R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-02-2007, 10:27 AM   #8596
Tech Regular
 
Elboogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by protc3 View Post
i do not offer the silver colored carbon fiber anymore.the chassis is a satin finish black carbon fiber.this is the same look as the stock weave but it has a satin finish.the material i use is more rigid than the stock carbon fiber also.the benefit of my kit is that it gives you added wheelbase adjustment,it is alot more rigid than the stock chassis for high bite carpet,it helps prevent tweak issues due to the more rigid material and increased bracing,and it comes with all the little bling features that i do on all my kits.the features are beveled battery slots and edges,pocketing under servo and bulkheads and also a pocket on the bottom of the chassis under the batteries for your battery tape to fit into without protruding past the chassis surface.
I actually called BMI yesterday and they told me to find you in the forum so thanks for posting. I will probably pick one up next week. If you have any setups for carpet with the BMI chassis, please let me know.
__________________
CYCLONE WCE
Jaco / Airtronics
Much More / Team Orion

"Drive Hard or Go Home"
Elboogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 10:34 AM   #8597
Tech Regular
 
Elboogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 329
Default

Here is a question for anyone that runs 28mm Jacos for carpet.

When I first got my kit i set it up for carpet because that is all that we have right now in Vegas.

On the front suspension arm I place my shock in the second hole form the outside. On the back suspension arms, I place the shock in the middle hole and this is from Hara's setup sheet for the 05 IIC.

when I placed my tires on the car, because of the shock positions on the suspension arms, my back tires rub the bottom of the shock and on the front, the tires rub the shocks when turning.

To remedy this, i have placed 2mm wheel hexes inside of the tires and it gives me clearance.

Where my concern comes in is that my car measures exactly 190mm without any budging room at all and I know that they measure your car at the IIC and I am worried about not making the legal 190mm measurment that they do at tech.

I do plan on purchasing the 26mm 2 stage tires from Jaco to combat this issue but I am buying them also because of so many drivers liking the tire.

I was wondering if anyone else ran into this and what you did to correct it?
__________________
CYCLONE WCE
Jaco / Airtronics
Much More / Team Orion

"Drive Hard or Go Home"
Elboogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 10:56 AM   #8598
Tech Regular
 
Elboogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fjm9898 View Post
any one ever break a center oneway? i just did. is the 3 racing one any good? its half the price of the factory one.

also anyone got a good setup for high grip asphalt? let me know i could use it.

right now i am an struggling with steering. i have gone to one way center and front. i think i am going to try and lay the front shocks down a peg and put the front pivot block to the same as the rear. and see if that help.. they also both have the 1.4 sway bar on them. springs are gold front silver in the rear. i know there is plenty more i can play with. it was my first time ever driving the car and first tie ever at that track... i am good second off the pace.

I have never broken a center one way but then again I don't run it too much on our carpet track here in Vegas. I know that the pivot blocks that I have seen guys use on asphalt is the 2.5 in the front and the 3.0 in the back.

Remember, the higher the pivot block number in the front, the more stering that you have.

I run a 0 degree because I don't need the steering on carpet.

In the back of the car, the higher the pivot block number, the more rear traction that you will get, and less traction the lower the number.

I run a 3.0 on the back of my car because I want the back end planted on carpet.

One of the best tuning guides on the market comes from Xray. I included a link to their website, on the left side look for the tuning guide (it is in PDF format) and look on page 30 and 31 of the guide and it will give you great information on shock positions and what effect they have on your car. Hope it helps: Here is the link: Scroll down to the t2 setup guide and download it.

http://www.teamxray.com/teamxray/pro...07%20US%20Foam

As far as 3racing products go, I use their steering blocks, C hubs, and rear uprights and have never had a problem. Besides it was easier to pay a total of $39.00 for all three components than to buy a single aluminum part from HPI for the same price.
__________________
CYCLONE WCE
Jaco / Airtronics
Much More / Team Orion

"Drive Hard or Go Home"
Elboogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 12:11 PM   #8599
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 26,641
Trader Rating: 179 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elboogie View Post
I actually called BMI yesterday and they told me to find you in the forum so thanks for posting. I will probably pick one up next week. If you have any setups for carpet with the BMI chassis, please let me know.

