R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2008, 08:50 PM   #12946
Tech Adept
 
Arushmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackedOutREVO View Post
FDR- Final drive ratio

Yeah, gear it up, just make sure it isnt running to hot, I dont like to get my motors over 150-160. But under 170 is good

I liked in the 5's the best for infield punch
Ok, I got It
But is possible to change the timing? I need more rpm
Arushmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 09:20 PM   #12947
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,934
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arushmen View Post
Ok, I got It
But is possible to change the timing? I need more rpm
advancing or retarding the timing on the brushless motors only really change the point of where the power band takes place. Sooner in the throtle pull or later in the throtle pull. From what you're describing your best bet would be to gear up from 5.5 to about 5.2-5.0 but pay attention to your motor temps. What are other guys at your track gearing their motors at?
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 09:47 PM   #12948
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Is there shades up at SWR? Or is everyone bringing there pop-ups? I dont remember lol
__________________
R1 Wurks/Awesomatix USA/Roche USA/Protoform/Solaris/Mo Speed/Speedworld Raceway
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 11:04 PM   #12949
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 94
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
What motor are you running protyne?
I'm running the HPI X30 30T motor for the HPI challenge held here. Pretty lower powered motor so trying to keep the drive trains as smooth as possible. FDR is 3.8.
protyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 11:09 PM   #12950
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,934
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackedOutREVO View Post
Is there shades up at SWR? Or is everyone bringing there pop-ups? I dont remember lol
shades up but I'd bring the pop ups anyway. It's made of some sort of mesh material. It blocks some sun but still allows some to shine through.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 01:43 AM   #12951
Tech Master
 
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arushmen View Post
Ok, I got It
But is possible to change the timing? I need more rpm
I think you will you will find you cannot alter the timing on a Novak 10.5 anyway
Malc
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 03:20 AM   #12952
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCoolCanFanMan View Post
I think you will you will find you cannot alter the timing on a Novak 10.5 anyway
Malc
depends on the speed control
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 04:10 AM   #12953
Tech Master
 
komkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germantown, America
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to komkit Send a message via AIM to komkit Send a message via Yahoo to komkit
Default

Anyone know the Hara’s spring rate compare to the original Cyclone springs?

Thanks,
__________________
CFX Paintworks - The Track
komkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 04:44 AM   #12954
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCoolCanFanMan View Post
I think you will you will find you cannot alter the timing on a Novak 10.5 anyway
Malc
Loosen the 3 screws on the sensor lead end and put your finger nail into the notches in the blue timing ring. Push it anti-clockwise to advance the timing and clockwise to retard. Before you move it, mark the side of the can with the current position. Then move it all the way forward and mark again, then all the way back and mark. That will give you the standard position for this motor and the overall range you can play with. I've had 2 Novak motors and they came with different timing out of the packet.

But be warned advancing the timing will lead to increased heat and you risk over heating the motor if you don't adjust your FDR to suit the increased RPM.
THancock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 05:16 AM   #12955
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

As far as shoe goo being used to hold down the servo are there and adverse effects if say i wanted to remove the servo from the chassis...like will it hurt the CF
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 06:14 AM   #12956
Tech Master
 
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow102 View Post
depends on the speed control
I was talking about the motor itself, I thin you can adjust with a SP speedo, is this right
Malc
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 06:18 AM   #12957
Tech Master
 
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THancock View Post
Loosen the 3 screws on the sensor lead end and put your finger nail into the notches in the blue timing ring. Push it anti-clockwise to advance the timing and clockwise to retard. Before you move it, mark the side of the can with the current position. Then move it all the way forward and mark again, then all the way back and mark. That will give you the standard position for this motor and the overall range you can play with. I've had 2 Novak motors and they came with different timing out of the packet.

But be warned advancing the timing will lead to increased heat and you risk over heating the motor if you don't adjust your FDR to suit the increased RPM.
Thats the thing about life, you learn sumit new every day
Malc
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 06:19 AM   #12958
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCoolCanFanMan View Post
I was talking about the motor itself, I thin you can adjust with a SP speedo, is this right
Malc
Yeah the SP has 9 timing adjustments all advanced
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 06:33 AM   #12959
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,992
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow102 View Post
As far as shoe goo being used to hold down the servo are there and adverse effects if say i wanted to remove the servo from the chassis...like will it hurt the CF
I have not seen it do anything to the CF that its been used on...

Clean up is even easier then servo tape - very clean, not annoying bits of tape left all over

Really don't even need to clean the area once you remove the goo - you can just put down another dab and glue another one down
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 07:44 AM   #12960
Tech Adept
 
Arushmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow102 View Post
depends on the speed control
Thanks everybody for yours opinion.
I have a gtb/10,5 ss sistem combo.
I will try with 5.2 fdr. if I still need more power I will try to retarding timing
Thanks
Arushmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:43 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net