R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-04-2008, 06:28 PM   #12526
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 199
Default

thanks for all of the replies

mangoman - are you saying that the stock kit isn't durable enough for the faster motors, or that I would need to change the gearing (spur, etc.)...or both?
aviaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 06:32 PM   #12527
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
received my precision order today so I will install the alum hubs tonight and check toe in and report back to you guys and then I will be checking out my other planB this Saturday and let everyone know if the toe is correct. I'd rather go with plan B because it's cheaper and everyone can do it.

Stay tuned...................
Update time...
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 06:40 PM   #12528
Tech Elite
 
Flying Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ringgold, GA
Posts: 4,452
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

I just bought a cyclone-s to run VTA with....where can I find hop ups and stuff for it? First on-road and first electric. A-main is where i normally get my off road stuff and they dont seem to have anything for it.
__________________
MONKEY BUSINESS RACING
Flinging poo at a track near you! Winning hearts and minds everywhere!
www.graphicmonkeydesigns.com
Brooksphotodesign.net
Flying Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 06:42 PM   #12529
Tech Fanatic
 
CSF0623's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 863
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woz View Post
does anyone know if the new Cyclone TC has the same problem with rear Toe?
Yes it does
__________________
Carl F.
ACTIVRC.COM P1BRAND
CSF0623 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 06:45 PM   #12530
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flying Monkey View Post
I just bought a cyclone-s to run VTA with....where can I find hop ups and stuff for it? First on-road and first electric. A-main is where i normally get my off road stuff and they dont seem to have anything for it.
here you go...just do a search for " Cyclone-S" and you'll get prety much everything you need


www.towerhobbies.com

www.stormerhobbies.com

www.speedtechrc.com
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 07:01 PM   #12531
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,135
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Gear Diff in Cyclone
HPI 199x Year 39T pulley gear diff
use 2pcs 10mm washer , 1pc 4mm washer & 2pcs 46mm UNIVERSAL DRIVER SHAFT ( Pro 4 or TC3 )
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 07:11 PM   #12532
Tech Elite
 
Flying Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ringgold, GA
Posts: 4,452
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yyhayyim View Post
here you go...just do a search for " Cyclone-S" and you'll get prety much everything you need


www.towerhobbies.com

www.stormerhobbies.com

www.speedtechrc.com
Thank you...I hate tower due to bad orders with them but ill look into the others.
__________________
MONKEY BUSINESS RACING
Flinging poo at a track near you! Winning hearts and minds everywhere!
www.graphicmonkeydesigns.com
Brooksphotodesign.net
Flying Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 07:56 PM   #12533
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aviaar View Post
thanks for all of the replies

mangoman - are you saying that the stock kit isn't durable enough for the faster motors, or that I would need to change the gearing (spur, etc.)...or both?
Depends on the motor, it would help if you were specific about what you are trying to run. Saying brushless motor could mean anything, it doesnt really help saying that....

If you buy an entry level kit dont expect it to be ideal for running a modified class motor.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 08:36 PM   #12534
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
Depends on the motor, it would help if you were specific about what you are trying to run. Saying brushless motor could mean anything, it doesnt really help saying that....

If you buy an entry level kit dont expect it to be ideal for running a modified class motor.
Yeah, I know what you mean. I asked originally because HB offers an option part for about half as much as the kit costs that's called "brushless motor mount", and I wanted to see if it was absolutely necessary to spend that much in order to run a motor of the brushless variety. I take it if I want a car that can handle any motor I probably need to look beyond the S, say the TC that just came out? Are the competition level cars actually more capable or are they more about the bling?

Last edited by aviaar; 06-04-2008 at 08:46 PM.
aviaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 10:25 PM   #12535
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,767
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

DRUM ROLL PLEASE...........................

Jet Racing part # CYL-08P has corrected my toe in problem. Now I know for sure that my plan B will work as well. My buddy will be meeting me at Norcal hobbies this weekend to give me the two parts I need to solve the toe in problem at a cheaper price. Although the Jet racing part was only $17 for alum rear hubs. Look for a full race report on Saturday night/Sunday from me.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 01:00 AM   #12536
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: www.moorebankraceway.com
Posts: 5,119
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
DRUM ROLL PLEASE...........................

Jet Racing part # CYL-08P has corrected my toe in problem. Now I know for sure that my plan B will work as well. My buddy will be meeting me at Norcal hobbies this weekend to give me the two parts I need to solve the toe in problem at a cheaper price. Although the Jet racing part was only $17 for alum rear hubs. Look for a full race report on Saturday night/Sunday from me.

does rc market stock this part or is it only available from precision rc?
TomB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 03:04 AM   #12537
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,135
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomB View Post
does rc market stock this part or is it only available from precision rc?
we sister co. is RC HOBBY CO. !
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 06:48 AM   #12538
Tech Elite
 
bigb11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: POUGHKEEPSIE,NY
Posts: 3,129
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to bigb11
Default

anyone know aood starting point for a stock motor, what FDR with 100 spur?
__________________
PHAT QUAD RACING, HPI/HOTBODIES, RATZAS, DARKSIDE MOTOR SPORTS, PARMA, Brown Engineering, ROBITRONICS, RC AMERICA, PANTHER, TEKIN, TEAM HOLY ROLLER, Rev Tech/Epic, RC AFRICA, HITEC www.browneng.org, DE wheels
bigb11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 07:05 AM   #12539
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,767
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomB View Post
does rc market stock this part or is it only available from precision rc?
I'm not sure. I plan on checking out RCMarkets website and seeing what they have.

The header card has a website for jet racing.

www.jethobby.com

Last edited by STLNLST; 06-05-2008 at 07:06 AM. Reason: added more info
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 07:46 AM   #12540
Tech Initiate
 
sk1pp3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 36
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to sk1pp3r
Default

I have a cyclone for sale in the sale trade forum if anyone is looking for one. Ready to run with radio and charger and TONS of extra parts.
Attached Thumbnails
Hot Bodies Cyclone-car-package.jpg   Hot Bodies Cyclone-closeup.jpg   Hot Bodies Cyclone-other.jpg  
sk1pp3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 08:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 08:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 08:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 03:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 06:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:20 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0