R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-05-2008, 07:23 AM   #12541
Tech Elite
 
lightfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Thousand Oaks
Posts: 3,588
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
DRUM ROLL PLEASE...........................

Jet Racing part # CYL-08P has corrected my toe in problem. Now I know for sure that my plan B will work as well. My buddy will be meeting me at Norcal hobbies this weekend to give me the two parts I need to solve the toe in problem at a cheaper price. Although the Jet racing part was only $17 for alum rear hubs. Look for a full race report on Saturday night/Sunday from me.
This might be a dumb question...... but...... So what your saying is this part will even out the rear toe-in problem at 3 degrees each side ? Or will this part zero out the rear toe at 0 degrees each side ? Thanks
lightfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 07:41 AM   #12542
Tech Master
 
jag88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC MARKET View Post
Gear Diff in Cyclone
HPI 199x Year 39T pulley gear diff
use 2pcs 10mm washer , 1pc 4mm washer & 2pcs 46mm UNIVERSAL DRIVER SHAFT ( Pro 4 or TC3 )


I'm sorry but I don't understand what he is trying to say ?
Anybody ?
jag88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 08:08 AM   #12543
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aviaar View Post
Yeah, I know what you mean. I asked originally because HB offers an option part for about half as much as the kit costs that's called "brushless motor mount", and I wanted to see if it was absolutely necessary to spend that much in order to run a motor of the brushless variety. I take it if I want a car that can handle any motor I probably need to look beyond the S, say the TC that just came out? Are the competition level cars actually more capable or are they more about the bling?
If you are getting charged half the price of a cyclone s for a brushless motor mount you should probably be looking to buy it somewhere else.

Like i said:
Depends on brushless motor and cells.
6 cell, 3.5 and 4.5 you probably need it
5 cell you dont.

If you dont understand what that means you shouldnt be running motors of that type and you wont need the brushless motor mount.


If you are going to run anything faster than 27T stock you would be better off considering a full level kit.

It sounds like you are new to racing, if this is the case you shouldnt be considering running anything bigger than 27T brushed 13.5T for a year. There is a lot more to learn than strapping in the fastest motor to a chassis. The cyclone S is a cheaper car its tuning options are little more limited and some parts less efficient/durable.

You should probably read/enquire in the Cyclone S thread for Cyclone S queries as most people here have probably never seen one.

Tub Cyclone `S`
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 08:11 AM   #12544
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jag88 View Post
I'm sorry but I don't understand what he is trying to say ?
Anybody ?
Hmmm **SHRUG**

Although is it possible to get the search function on rcmarket.com.hk fixed. Dont know about you guys but it never works for me, and its impossible to find stuff
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 08:12 AM   #12545
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lightfoot View Post
This might be a dumb question...... but...... So what your saying is this part will even out the rear toe-in problem at 3 degrees each side ? Or will this part zero out the rear toe at 0 degrees each side ? Thanks
3 degrees either side, obviously depending on the pivot block actually being used....
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 09:33 AM   #12546
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 308
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
DRUM ROLL PLEASE...........................

Jet Racing part # CYL-08P has corrected my toe in problem. Now I know for sure that my plan B will work as well. My buddy will be meeting me at Norcal hobbies this weekend to give me the two parts I need to solve the toe in problem at a cheaper price. Although the Jet racing part was only $17 for alum rear hubs. Look for a full race report on Saturday night/Sunday from me.
This is very interesting... Only problem is i dont like aluminium parts at all.

Anybody knows another brand of composite hubs that are good fit for the cyclone?
I know that xray ones are good quality, but they use 3mm pivot (not big problem since i can dremel the arms to 3mm) and are slightly taller. They also seem to run the cvd in a lower position.
Itchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 09:47 AM   #12547
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Yeah i dont like the idea of aluminium hubs either. Ive had a lot of spare hubs for a while and i think mine are ok.

But now that means when you buy a knuckle you are effectively getting charged double cause the rear hub is useless. Although they should be sold seperately anyway as knuckles get replaced twice as fast as the rear hub. We should parcel a bunch of faulty hubs together and send them back to the factory for replacement as faulty parts.

I wonder what all the factory guys are doing to get around the problem.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 12:50 PM   #12548
Tech Regular
 
Andrew_Carter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hb Ninja Squad
Posts: 287
Send a message via MSN to Andrew_Carter
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
I wonder what all the factory guys are doing to get around the problem.

Not much at the moment,ive got plenty of old rear hubs that seem to be fine so lets hope they last a while! Im not into alu parts atall.

__________________
ToniSport | Yokomo | GavGraphix | MHP
Andrew_Carter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 01:18 PM   #12549
Tech Master
 
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738
Default

I have a WCE Clone, IT has 3 degree toe on the left and 2 on the rite, I changed the right hub carrier, and now I have around 2.8 on the right. Any one tried the Losi rear hubs, as there seems to be this prob with the hubs, could we not use a 0 degree hub on the left and a 1 degree hub on the right? maybe a stupid question but hey
Cheers Malc TCCFM
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 01:43 PM   #12550
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,950
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lightfoot View Post
This might be a dumb question...... but...... So what your saying is this part will even out the rear toe-in problem at 3 degrees each side ? Or will this part zero out the rear toe at 0 degrees each side ? Thanks
This will make you rear toe what ever it is suppose to be. If you have your 3 degree block on then you get 3 degrees per side. If you have your 2 degree block on the you get 2 degrees per side. All of the rear toe in problems are in the molded blocks. After I do my last test on Saturday I will post results and the two part numbers needed to do the modification.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 01:46 PM   #12551
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,950
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Itchy View Post
This is very interesting... Only problem is i dont like aluminium parts at all.

Anybody knows another brand of composite hubs that are good fit for the cyclone?
I know that xray ones are good quality, but they use 3mm pivot (not big problem since i can dremel the arms to 3mm) and are slightly taller. They also seem to run the cvd in a lower position.
wait until Saturday bro.......I got ya covered
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 01:51 PM   #12552
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,950
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=mangoman;4510830]
But now that means when you buy a knuckle you are effectively getting charged double cause the rear hub is useless. Although they should be sold seperately anyway as knuckles get replaced twice as fast as the rear hub. QUOTE]


I agree with you on that one. The Hotbodies car has been different from every other car I have been use to. I'd like to have 2 knuckles when I purchase one pack rather than one knuckle and one rear hub. I have no clue what I'm going to do with all the rear hubs I currently have though. I might just put them on ebay.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 02:05 PM   #12553
Tech Master
 
jag88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=STLNLST;4511399]
Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
But now that means when you buy a knuckle you are effectively getting charged double cause the rear hub is useless. Although they should be sold seperately anyway as knuckles get replaced twice as fast as the rear hub. QUOTE]


I agree with you on that one. The Hotbodies car has been different from every other car I have been use to. I'd like to have 2 knuckles when I purchase one pack rather than one knuckle and one rear hub. I have no clue what I'm going to do with all the rear hubs I currently have though. I might just put them on ebay.


Personally I think the knuckles are just as useless. Look at them the wrong way and they crack....
jag88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 04:21 PM   #12554
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 308
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
wait until Saturday bro.......I got ya covered
Thanks mate
Itchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 04:49 PM   #12555
Tech Elite
 
KHoff7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Use the xray knuckles they are stronger and allow you to dial OUT ackerman more than the hotbodies ones if needed.
__________________
Awesomatix USA / Middle River Hobbies / Sweep / Psycho Cells Racing
Karl Hoffmeister
KHoff7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:23 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net