R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-03-2007, 11:01 PM   #8986
Tech Addict
 
turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Castlemaine, Victoria
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g_mabry View Post
Part# 70711 Spur gear hub
Would this one also work: http://rc-mushroom.com/product_info....ducts_id=10834
turtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 11:25 PM   #8987
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turtle View Post
I see you can buy a special motor mount for brushless motors. Do you need to use one these when using a brushless motor (eg Novak 13.5SS), or can you just use the original motor mounts?
That brushless mount is for the big brushless motors like the 3.5 and 4.5s which need a really really small rollout, the brushless mount puts the centre shaft higher giving people more clearance to run a larger spur.

In the case of the 13.5 youll probably find you are using really large rollouts so you wont even come close to needing the mount.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 11:30 PM   #8988
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

With the 110T spur it pokes out ever so slightly under the bottom of the chassis. Ive run an 82T 48pitch spur gear in my car which is the same and i didnt have any problems although i had to swap to the carbon fibre middle mount as the spur was rubbing on the aluminium middle motor mount (The maximum spur gear for 48 pitch is meant to be 81T)
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 11:41 PM   #8989
Tech Elite
 
F. Alonso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,141
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to F. Alonso Send a message via Yahoo to F. Alonso
Default

You can still use the normal mounts. Really... the only motors you would need to use the Brushless Motor Mount with would be the 3.5 Motors. Maybe, just maybe you may want to use it with the LRP 4.0 but i've yet to test those yet so can't 100% confirm this.
__________________
Simon Feigl
RCRacer.com.au - Dedicated Australian Forum and Website

XRAY | HPI | Hotbodies | Hobbies Australia | LRP Electronics | Futaba
F. Alonso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 11:49 PM   #8990
Tech Addict
 
turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Castlemaine, Victoria
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
That brushless mount is for the big brushless motors like the 3.5 and 4.5s which need a really really small rollout, the brushless mount puts the centre shaft higher giving people more clearance to run a larger spur.

In the case of the 13.5 youll probably find you are using really large rollouts so you wont even come close to needing the mount.
Thanks for that.
turtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 07:36 AM   #8991
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 213
Default

I'm sorry for bugging you guys repeatedly about the foams, but how do you fit them on?
Yub, yub, cmdr! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 01:57 PM   #8992
Tech Elite
 
ShaunMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Loading...
Posts: 3,365
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott B View Post
I believe my LHS had some in stock, both the kits and single CVD bones. Speedworld Raceway in California (916) 783-8864 ask for Billy. They will be closed tomorrow but will be open Thursday, 12-7 I believe are there hours.
Thanks, I will give them a call.
ShaunMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 02:29 PM   #8993
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,653
Trader Rating: 193 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yub, yub, cmdr! View Post
I'm sorry for bugging you guys repeatedly about the foams, but how do you fit them on?
Use the wheel shims you can get thru HPI. I think they come in 1mm and.5mm. Use both sizes. Also what brand of foams are you using?

You will not want full steering throw. If you use the outer hole on the arm your foams will hit if you do not use the wheel spacers and limit your end points.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 03:07 PM   #8994
Tech Regular
 
barber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: babados
Posts: 269
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default 3 racing products

any feedback on 3racing alu diff would it work in place of the hotbodies one.
__________________
BARBER SHOP RACING.
Hara Cyclone Edition,MAMBA 7700KV,Spectrum,
Mazdaspeed 6 Painted By McGoo Creations,
JR Z1,Orion 4300Mah,Ib 4200Mah,Ice,Rp,Trinity.
Race Prepaired & Driven By TEAM DRIVER (BARBER)
barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 03:31 PM   #8995
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,653
Trader Rating: 193 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barber View Post
any feedback on 3racing alu diff would it work in place of the hotbodies one.
I run one at it is great. I have not had any problems with it. Just keep an eye on the blades. But this is how it is on a design like this.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 03:33 PM   #8996
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Anybody?

Quote:
Originally Posted by porschejim911 View Post
I bought a diff kit from Tower so that I would have a spare.
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXNZG1&P=7

It came with the 39 tooth pulley part 61050. I noticed that the teeth themselves are much thinner than the pulleys on the car now. Are there different ones? The manual lists the pulley as part A495. Little confused here.

Also do you adjust the diff like you would an xray? When the diff is tighter the head of the screw is down too deep to adjust it that way...
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone
Xray T2 007
KO Helios
Duratrax ICE
porschejim911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 03:46 PM   #8997
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,181
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by porschejim911 View Post
Anybody?
they are the same you shouldnt have any problems using that pulley
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 03:49 PM   #8998
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Thanks. Any idea why it's so much thinner than the pulleys on my car? It's probably a good 1/8" thinner.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
they are the same you shouldnt have any problems using that pulley
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone
Xray T2 007
KO Helios
Duratrax ICE
porschejim911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 03:52 PM   #8999
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,181
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by porschejim911 View Post
Thanks. Any idea why it's so much thinner than the pulleys on my car? It's probably a good 1/8" thinner.
it should be fine thats what i had on my cyclones and they work just fine!!
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 04:30 PM   #9000
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,653
Trader Rating: 193 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by porschejim911 View Post
Thanks. Any idea why it's so much thinner than the pulleys on my car? It's probably a good 1/8" thinner.
That would just be the new pulley. The wide pulley comes from the RS4 days.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 08:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 08:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 08:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 03:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 06:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:07 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0