R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-17-2007, 03:23 AM   #10321
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,560
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kave
Default

Also just noticed your running stiffer springs in the rear. It appears as if your setup is so far off its just not going to work. Start completly over! You are way off track right now.

Good luck.
Kave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 06:00 AM   #10322
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

yeah whats with the super stiff springs on the car?
I havent raced on proper carpet with foams but i found that when i was racing the cyclone didnt seem to like stiff springs, although most people say to stiffen up the car.

1 degree rear block ive never seen anyone run one that small. Id stick with about 2.5

Also i personally find 4 degrees castor is standard on almost everycar, not sure who runs 6, but i guess that could be a carpet thing **SHRUG**

Also what are you running up front, ball-diff and what motor are you running?
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 07:16 AM   #10323
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,183
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skill View Post
Yes, the Core R/C pack will also fit.
thank you!!
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 05:35 PM   #10324
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

hi, may i knw how u guys make d left n right weight is even ?how u guys weight d left n right ?


thanks
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2007, 02:12 PM   #10325
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kschu View Post
hi, may i knw how u guys make d left n right weight is even ?how u guys weight d left n right ?


thanks
There are many ways to do that.... I have seen people drill a hole in the middle of two quarters (coins) and solder a nail in them and round off the tip. Your car has holes in the front and back just sit you car on the tip of the nails and that will work OK, I use digital cooking scales under all 4 tires.
I hope you under stand me and this helps you
Russ
Lazer Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2007, 02:31 PM   #10326
Tech Elite
 
ShaunMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Loading...
Posts: 3,365
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kschu View Post
hi, may i knw how u guys make d left n right weight is even ?how u guys weight d left n right ?


thanks
IRS Balance Buttons

The Cyclone already has 2 holes drilled on center. Just put these on and let the balancing fun begin!
Attached Thumbnails
Hot Bodies Cyclone-irs-balance-buttons.jpg  
ShaunMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 07:11 PM   #10327
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Some Gossip.....


Hara was testing 3 Clones this week at RCS; one virtually standard, one with a new chassis, one with a new upper deck and middle brace. All were running the new diff. No update on the release date of the new car... still due around the Worlds....

Sorry, no photo's... (I asked, but he wouldn't let me )

PS> Adachi Shinosuke, Neils Keonekoop, and Oscar were also there this week practicing with there Kyosho's .
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 08:07 PM   #10328
Tech Elite
 
RaceAce701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carbondale, Pa
Posts: 2,841
Trader Rating: 83 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JL View Post
Hi Guys I've been running the cyclone for a year now and have really struggled with a set up. I've tried a few and have made my own changes with no success. I got the Cyclone initially as I thought I'd gotten the best out my old faithful TC3 but since getting the Cyclone i think I've lost nearly 1/2 a second a lap!

I had the original chassis to begin with but moved to the BMI one a few months ago.

No matter what I do the car either just doesn't turn in or it just seems to almost stop mid corner (no traction compound as it's not allowed at my club). At least with this set up I seem to have Ok mid corner steering and it's easy to drive.

here's my set up:
Front:
- camber 2
- castor 6
- ride height 5
- droop 7
- toe angle 1
- toe block 2.5
- 2.5mm under camber link -
- inside cmber position 4
- no roll bars
- position 2 on shock tower
- 25lb spring (associated)
- 50wt oil
- 2 hole 1.1mm piston
- diff
- no roll bars all round
- GRP 42 Shore 59mm

rear:
- camber 1.5
- ride height 5.5
- droop 5
- toe block 1
- 2mm under camber lonk
- position 4 on shock tower
- 35lb spring (associated)
- 40wt oil
- GRp 37 Shore (59mm)

ackerman 3
Mazda Speed 6 shell

I've done everything I can to get more steering and the set up looks a bit extreme now. I hope someone can help as I've tried a few set ups including one's from Hara, Andy Moore and Marcos' without success.

Cheers,
Jason

you might want to try softer tires

alot of guys around here are running duble pink all around which is a 35 shore

the fronts you are running now are way to hard
__________________
The Skid Marks -- 24 Heures Du Jackson 9/22-23/2011
"Go for broke or go home broke"
"If it ant broke your not trying"
Alex "ACE" Kubilus
ACE design works
RaceAce701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 09:02 PM   #10329
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 1,222
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

..ahhhh RCS Thailand. I went there every Saturday for two years. Well, maybe now "every" Saturday. But yea....









JoeyE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 08:50 AM   #10330
JL
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 116
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaceAce701 View Post
you might want to try softer tires

alot of guys around here are running duble pink all around which is a 35 shore

the fronts you are running now are way to hard
Thanks RaceAce701. I'll try the softer front tyres.... this is actually the car I bought second hand from you a few months ago. Cheers
JL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 06:28 PM   #10331
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOSI123 View Post
that setup is like super crap man
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunMac View Post
IRS Balance Buttons

The Cyclone already has 2 holes drilled on center. Just put these on and let the balancing fun begin!
Quote:
There are many ways to do that.... I have seen people drill a hole in the middle of two quarters (coins) and solder a nail in them and round off the tip. Your car has holes in the front and back just sit you car on the tip of the nails and that will work OK, I use digital cooking scales under all 4 tires.
I hope you under stand me and this helps you
Russ
thanks for your tips...any1 here ever DIY d Balance Button ?? 4 digital scales is quite expensive for a budget driver like me....does tweak station works?
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 09:30 PM   #10332
Tech Master
 
pcar951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cow Town
Posts: 1,661
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kschu View Post
thanks for your tips...any1 here ever DIY d Balance Button ?? 4 digital scales is quite expensive for a budget driver like me....does tweak station works?
You know the plastic buttons that are often nailed to the bottom of wooden chair legs. you can buy them at most hardware stores, home depot ect. it's a round plastic disc with a nail sticking out of it. that's what i use for balancing, works great, costs almost nothing.
pcar951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 04:12 AM   #10333
Tech Adept
 
tomracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
4 digital scales is quite expensive for a budget driver
besides that 4scales will give you to much information not just weight balance.
the springs(preload) and swaybars will influence what you see on the scales.
you could be shifting weight wrongly when it was actually spring tweak.
therefore start with pins that will just show weight distribution on the car then go to scales at a later stage.
tomracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 07:26 AM   #10334
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomracing View Post
besides that 4scales will give you to much information not just weight balance.
the springs(preload) and swaybars will influence what you see on the scales.
you could be shifting weight wrongly when it was actually spring tweak.
therefore start with pins that will just show weight distribution on the car then go to scales at a later stage.
I do agree with you all the way. When using scales you have to tighten the springs down so your car is on the droop screws. I start with 3 points first, one in the middle ( point on the scale in the hole ) and set up wheels on the other two scales. I know it takes longer this way You can find new digital cooking scales for $20 and most of the time you only do this one time. When that is done you can set you sway bars and springs on all 4 scales. With LIPO's you have lots of wight to move so front to back is something you can look at. Most people have everything but the scales already and you can do all this with two scales.
Lazer Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 08:09 AM   #10335
Tech Master
 
Geetoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: HPI/HOTBODIES
Posts: 1,869
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Geetoo Send a message via Yahoo to Geetoo
Default



Atsushi Hara's kit during practise at Thailand.
__________________
www.hpiracing.com
www.hotbodiesonline.net
www.nosram.com
www.team-durango.com
www.actionhobbiesonline.net
Geetoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 08:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 08:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 08:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 03:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 06:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:33 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0