here is my old setup with the BMI chassis ( thanks to protc3)
the droop is set over ride height!
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 03:30 PM   #8600
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone tried the Moore-Speed Bodies???
Any opinions?

http://www.hbeurope.com/feature.php?partNo=66811&lang=en]Hotbodies Moore-Speed
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 06:45 PM   #8601
Tech Regular
 
Elboogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
here is my old setup with the BMI chassis ( thanks to protc3)
the droop is set over ride height!

thanks Marcos, i saved it and will try it when I get my chassis
__________________
CYCLONE WCE
Jaco / Airtronics
Much More / Team Orion

"Drive Hard or Go Home"
Elboogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 06:47 PM   #8602
Tech Regular
 
Elboogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by protc3 View Post
i do not offer the silver colored carbon fiber anymore.the chassis is a satin finish black carbon fiber.this is the same look as the stock weave but it has a satin finish.the material i use is more rigid than the stock carbon fiber also.the benefit of my kit is that it gives you added wheelbase adjustment,it is alot more rigid than the stock chassis for high bite carpet,it helps prevent tweak issues due to the more rigid material and increased bracing,and it comes with all the little bling features that i do on all my kits.the features are beveled battery slots and edges,pocketing under servo and bulkheads and also a pocket on the bottom of the chassis under the batteries for your battery tape to fit into without protruding past the chassis surface.

Protc3, do you know whether the coolcan fan will still attach to the upper bulkhead of your chassis as it does with the stock. I am going to buy one but no need if it won't fit on the car. thanks
__________________
CYCLONE WCE
Jaco / Airtronics
Much More / Team Orion

"Drive Hard or Go Home"
Elboogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 05:13 AM   #8603
Tech Lord
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,829
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

i dont see why it wouldnt if it attaches to the stock chassis.can you post a pic of it so i can be sure?
__________________
Jason Breiner
BMI Racing
Team Associated
J Concepts
protc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 05:24 AM   #8604
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, I would have thought it would fit aswell because it uses the existing mounting points and there not changed when you go to a BMI chassis....

Heres an old photo of mine on the standard Clone...

2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 05:43 AM   #8605
Tech Master
 
xray racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 1,569
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Protc3,

Jason did you get my pm regarding cyclone chassis etc?

Let me know,

Cheers,

Robbie
__________________
Robbie Lloyd

Yokomo * HobbyWing * Sanwa
xray racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 06:23 AM   #8606
Tech Lord
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,829
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2-Bad View Post
Yeah, I would have thought it would fit aswell because it uses the existing mounting points and there not changed when you go to a BMI chassis....

Heres an old photo of mine on the standard Clone...


it will fit.
__________________
Jason Breiner
BMI Racing
Team Associated
J Concepts
protc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 06:28 AM   #8607
Tech Lord
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,829
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

PM at ya robbie
__________________
Jason Breiner
BMI Racing
Team Associated
J Concepts
protc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 07:24 PM   #8608
Tech Apprentice
 
g_mabry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 69
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

For those of you running novak gtb, where are you mounting your receiver. I'm having trouble deciding where to mount it. Not much room to work with. Can it be mounted on top of steering servo, or would that cause any kind of problem?
g_mabry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 08:27 PM   #8609
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,790
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

why does my cobalt stock motor run so dang hot?

i cant keep this dumb thing cool, not with fans, not with gearing... i mean, whats it take?

and then to top that crap, my ib's dont take in over 4000 mah!!!! im getting mad at this junk, my charger is set all right, i have tried everything.... they are new, 7 runs on each of them... is that good to where they are suposed to take full mah or?
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 08:44 PM   #8610
Tech Elite
 
F. Alonso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,141
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to F. Alonso Send a message via Yahoo to F. Alonso
Default

My batteries would be classed as ancient in Intellect terms. I have got LRP VTEC 4200 Factory Team Big Mama cells and they are as old as November last year! They still work a treat, and I don't look after them THAT well (a break from December to March isn't too crash hot for cells usually - I was playing with LiPO power!).
__________________
Simon Feigl
RCRacer.com.au - Dedicated Australian Forum and Website

XRAY | HPI | Hotbodies | Hobbies Australia | LRP Electronics | Futaba
F. Alonso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:52 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net