R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-11-2007, 06:41 PM   #8716
Tech Apprentice
 
g_mabry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 69
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barber View Post
where would i get the hd steel uni's from,also the bumper.

thanks
Tower has the HD front shafts. As far as the bumper, your best bet would be to go directly through Pdub.
g_mabry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 06:44 PM   #8717
Tech Apprentice
 
g_mabry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 69
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by porschejim911 View Post
What kind do you use? I usually get PRS but the smallest I have seen is 88.
www.precisionracingsystems.com/products/11

Thanks to Marcos a few days ago. As low as 76T
g_mabry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 06:56 PM   #8718
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 26,154
Trader Rating: 166 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g_mabry View Post
www.precisionracingsystems.com/products/11

Thanks to Marcos a few days ago. As low as 76T
thats the link!!

thanks
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 08:03 PM   #8719
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g_mabry View Post
Tower has the HD front shafts.
Most people will be looking for the v2 HD Steel Universals which tower does not seem to have in stock
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 08:09 PM   #8720
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

i got my steel universals from 3 racing. precisionrc.com has them for 13 bucks
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 09:32 PM   #8721
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fjm9898 View Post
i got my steel universals from 3 racing. precisionrc.com has them for 13 bucks
The 3 racing uni's are ok, but i prefer the HD Steel ones on the front as they are a lot stronger. Also i think the 3 racing uni's are v1 (but i use them on the rear of one of my cars anyway).
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 06:42 AM   #8722
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 213
Default

Sorry, what's the difference again?
Yub, yub, cmdr! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 09:39 AM   #8723
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fjm9898 View Post
hey my hara ed. has 3 places for the e-clips on the shock shaft so you can either have the piston in a lower our higher position. whats the difference. the stock manual doesnt have any information.

i also have a bunch of pro4 pistons. in a andy moore setup i have he says he has 3 holes is that the small 3 hole piston that is in the pro4 complete set? i would think the #1 with the two big holes would be better. (trying to go off a xray setup for our local track and they have all 4 holes open on their piston so trying to get as close to that with our pistons.)
anyone have any input on that
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 03:15 PM   #8724
Tech Apprentice
 
g_mabry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 69
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
Most people will be looking for the v2 HD Steel Universals which tower does not seem to have in stock
OK, now I'm confused. Didn't take much. What's different with the two versions? I got a set of 61043 shafts and a version 3 spool. Have not installed yet, but fit perfectly. Does HB have a compatability chart anywhere as to what ver. this goes with what ver. that.
g_mabry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 10:28 PM   #8725
Tech Adept
 
Cyclone Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kent Wa
Posts: 106
Default

The 61043 will work just fine in the v2 cups, and 61044 will work on the rear diff. I bent one of my front aluminum bones in the front first time out. If you measure them with a pair of calipers you'll see that they are identical. I was confused too!
Cyclone Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 06:28 AM   #8726
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 213
Default

I'm a little worried about the drivetrain. I am new to belt drive anything. I built it up and shimmed and put the eccentric bearing hubs on the diffs the way the instructions said to.

But when I set the car on the ground and give it a light push, it stops fairly quickly.

How can I make it freer?
Yub, yub, cmdr! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 06:34 AM   #8727
Tech Adept
 
Cyclone Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kent Wa
Posts: 106
Default

Drive it and don't worry about it. If you followed the manual and assembled it the way it said to, your fine.

Unless of course, you're going to push the car around the track!
Cyclone Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 06:41 AM   #8728
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

The drivetrain will free up after a bit of running, just needs a bit of time for everything to get bedded in properly.
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 07:12 AM   #8729
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

i woul still check fir binding . make sure everything is free. as long as u put the shims in right u should be fine, but there might be something rubbing or a bearing that is shot that could cause this. take the motor out and rotate the tires to find any binding that may be going on then locate it and fit the problem.
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 07:40 AM   #8730
Tech Apprentice
 
Matt Pocknell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 88
Default

I've had my cyclone for a while now and decided to change belts cause mine were lookind a bit worn.

When I put new ones in, they were so tight that they were putting too much strain on the drivetrain and made it pretty loud. Even after quite a few runs they were still very tight. In the end I had to put the old ones back in.

Has anyone else had this happen? Is there variation between belts?

Thanks
Matt Pocknell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:15 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net