R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-30-2008, 06:31 AM   #13981
Tech Fanatic
 
B-FAST R/C's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 811
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCFREAK View Post
Fred... have not looked at the Losi rings.. but perhaps the associated D-rings might be the same..
Thanks, the Associated D ring is the same as the Losi.

Does the Associated ring fit the Cyclone?
__________________
www.bfastrc.com *** Feel The Diff!! ***
arcshobbies mcculloughsrcracing

Last edited by B-FAST R/C; 09-30-2008 at 11:26 AM.
B-FAST R/C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 11:18 AM   #13982
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 70
Default

I've got another question guys:

I've been looking at various brushless motors and ran across the hobbywing combo setup with the 60A ESC and the 5.5t/6000kv motor.

Does that motor rating seem right? 6000kv seems within the useful range but I don't understand the 5.5t, that seems like really low turns for a 6000kv. Does turns actually mean anything anymore or is it just a reference?
Aceldama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 11:41 AM   #13983
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aceldama View Post
I've got another question guys:

I've been looking at various brushless motors and ran across the hobbywing combo setup with the 60A ESC and the 5.5t/6000kv motor.

Does that motor rating seem right? 6000kv seems within the useful range but I don't understand the 5.5t, that seems like really low turns for a 6000kv. Does turns actually mean anything anymore or is it just a reference?
I think its about right , it does semm low but some motors have higher kv then others with the same number of turns i.e : novak 5.5 = 7400kv , LRP 5.5 = 7000kv , orion 5.5 = around 8000kv and speed passion 5.5 = around 8400 kv
So i think its right but wich motor is it that your looking at .
Also your question is off topic but try to post it on another thread that talks about brushless motors .
cyclone speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 11:57 AM   #13984
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclone speed View Post
I think its about right , it does semm low but some motors have higher kv then others with the same number of turns i.e : novak 5.5 = 7400kv , LRP 5.5 = 7000kv , orion 5.5 = around 8000kv and speed passion 5.5 = around 8400 kv
So i think its right but wich motor is it that your looking at .
Also your question is off topic but try to post it on another thread that talks about brushless motors .

Sorry about that, the reason I've been posting here is that all this stuff is going in my Cyclone S (not that it's a good excuse).

To answer your question here is the motor/esc combo: http://rcmarket.com.hk/product_info....7qvm921ekjfdh4

It's the 60A ESC and the 5.5t motor. I just want to be SURE that it's 6000kv because my buddy is running a 5900kv motor in his TC4 and I don't really want it to be any faster than his.

Also, I have to buy a pinion, what gearing would you suggest in the Cyclone with this setup?
Aceldama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 02:00 PM   #13985
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcarmchl View Post
ANyone know where I could find a TC for $379...NIB stateside?
+1
__________________
Muchmore l AHRP l Xenon l Futaba
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 04:04 PM   #13986
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: FORT LAUDERDALE,FLORIDA
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

TC has been out off stock for a long time ..Is this do to a new car coming out before or after the worlds..
iceman76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 11:45 PM   #13987
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aceldama View Post
Sorry about that, the reason I've been posting here is that all this stuff is going in my Cyclone S (not that it's a good excuse).

To answer your question here is the motor/esc combo: http://rcmarket.com.hk/product_info....7qvm921ekjfdh4

It's the 60A ESC and the 5.5t motor. I just want to be SURE that it's 6000kv because my buddy is running a 5900kv motor in his TC4 and I don't really want it to be any faster than his.

Also, I have to buy a pinion, what gearing would you suggest in the Cyclone with this setup?
yeah i understand wy you post it here , it doesnt matter.I think it is a 6000kv but you should ask the question to RC MARKET he will know better then me, but yes i think its a 6000kv motor.I have a FDR of 7.5 with my 5.5 7000kv so you should try around that.
cyclone speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 10:37 AM   #13988
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

guys i went to run my car today and it was great but only one probleme that i had for awhile , my probleme is that when i go in high speed chicanes my rear end seems to loos traction , it goes left ,right left right and then i loose control of my car and to avoid this i have to slow down but by slowing down i loose time so is there something to do to avoid my rear end to be like a fish tail.
Thanks in advance
cyclone speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 10:57 AM   #13989
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 243
Default

Hey there

I drove app. 15 times on my TC and notice at original front driveshafts are getting worn. I made some searc and found steel ones how are perfect for Cyclone TC. I wonder why Hotbodies katalog didn`t know that at #61043 44mm HD universal shats fit perfectly?

So, now i know that and i think at they last longer than alu ones especially when use spool..

