R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-05-2007, 06:32 PM   #8266
Tech Elite
 
J.Gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: connecticut
Posts: 2,409
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Ok guys I am really confused with how people are listing drop on setup sheets.

I was checking out the setup sheet from andy moore from the worlds. It list ride as 5mm and droop as 5.5mm.

Now when it is listed as 5.5mm for droop does that mean 5.5 mm of uptravel. So when you lift the rear of the car and slide a ride height gauge under the chassis it should read 10.5 mm (5mm ride height plus 5.5mm droop)

or

Is it 5.5 on a standard droop gauge.

or

is .5 mm above ride height of 5mm

I am a little confused as I am primarily a foam carpet guy and you never run more of 1mm or so of uptravel/droop above ride height.

Thanks
J.Gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2007, 09:42 PM   #8267
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by senna555
Ok guys I am really confused with how people are listing drop on setup sheets.
It should be 5.5 on a standard droop gauge.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 12:44 AM   #8268
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
Default

We use the HPI droop gauge to measure droop. The droop on his worlds setup sheet is done this way.
__________________
Team Durango, ORCA, MuchMore, Sanwa, Protoform, Tonisport, MR33, Roche, Custom Blitz Bodyshells
Elliott Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 02:08 PM   #8269
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 213
Default

Is there a battery strap or any way to mount a pack without using tape?

Or a way to mount stick packs?

Thanks!
David
Yub, yub, cmdr! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 02:50 PM   #8270
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Dave,
I've heard you can fit an X-ray battery strap with some modifications from one of there "annually released" cars (don't know which one), but I've never attempted this and don't know the procedure. Also these might be useful as well if you are contemplating this task.


Are you having trouble with tape? or just don't like it??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yub, yub, cmdr!
Is there a battery strap or any way to mount a pack without using tape?

Or a way to mount stick packs?

Thanks!
David
__________________
Yokomo * G Force * Sanwa * SMC * ProSpec
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 03:32 PM   #8271
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 213
Default

Ha, no, I do not own the vehicle yet!

Well, I will soon. But I was interested in having a strap for the convenience.

By the way, the WCE and the black one do not differ in DESIGN except in color/shock towers, right?
Yub, yub, cmdr! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 04:36 PM   #8272
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 213
Default

Should be here by this Friday.

Hm, I wonder why HB doesn't make a strap?
Yub, yub, cmdr! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 04:43 PM   #8273
Tech Elite
 
ShaunMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Loading...
Posts: 3,390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by senna555
Is it 5.5 on a standard droop gauge.

Thanks
That is correct. That's the way droop is measured on the HB set-up sheets.

This picture shows 5mm droop in the rear.
ShaunMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 05:26 PM   #8274
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Once again I don't know for sure, but I'd suspect it would create tweak issues...

I thought the same thing having never used tape before owning Clones, but as long as you use quality tape and file the tape slots in the chassis well, tape is fine to use. Have never lost a pack yet...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yub, yub, cmdr!
Should be here by this Friday.

Hm, I wonder why HB doesn't make a strap?
__________________
Yokomo * G Force * Sanwa * SMC * ProSpec
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 07:50 PM   #8275
Tech Master
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,892
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I'm going to hunt down some HPI Pro 2 straps. I think with a lilmodding, they will work just fine.
__________________
R40-Pondering a new Red Dot
Hara Pro4-GTB/3.5/Max Amps-yea.
Pondering moving on to Xray-have to go with a winner. If you cant beat em, join em!

I gear to run and win, not to THERMAL!
bxpitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 07:59 PM   #8276
Tech Master
 
fast-ho-cars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: it's a dry heat
Posts: 1,013
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

does anyone know if the Xray T2 C-hub fit on a Cyclone, mainly if the hinge pin holes are the the same?
fast-ho-cars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 04:47 PM   #8277
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: bermuda
Posts: 41
Default spares

Hey, what is the deal on spare parts for the cyclones?

I just purchased an andy more version and am having problems sourcing spare parts for my car. I guess I should have looked into the spares availability first.

I am beginning to think that i made a mistake, switching from xary to a hotbodies.
skink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 05:24 PM   #8278
Tech Elite
 
bigb11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: POUGHKEEPSIE,NY
Posts: 3,139
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to bigb11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skink
Hey, what is the deal on spare parts for the cyclones?

I just purchased an andy more version and am having problems sourcing spare parts for my car. I guess I should have looked into the spares availability first.

I am beginning to think that i made a mistake, switching from xary to a hotbodies.
its "never a mistake to drive a hotbodies car"
__________________
PHAT QUAD RACING, HPI/HOTBODIES, RATZAS, DARKSIDE MOTOR SPORTS, PARMA, Brown Engineering, ROBITRONICS, RC AMERICA, PANTHER, TEKIN, TEAM HOLY ROLLER, Rev Tech/Epic, RC AFRICA, HITEC www.browneng.org, DE wheels
bigb11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 06:13 PM   #8279
Tech Master
 
fast-ho-cars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: it's a dry heat
Posts: 1,013
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

have you checked Tower Hobbies, StormerHobbies, SpeedtechRC, etc, etc,
also check the listings for HPI Pro4 also. i found that Xray front steering knuckles work on a Cyclone. also some from Kysoho cars.

the best deal for parts now is to just go ahead and get another kit, Stormer still has the Cyclone for $249.99. do the math...can't beat that

sort of like in the day some TC3 parts worked on a XXX-S and vice versa. front c-hubs, f-knuckles and rear hubs.

did you have a Xray T2 or later car? do you if front c-hub or rear hubs will work? Cyclones have a 2.5MM hinge pin on the outside were the hubs mount and and 3MM on the inside were the A-arms mount to the pivot blocks.

i like some of the Xray hop-up aluminum hubs
fast-ho-cars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 06:34 PM   #8280
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 213
Default

Not anymore...
Yub, yub, cmdr! is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:36 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net