R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-17-2007, 05:24 PM   #8791
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclone Charlie View Post
Stormer has 6 or more of them in stock. $7.95 each
thanks!
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 05:48 PM   #8792
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,610
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone tryed the 3racing centre pulley with the 17t or 18t pulley?

is there any problem with front or rear belt tension being to tight?


reason is, I run 540 on a massive track and will be needing to lower the internal drive ratio of this car, i also need to stick with 48p gears as to save money on pinions.

i need to achieve FDR's very very low...

If i buy this car i will be purchasing that pulley with it.

(its a hard choice between the high end cars these days!!!)


LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 07:03 PM   #8793
Tech Addict
 
ICEMAN's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 730
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Losi123 - the Pulleys work great and I have had not problem running them in 16, 17 or 18 set-ups, it does cahnge your final drive to a much better level. Belt tension is not an issue.

But the 3racing pulleys will not make the Final drive in the 3.6's , you divide the center pulley, by the diff pulleys to get your F-drive

Stock is 39/6=2.4375
39/17=2.294
39/18=2.166
__________________
Blizzard Concepts / Team Losi / Team ProMatch / Team MuchMore / The SPEED Shop / Ko Propo USA / AVID RC / BigDog Graphics / Nitro R/C Chop Shop /

The ONE that DIES with the Most Toys WINS!!!
ICEMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 09:07 PM   #8794
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,610
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

thanks for that iceman,

1 more? are the diffs accessable easily (how many screws to access them)
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 09:35 PM   #8795
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 61
Default

What is a good site to buy cylcone parts from, besides tower?
Myhre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 09:52 PM   #8796
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,790
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackedOutREVO View Post
guys how do u keep those blades that go on the end of the rear drive shaft pins from coming off? is there a fix besides dont hit crap?
help?
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 09:56 PM   #8797
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 61
Default

I saw that Tower has two types of spools for the Cyclone

This one http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXNZF3&P=Z

And this one http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXNZD3&P=Z

Is one better than the other? Why make the same thing two different ways unless they offered benifits the other doesnt?
Myhre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 10:43 PM   #8798
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,790
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

those bolth are old.. theres a 3 peice one now that comes with the moore speed, i cant find it on tower.. and my manual is still all packed in my case from the race.. so by tomarow if u havent gotten help i will go get the part #
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 10:50 PM   #8799
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 61
Default

Okay so here is the situation that I am in. I bought a used Cyclone Black without knowing anything about it. Apparently somewhere along the line most of the drivetrain parts where changed out with lower end parts. It doesn't have the center or front oneway. The center shaft has the plastic pullys and spur gear holder. The front of the car just had a differential in it. I really like the car and I want to get it going but I need some help. Since I'm starting from scratch as far as the drivetrain goes I want to get it right. What is the purpose of the oneway center pully when you've got a one way pully on the front diff? What parts do I need to upgrade the drivetrain. Do I need the center shaft with two pully's and a spool in the front, or should I go with the center shaft and one pully and one, oneway pully and a oneway in the front diff? If I go with a spool, which one should I get, the 3racing one, the HB 2piece, or HB one piece?
Myhre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 11:07 PM   #8800
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,790
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myhre View Post
Okay so here is the situation that I am in. I bought a used Cyclone Black without knowing anything about it. Apparently somewhere along the line most of the drivetrain parts where changed out with lower end parts. It doesn't have the center or front oneway. The center shaft has the plastic pullys and spur gear holder. The front of the car just had a differential in it. I really like the car and I want to get it going but I need some help. Since I'm starting from scratch as far as the drivetrain goes I want to get it right. What is the purpose of the oneway center pully when you've got a one way pully on the front diff? What parts do I need to upgrade the drivetrain. Do I need the center shaft with two pully's and a spool in the front, or should I go with the center shaft and one pully and one, oneway pully and a oneway in the front diff? If I go with a spool, which one should I get, the 3racing one, the HB 2piece, or HB one piece?

u have to be very smooth to drive a oneway for the most part... a spool is alot more prdicatble and simple to drive, so u figure tht out on ur part

and that sounds like cyclone s parts
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 11:25 PM   #8801
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Are you sure its not a cyclone S that was upgraded?
Are all the pivot blocks and bulkheads plastic or black aluminium?