Just notice that guys
__________________
Racingfactory.fi -> GM - LRP - Futaba - Tamiya Mini M03 - Tamiya 415MSX MRE - Tamiya 416 WE
Cruisaaja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 02:49 PM   #13990
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,101
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Cruisaaja - The driveshafts will work... just not as well. If you have the same ones I'm thinking of those are slightly different than the ones included in the kit. Take a look at the "slot" on the driveshaft where it connects to the universal joint coupling. From what I found on mine, the slot isn't quite as long as the driveshafts included in the kit.

This will make them bind up easier when put at more extreme angles. They will work, just won't be quite as smooth at high angles. So I guess it's a matter if you want a more durable part vs. a better performing part with the sacrifice of some performance.

Hope that helps a bit.

-Korey
__________________
Seido Speed Works - Apex RC - Prospec America - RC Mission America - LRP - Protoform - AVID - 1Up Racing - Xenon - Xpert - Sanwa - Slapmaster Tools - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 03:41 PM   #13991
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 1,832
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Wouldn't 61398 fit better?
__________________
Team Powers, SMC ( www.smc-racing.com the only place to order your batteries online.), Awesomatix, Gonzo Paints, BN Racing
www.TeamPowersUSA.com

"Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery."
Advil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 10:58 PM   #13992
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 243
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Korey Harbke View Post
Cruisaaja - The driveshafts will work... just not as well. If you have the same ones I'm thinking of those are slightly different than the ones included in the kit. Take a look at the "slot" on the driveshaft where it connects to the universal joint coupling. From what I found on mine, the slot isn't quite as long as the driveshafts included in the kit.

This will make them bind up easier when put at more extreme angles. They will work, just won't be quite as smooth at high angles. So I guess it's a matter if you want a more durable part vs. a better performing part with the sacrifice of some performance.

Hope that helps a bit.

-Korey
Thanks Korey

I`ll check that before next time

I just looking for more durable driveshafts up front with spool
__________________
Racingfactory.fi -> GM - LRP - Futaba - Tamiya Mini M03 - Tamiya 415MSX MRE - Tamiya 416 WE
Cruisaaja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 11:10 PM   #13993
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclone speed View Post
guys i went to run my car today and it was great but only one probleme that i had for awhile , my probleme is that when i go in high speed chicanes my rear end seems to loose traction , it goes left ,right left right and then i loose control of my car and to avoid this i have to slow down but by slowing down i loose time so is there something to do to avoid my rear end to be like a fish tail.
Thanks in advance
any advice?
cyclone speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 11:44 PM   #13994
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,101
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

You can try going down to a softer spring to create a little more rear grip. I've been testing something the last few times I was at the track though...

In high speed corners where you turn one direction, then turn the other way a number of times, it really jacks weight around the car. Sometimes our cars aren't setup to come back to center (not rolled over) quite as fast as we like. When all the weight is transferred to one side and it doesn't spring back, or "transition" quick enough, the car can get unstable and spin out a little erratically.

So to solve this, you can try going to a little thicker swaybars. I know it sounds weird, but usually when I put thicker swaybars all around on my car is made the car turn in a little harder, but actually made the car more stable throughout the corner at the same time.

So, try going softer on the rear spring and see if that helps. If it doesn't, then go back to what you had before and try thicker swaybars all around. It'll help settle the weight transfer down a bit.

Also check your tires. I notice when my tires are getting a little worn out my car will do some weird things like you describe. If you continue to have problems, post your setup and we can take a look at it again.

-Korey
__________________
Seido Speed Works - Apex RC - Prospec America - RC Mission America - LRP - Protoform - AVID - 1Up Racing - Xenon - Xpert - Sanwa - Slapmaster Tools - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 04:32 AM   #13995
Tech Fanatic
 
bmmer701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Korey Harbke View Post
You can try going down to a softer spring to create a little more rear grip. I've been testing something the last few times I was at the track though...

In high speed corners where you turn one direction, then turn the other way a number of times, it really jacks weight around the car. Sometimes our cars aren't setup to come back to center (not rolled over) quite as fast as we like. When all the weight is transferred to one side and it doesn't spring back, or "transition" quick enough, the car can get unstable and spin out a little erratically.

So to solve this, you can try going to a little thicker swaybars. I know it sounds weird, but usually when I put thicker swaybars all around on my car is made the car turn in a little harder, but actually made the car more stable throughout the corner at the same time.

So, try going softer on the rear spring and see if that helps. If it doesn't, then go back to what you had before and try thicker swaybars all around. It'll help settle the weight transfer down a bit.

Also check your tires. I notice when my tires are getting a little worn out my car will do some weird things like you describe. If you continue to have problems, post your setup and we can take a look at it again.

-Korey
hi korey i just want to ask with this problem also. what will be the effect of not changing the springs but laying down your shock position? (it will make the rear softer too right? or wrong) thanks
bmmer701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:47 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net