R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-28-2008, 12:17 PM   #13666
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,844
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclone speed View Post
il try this and let you know . im sory i said 2.5 front and 3mm rear but i had 3mm front and 3mm rear sorry for the mistake . so should i keep 3mm in front ?
thanks for the quick replys
How are you measuring your droop? Is this 3mm over ride height? If so you might be able to go to 2mm in the front and have a 1mm difference from front to rear. If these measurements are using some sort of droop gauge then I'd still increase the front droop to 4mm.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC MARKET View Post
5-6 Cell Cyclone TC Main Chassis back in stock now !
As usual you're right on it leting us know what you have in stock. Thanks again for a great job.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 12:35 PM   #13667
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,788
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
As usual you're right on it leting us know what you have in stock. Thanks again for a great job.



He's on top of it in at least a half dozen theads
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 12:54 PM   #13668
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,844
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PitNamedGordie View Post


He's on top of it in at least a half dozen theads
I saw that on here and the Tamiya thread. He never sleeps
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 01:08 PM   #13669
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,137
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
How are you measuring your droop? Is this 3mm over ride height? If so you might be able to go to 2mm in the front and have a 1mm difference from front to rear. If these measurements are using some sort of droop gauge then I'd still increase the front droop to 4mm.


As usual you're right on it leting us know what you have in stock. Thanks again for a great job.
Our RC Market Team keep do it !
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 01:17 PM   #13670
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
How are you measuring your droop? Is this 3mm over ride height? If so you might be able to go to 2mm in the front and have a 1mm difference from front to rear. If these measurements are using some sort of droop gauge then I'd still increase the front droop to 4mm.
as you said i mesure it over the ride height .
3mm droop over ride height front and 4mm ride height rear
cyclone speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 02:30 PM   #13671
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,844
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclone speed View Post
as you said i mesure it over the ride height .
3mm droop over ride height front and 4mm ride height rear
If over ride height I would go with 2mm front and 3mm rear. I think so long as you have 1mm difference front to rear you will be fine. You can go to 4mm in the rear and still get the same results.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 06:31 PM   #13672
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,094
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCoolCanFanMan View Post
What outdrives are they Korey

And what is your setup with the Hara springs please. Is it for rubber tyers as well as for outside?
Cheers Malc
To be honest I used the same setup that I posted earlier. I just put hara springs on and tried a few different rates. For our track I liked the Hara "red" springs all around. I tried black all around, purple all around, red all around, red up front and purple rear, and purple front black rear. All yeilded the same general feeling.

At my local track, they just weren't the ticket. They would work good on a really nice flowing track with a good amount of grip (more like a euro style track). They smooth out the car a lot and make it feel more "stuck".

Outdrives, I've tried both the POM outdrives that come stock on the TC kit, and the optional aluminum ones. The POM outdrives work awesome. I haven't really seen a need to go away from those. They wear for a reaallllyyyy long time, and are very light. I recently put the aluminum outdrives on and saw no performance gain... other than they look pretty cool

-Korey
__________________
Apex RC - Prospec America - RC Mission America - LRP - Protoform - AVID - Xenon - Xpert - Sanwa - Sweep - Slapmaster Tools - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 11:54 PM   #13673
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
If over ride height I would go with 2mm front and 3mm rear. I think so long as you have 1mm difference front to rear you will be fine. You can go to 4mm in the rear and still get the same results.
thank you STLNLST il try that
cyclone speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2008, 08:00 AM   #13674
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
If over ride height I would go with 2mm front and 3mm rear. I think so long as you have 1mm difference front to rear you will be fine. You can go to 4mm in the rear and still get the same results.
How would I go about getting a similar setting using the hpi droop gauge and running a 5mm ride height
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2008, 08:29 AM   #13675
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow102 View Post
How would I go about getting a similar setting using the hpi droop gauge and running a 5mm ride height
do you mean how to get 2 mm droop but with a droop gauge , if yes mine shows 7 on the droop gauge and i get 2mm of droop over ride height . i also run 5mm ride height
cyclone speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2008, 08:34 AM   #13676
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

ive got 1 question , i run modified on a very smooth track , low grip and medium fast . for the moment i have a 2.5 toe block in front and i was thinking about changing to a 1 or 1.5 toe block to have more corner speed .
would this be a good idea
thank you
cyclone speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2008, 09:20 AM   #13677
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,844
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow102 View Post
How would I go about getting a similar setting using the hpi droop gauge and running a 5mm ride height
If going off a droop gauge I would go with 6mm front and 5mm rear. It all depends on the tire you are running as well. Sorex tire's are taller than RP and Jaco's. One thing to check once you set the droop using the blocks and then put your tire's back on....check to see what the droop is over ride height.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclone speed View Post
ive got 1 question , i run modified on a very smooth track , low grip and medium fast . for the moment i have a 2.5 toe block in front and i was thinking about changing to a 1 or 1.5 toe block to have more corner speed .
would this be a good idea
thank you
Going from the 2.5 block to anything less will give the car better turn in and the car will carve the turns better. I would only do this if the car is pushing on corner entry and middle. If the track is low bite make sure that your rear end is locked in when making the changes in the front. I have played with 1.0 to 2.5 in the front and lately I have settle for 1.0 up front. Try the 1.5 first and see what you think. That way you have two choices you could make if you want to increase or decrease sweep in the front. Good luck and it's always fun testing.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2008, 09:26 AM   #13678
Tech Master
 
fpart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,937
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fpart
Default

Where does everyone get there parts for the cyclone in the US from? I can see anywhere on line that has a lot. Thanks!
__________________
teamTrinity.com Sweepracingusa.com
スクービーは私のヒーローです!
Why is Scooby so slow, you might ask?
fpart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2008, 09:35 AM   #13679
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
I would only do this if the car is pushing on corner entry and middle. If the track is low bite make sure that your rear end is locked in when making the changes in the front. I have played with 1.0 to 2.5 in the front and lately I have settle for 1.0 up front. Try the 1.5 first and see what you think. That way you have two choices you could make if you want to increase or decrease sweep in the front. Good luck and it's always fun testing.
this is my case my car still pushes wide with droop 2mm fr , 3mm rear.
what do you mean by "rear end locked".
I also tried 5mm over ride height rear and 8mm over ride height front and i like it , would you recomend it ?
thank you
cyclone speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2008, 10:11 AM   #13680
Tech Elite
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,046
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fpart View Post
Where does everyone get there parts for the cyclone in the US from? I can see anywhere on line that has a lot. Thanks!
i have a box full of spares if your interesyt!
SammyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net