R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2007, 08:51 PM   #8491
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,695
Trader Rating: 194 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yub, yub, cmdr!
On my black version Cyclone, the diff pulley itself wobbles quite a bit no matter how much I tighten the differential itself. I mean, it's not slipping at all, the diff functions perfectly. But the pulley wobbles a lot.

How can I fix this?
This is normal for any ball diff. Just run the car.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 07:45 AM   #8492
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Tightening a diff wont stop the wobble if you tighten the diff to the point where the outdrives hit the pulley (which shouldnt be possible) then you will effectively be creating a spool.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 08:00 AM   #8493
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,582
Trader Rating: 150 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yub, yub, cmdr!
On my black version Cyclone, the diff pulley itself wobbles quite a bit no matter how much I tighten the differential itself. I mean, it's not slipping at all, the diff functions perfectly. But the pulley wobbles a lot.

How can I fix this?
dont worry about it as long as the diff is not slipping its not going to hurt anything, mine has always been like that
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 07:24 PM   #8494
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 109
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

hey guys i'm running a novak GTB 5.5r with my cyclone, what spur and pinion would be optimal? I'll be running on asphalt thanks!
dorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 06:09 AM   #8495
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 23
Default

Hello,

Just for fun, I made an "RDX-isation" on my Cyclone.



More infos on www.overrc.com. This site is in french, but you can use a translation tool.

Best regards,
Georges.
Georges is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 11:38 AM   #8496
Tech Master
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Guo Chean Send a message via Yahoo to Guo Chean
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Georges
Hello,

Just for fun, I made an "RDX-isation" on my Cyclone.



More infos on www.overrc.com. This site is in french, but you can use a translation tool.

Best regards,
Georges.
cool did you feel any different?
__________________
[FONT=Comic Sans MS][SIZE=3][COLOR=red]|HotBodies|HPI|Full Throttle Motorsports|KO PROPO|DSM|Nosram|JACO|MUCH MORE RACING|Schacht Design Works|[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]
Guo Chean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 02:33 AM   #8497
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guo Chean
cool did you feel any different?
Hello,

The feeling on the track is not the same, because the weight distribution and the polar inertie (not sure of this term in english) are different. My conclusions are more directivity and less traction. I decide to not use this configuration in competition for the moment (asphalt and carpet with rubber tires).

Georges-
Georges is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 09:04 AM   #8498
Tech Adept
 
Mitropoulos Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Athens,Greece
Posts: 125
Default

Hi all,

What's your opinion on this new motor mount set which allows the use of bigger spur gear?

http://www.precisionrc.com/nv/car/pr...code=news_HBBL

It raises the center shaft and so the spur gear by 2mm.
In the package there are two 2mm washers to put between the upper part of the rear bulkheads and middle chassis.
Has anyone used it?
__________________
Dimitris Mitropoulos

rcdim.blogspot.gr
www.the-painter.gr
Mitropoulos Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 07:38 PM   #8499
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

hey i am looking into getting a cyclone and i have a few questions

what are the upgrades the new purple and blue cars have of the original black car.

also i currently have a pro4. what parts can i bring over that will fit on the cyclone.
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 08:39 PM   #8500
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,582
Trader Rating: 150 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitropoulos Jim
Hi all,

What's your opinion on this new motor mount set which allows the use of bigger spur gear?

http://www.precisionrc.com/nv/car/pr...code=news_HBBL

It raises the center shaft and so the spur gear by 2mm.
In the package there are two 2mm washers to put between the upper part of the rear bulkheads and middle chassis.
Has anyone used it?
you dont really need it you can run a 110 spur on the cyclone with out any mods and can run up to a 13.0 FDR range
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 01:41 PM   #8501
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

anyone help me out?
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 01:48 PM   #8502
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,582
Trader Rating: 150 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fjm9898
hey i am looking into getting a cyclone and i have a few questions

what are the upgrades the new purple and blue cars have of the original black car.

also i currently have a pro4. what parts can i bring over that will fit on the cyclone.
there is not that much difference between the black versions and the blue and purple version, also with the pro4 you can use all the suspencion parts
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 02:03 PM   #8503
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

ok so really it was just a color difference... just wanted to make sure before i got get a older one that i am not already in the hole performance wise

is there an option chassis for asphalt or is the car ready out fo the box to hit the pavement.

also do the dog bones from the pro4 fit the cyclone... i have a pair of shinny cvds i would like to use on the cyclone cuz i herd the cyclone stock ones will bent with a oneway in there.

and i take it the rear hubs are the same. so i can transfer over my aluminum stuff.
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff

Last edited by fjm9898; 05-27-2007 at 02:22 PM.
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 02:24 PM   #8504
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,582
Trader Rating: 150 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fjm9898
ok so really it was just a color difference... just wanted to make sure before i got get a older one that i am not already in the hole performance wise

is there an option chassis for asphalt or is the car ready out fo the box to hit the pavement.

also do the dog bones from the pro4 fit the cyclone... i have a pair of shinny cvds i would like to use on the cyclone cuz i herd the cyclone stock ones will bent with a oneway in there.

and i take it the rear hubs are the same. so i can transfer over my aluminum stuff.
they are basically the same not that much difference, the kit is ready to go for asphalt i have a great set up if you need it ,for carpet i recommend the BMI kit!!! its a must if you are running carpet/foam
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 02:24 PM   #8505
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,582
Trader Rating: 150 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fjm9898
ok so really it was just a color difference... just wanted to make sure before i got get a older one that i am not already in the hole performance wise

is there an option chassis for asphalt or is the car ready out fo the box to hit the pavement.

also do the dog bones from the pro4 fit the cyclone... i have a pair of shinny cvds i would like to use on the cyclone cuz i herd the cyclone stock ones will bent with a oneway in there.

and i take it the rear hubs are the same. so i can transfer over my aluminum stuff.
dogbones will not fit the cyclone but the the rear hubs will
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:56 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net