Anyway depending on the class you will probably want a one-way or spool in the front. Some people use centre one-ways but apparently it gets gritty easily and then the handling of the car becomes inconsistent, so you have to pull the centre one-way out on a regular basis and clean it. Im not sure about the text book advantages of running a centre oneway and front oneway but i think its meant to make the drivetrain more efficient when they are used together.

If you are running 540 or stock you would probably be better off with a one-way (although i prefer a spool in stock) while in faster classes like 19T or mod a spool is more ideal.

If you use either a one-way or spool then upgrade the centre-pulley to the front belt. It will strip quite easily in small crashes. It doesnt strip with a ball diff cause when you crash the ball diff gives a little in crashes reducing the stresses transmitted through the drive train back to the centre pulley.

Now the tricky thing is that you will have to upgrade the centre layshaft. The new centre layshaft seems to have both holes so that you can use pins like on the plastic parts or a flat notch needed to fix the metal parts which grub screws, so you need to work out of you have that layshaft or not. I havent tried using the holes for the plastic parts but im pretty confident that is what they are for.

Ive got a few spools and i prefer the v3 spool like on the moorespeed cyclone..
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 11:46 PM   #8802
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 61
Default

All the bulkheads are aluminum. My thought is that he had a friend with a S version and probably sold, or gave the drivetrain parts to him before getting rid of it. I didn't know what to look for when I picked it up from him off of ebay so I didn't realize it was missing almost $200 worth of parts.

So I want to run a spool, I'm just not sure where to get it from

Where is the best place to get the updated parts from?
Myhre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 01:14 AM   #8803
Tech Master
 
xray racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 1,569
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Hey Guys,

Does anyone have some set-up tips, or A set-up for reasonably LOW grip CARPET???... i know thats strange for carpet, but the stuff we run on at this track isnt Ozite or racing carpet, generally even when dialed the cars are still on the verge of being taily.

Or do any of you aussie guys have any tips for a cyclone at the ACT Indoor track???

I ran an xray there last year and it was dialed, but i've picked up a cyclone to try this year also, just need a starting point.

Cheers,

Robbie
__________________
Robbie Lloyd

Yokomo * HobbyWing * Sanwa
xray racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 05:00 AM   #8804
Tech Addict
 
ICEMAN's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 730
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Losi123- the same as a T2 , only 4 screws and the bulk head lifts off.

Xray racer- start with the factory set up off the website. www.hotbodiesonline.net or if you ran a T2 on your carpet, put that set-up on the cyclone, they like the same set-ups almost, i ran Xray's for the past 5 years. not much difference.
__________________
Blizzard Concepts / Team Losi / Team ProMatch / Team MuchMore / The SPEED Shop / Ko Propo USA / AVID RC / BigDog Graphics / Nitro R/C Chop Shop /

The ONE that DIES with the Most Toys WINS!!!

Last edited by ICEMAN; 06-18-2007 at 07:40 AM.
ICEMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 05:24 AM   #8805
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,620
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xray racer View Post
Hey Guys,

Does anyone have some set-up tips, or A set-up for reasonably LOW grip CARPET???... i know thats strange for carpet, but the stuff we run on at this track isnt Ozite or racing carpet, generally even when dialed the cars are still on the verge of being taily.

Or do any of you aussie guys have any tips for a cyclone at the ACT Indoor track???

I ran an xray there last year and it was dialed, but i've picked up a cyclone to try this year also, just need a starting point.

Cheers,

Robbie

What class you running in matey? Theres a few of us in ACt who run the clones at Natex. Pm me and i miht be able to help ya out.
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:23 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net