R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-01-2008, 10:36 PM   #12181
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,790
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
The TQ car is done. SCotty didn't help me with my wiring so if I don't TQ then it's his fault
If it doesnt blow up, then thats a improvement

I def cant come this weekend, going to the beach

Good luck man
__________________
R1 Wurks/Awesomatix USA/Roche USA/Protoform/Solaris/Mo Speed/Speedworld Raceway
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 03:20 AM   #12182
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

so my front outdrives and CVDs are getting beaten and flattened and wearing down, any easy way to prolong them or anything? Theres already a fair amount of play because of the gap that's formed because of the wear...

CVD blades did not work, they were too thick to fit correctly.
Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 06:06 AM   #12183
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,874
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by racenut123 View Post
You running the Reedy spec tire Saturday?

Hopefully I will have the new diff by then. Car has been really good in testing/practice.Hopefully it works @ Speedworld.

TQ? You realize who is actually coming this weekend right?
Yes I am running the spec tire.
Billy has the new diff in stock.
Do they realize who the hell I am????
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 06:09 AM   #12184
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,874
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackedOutREVO View Post
If it doesnt blow up, then thats a improvement

I def cant come this weekend, going to the beach

Good luck man
Blow up? I had one fry on me in how many years???? Oh that's right....you're still waiting for the Tekin
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 10:06 AM   #12185
Tech Elite
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,046
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syber Serulean View Post
so my front outdrives and CVDs are getting beaten and flattened and wearing down, any easy way to prolong them or anything? Theres already a fair amount of play because of the gap that's formed because of the wear...

CVD blades did not work, they were too thick to fit correctly.
The CVD's are being beaten? you mean there bending? The blade is used to save the outdrive/cup on the ball diff. However on the front of the car, the one-way/spool does not accept blades so you have to continuosly replace the outdrives/cups on the one-way/spool when they wear grooves or "pockets" in the cup where the pin on the CVD meets it.
SammyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 10:09 AM   #12186
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B18C Turbo View Post
The CVD's are being beaten? you mean there bending? The blade is used to save the outdrive/cup on the ball diff. However on the front of the car, the one-way/spool does not accept blades so you have to continuosly replace the outdrives/cups on the one-way/spool when they wear grooves or "pockets" in the cup where the pin on the CVD meets it.
damn. How much are the outdrives? That sucks...any way to circumvent that? Why cant they make rear outdrives (or that size) fit on the front so blades can be used? Lameeeee
Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 10:10 AM   #12187
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,508
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

$5-8 if your running the ver.3 spool
racenut123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 10:13 AM   #12188
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

i do beleive its the spool that comes packaged with the Hara Cyclone so i dont know what version it is...i dont have the car near me so i cant take pics but this is what i can muster up from what i put on my photobucket...


Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 10:31 AM   #12189
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,508
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Replace your Spool with the Ver3 spool.You have the ver.2 Those wear pretty fast.The Ver. 3 has replaceable outdrives for cheap.
racenut123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 10:31 AM   #12190
Tech Elite
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,046
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syber Serulean View Post
damn. How much are the outdrives? That sucks...any way to circumvent that? Why cant they make rear outdrives (or that size) fit on the front so blades can be used? Lameeeee
well if your using the spool that came with the Hara/Surikarn kit then your screwed. They used a soft aluminum for the cups on those kits, they were out pretty quick in mod racing.

If you stepped up and bought the Ver. 3 Spool, it has replaceble hardneded steel cups, for only $5-8/pair. I have a pack of these NIP for you if you need them asap, $8 shipped, lemme know.
SammyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 10:33 AM   #12191
Tech Master
 
Kenny L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Whats the matter they not purple
__________________
Team Tekin, Ko Propo America
Kenny L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 10:36 AM   #12192
Tech Elite
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,046
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny L View Post
Whats the matter they not purple
I know HB screwed up there pretty bad, but I think the reason they made the ver.3 spool in black was so it could go with the black cyclone and the surikarn cyclone without looking rediculous

I sold my ver.3 spool and got the 3racing peice because it came in purple and is exactly the same spool, except you have to drill the cups to fit the worlds 44mm CVD's.
SammyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 10:37 AM   #12193
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

guess im gonna have to buy the ver.3 spool @_@

anyways, got a new body done up by a friend for my cyclone...

its officially my "show body" but it may find its way into an RCGT class eventually...

The "rivets" are hand painted, everything else is all airbrush. The front light inserts and rear exhaust insert were also used....yeah boiiiii




Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 04:01 PM   #12194
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,790
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
Blow up? I had one fry on me in how many years???? Oh that's right....you're still waiting for the Tekin
You always give your cars to Scotty to wire, The TC5, and cyclone anyways

Did you swap the heat sinks? Or mill a new one?

LOL, possibly.... I havent bought one, but if the RS is good, I may...
__________________
R1 Wurks/Awesomatix USA/Roche USA/Protoform/Solaris/Mo Speed/Speedworld Raceway
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 04:58 PM   #12195
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,874
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackedOutREVO View Post
You always give your cars to Scotty to wire, The TC5, and cyclone anyways

Did you swap the heat sinks? Or mill a new one?

LOL, possibly.... I havent bought one, but if the RS is good, I may...
I switched out the heat sinks but I don't need a low one anymore since I don't have it under the top deck. Mo has his new Tekin so we'll see if it doesn't blow up when he hits the brakes....
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:54 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net