my car has the rear end a litle loose .Less then before ( now im running 1mm under camber link instead of 2mm) but is it possible to reduce this probleme.It does abit of powerslides in corner exit.
I have tried what you told me Korey but is there a way to eliminate this probleme.
You can always loosen your front droop screws a touch. That will transfer more weight to the rear of the car on power.

How much rear toe are you running???

-Korey
__________________
Seido Speed Works - Apex RC - Prospec America - RC Mission America - LRP - Protoform - AVID - 1Up Racing - Xenon - Xpert - Sanwa - Slapmaster Tools - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 09:18 PM   #14013
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default Help with a pic?!

I could use a little help please. I plan to run the Cyclone tweak / setup plate tomarrow and wanted to double check mounting holes near the steering servo. The chassis I have doesn't have one mounted, and I need to check that my locations have clearance to servo.

I could really use a top view pic of the servo mounted on the chassis to be sure before I run these plates. Here is a wireframe view..it is lower left corner I need confirmation of.

TIA.
Attached Thumbnails
Hot Bodies Cyclone-cyclone-wire.jpg  
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 09:36 PM   #14014
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,874
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verndog View Post
I could use a little help please. I plan to run the Cyclone tweak / setup plate tomarrow and wanted to double check mounting holes near the steering servo. The chassis I have doesn't have one mounted, and I need to check that my locations have clearance to servo.

I could really use a top view pic of the servo mounted on the chassis to be sure before I run these plates. Here is a wireframe view..it is lower left corner I need confirmation of.

TIA.
Vern...I got ya covered on the pic as soon as I go pick my daughter up from the weekly football game. She has my camera. It should be done in another hour.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 09:43 PM   #14015
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
Vern...I got ya covered on the pic as soon as I go pick my daughter up from the weekly football game. She has my camera. It should be done in another hour.
Cool...I'll keep the thread open. I've gone thru several pics, and looks like the 3 options I gave for clamps (red circles are 4mm threaded holes) will cover it. I've seen a couple different locations on servos, and was warned people mount servos drilling their own holes. Also I see some people are running large older servos like this.

__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 11:07 PM   #14016
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,874
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I took out my futaba 9550 and put in the larger Airtronics 94360
Attached Thumbnails
Hot Bodies Cyclone-p1010046.jpg  
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 11:41 PM   #14017
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
I took out my futaba 9550 and put in the larger Airtronics 94360

Thank you for the pic. That could possibly interfere with the dowel pin chassis stop I'm using. I would have to press the dowel to no taller then the thin 2mm chassis, or risk a unhappy customer that is running an older servo. Hmmmm ...there are people really using those even though they hang off the chassis that far? I better move the holes.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 11:59 PM   #14018
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verndog View Post
Thank you for the pic. That could possibly interfere with the dowel pin chassis stop I'm using. I would have to press the dowel to no taller then the thin 2mm chassis, or risk a unhappy customer that is running an older servo. Hmmmm ...there are people really using those even though they hang off the chassis that far? I better move the holes.
Here is the other thing too. Due to the position of the stock servo mount holes and chassis space many of us shoo glue the servo down a few mm foward of the factory holes
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 12:13 AM   #14019
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
I took out my futaba 9550 and put in the larger Airtronics 94360

Something is different about these 2 chassis!

The chassis I have has the servo mount hole closer to the edge of the chassis like the pic I posted above. The pic you posted you can clearly see the servo mount hole has been moved closer to the center of the chassis. Look closely and you can see the difference from edge of chassis to edge of servo mount.

I dont have to nail the center of those holes since the servo is independent mount side to side, so it wont tweak chassis, just makes me wonder what other mount differences there are.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 12:16 AM   #14020
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Korey Harbke View Post
You can always loosen your front droop screws a touch. That will transfer more weight to the rear of the car on power.

How much rear toe are you running???

-Korey
Im running 2.5 toe in rear . How do you adjust the toe in the rear???

But if i put a bit more front droop wouldnt it decrease on power steering ?
cyclone speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 01:49 AM   #14021
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

The picture from above with the www.teamorion.com on it to me looks wrong. The servo posts are meant to be mounted upright not lieing flat.

Although what is a Cyclone tweak / setup plate? Doesnt have hole on the front for the bumper either?

**EDIT** Actually my mistake must have been thinking of servo mounts for another car, or the aluminium ones....
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )

Last edited by mangoman; 10-05-2008 at 10:23 AM.
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 05:38 AM   #14022
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 26,641
Trader Rating: 179 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclone speed View Post
Im running 2.5 toe in rear . How do you adjust the toe in the rear???

But if i put a bit more front droop wouldnt it decrease on power steering ?
you need Aluminum Pivot Blocks for the rear to adjust rear toe.
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXGNY6&P=Z
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 07:55 AM   #14023
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
The picture from above with the www.teamorion.com on it to me looks wrong. The servo posts are meant to be mounted upright not lieing flat.

Although what is a Cyclone tweak / setup plate? Doesnt have hole on the front for the bumper either?

Looks like the optional holes I added should accommodate everyone.

Here is what the setup plate will look similar to, this is the TC5 version.

Off to build.

http://www.ppdbillet.com/associated_tc5.html
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 07:59 AM   #14024
Tech Adept
 
tomracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 169
Default

verndog
for the plate did you also find that the TCspec chassis plate is wider then the regular cyclone?
i measured mine at
moorespeed 4.222"
TC spec 4.292"
also the servo mounts on the TC spec are about .106" further forward all other holes line up nicely

i took some pictures send me your email adres and i will show you.
it is just the centre (widest part) that has a difference the front and rear parts are equal again.
i think you can solve the difference by two sets of dowels one with overlap one straight set perhaps?
__________________
Tom van den Brink
--------------------------
RC Crewchief - setup software for racers
tomracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 10:52 AM   #14025
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Thats pretty cool verndog
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:44 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net