R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-12-2007, 06:57 AM   #7876
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 39
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

thanks heaps for the reply..


el
elusiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 07:32 AM   #7877
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

What's different between the version 1 and 2 dogbones that will cause them to not work with the new moorespeed spool? I just bought some Version 1 steel front dogbones, and I was planning on getting the moorespeed spool. If it's just a matter of working the outdrive cups with a dremel, then that won't be a problem. Does anyone know if the version 1 dogbones work with the spools that 3racing or TiR make? They're both setup just like the moorespeed with replaceable cups.



As a side note, I think HB needs to totally discontinue all version 1 drivetrain parts to clear up all of the freaking confusion... there's no point in having 2 different versions of diffs/bones/etc if none of it is interchangeable. You need a f'ing flow chart to check part #'s before ordering anything related to the axles or diffs on this car. So far, that's been my only gripe with this car. I can find axles for a version, but then the spool will be out of stock, or vice versa. Either supply enough parts of each version to distributors for racers to buy, or drop one version altogether and focus on getting out parts for the version that is kept.
Serzoni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 07:43 AM   #7878
Tech Adept
 
Cyclone Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kent Wa
Posts: 106
Default

I just installed 61043 bones on a V2 one-way and 61044 bones on the rear of my Cyclone, and they worked perfect. I did no modifications.
Cyclone Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 07:57 AM   #7879
Tech Master
 
John Doucakis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,108
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Guys, its not that simple.

Ver1 dogbones do fit inside the aluminum diffs and the ver2 and ver3 spools as well as the ver2 oneway cups.

BUT

they dont fit correctly. The diameter at the end of the ver1 dogbone is a lot smaller than that of the ver2 and this makes the ver1 dogbones have excessive play inside all ver2 and ver3 parts.

In the end, although everything may look fine, you will destroy the ver2 and/or ver3 parts in just a few runs when you combine them with ver1 dogbones.
John Doucakis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 10:02 AM   #7880
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

What if you were to use something similar to the "blades" on a schumacher or xray?
Serzoni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 10:58 AM   #7881
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,790
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Doucakis
Guys, its not that simple.

Ver1 dogbones do fit inside the aluminum diffs and the ver2 and ver3 spools as well as the ver2 oneway cups.

BUT

they dont fit correctly. The diameter at the end of the ver1 dogbone is a lot smaller than that of the ver2 and this makes the ver1 dogbones have excessive play inside all ver2 and ver3 parts.

In the end, although everything may look fine, you will destroy the ver2 and/or ver3 parts in just a few runs when you combine them with ver1 dogbones.

but dont ver 2 everything have the score line? because my moore speed had all the version one mip junk...... but the bones work just fine even with mamba max power..


so what ur saying is the ball end of the cv that goes into the out drive is smaller, but the pin is correct?
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 11:09 AM   #7882
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 26,621
Trader Rating: 178 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serzoni
What if you were to use something similar to the "blades" on a schumacher or xray?
schumacher blades wont work i have used X-ray blades just to get by at a race
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 11:15 AM   #7883
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

can you use blades with the front spool, or only with the rear aluminum diff halves?
Serzoni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 11:24 AM   #7884
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 26,621
Trader Rating: 178 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serzoni
can you use blades with the front spool, or only with the rear aluminum diff halves?
rear diff ,but you can make a spool with the aluminum diff and use blades front and rear
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 01:04 PM   #7885
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I use Tamiya Anti-wear grease on the front spool in the version 2 spool (on the dogbone pins and outdrive cups) and now in the Moore spool, in both occasions it has shown very little wear. I got 9 months out of a V2 spool in Mod using this grease.... and I only replaced it because the Nationals were coming up at the time and I wanted evrything prefect.

Also, I notice the blades in the rear don't seem to wear out, but the aluminium outdrives do (even with the anti-wear grease). So I replaced the aluminium outdrives with the old Pro 4 Delrin outdrive and they seem a "lot" better for both wear and smoothness of the diff. You can't use the blades with the delrin diff, but I still use the anti-wear grease in between the dogbone pins and delrin outdrive cups.

Hope this helps....
__________________
Yokomo * G Force * Sanwa * SMC * ProSpec
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 01:50 PM   #7886
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,150
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

3 Racing Alum. rear diff & Cusion have long life & not easy broke Diff screw.
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 02:44 PM   #7887
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,716
Trader Rating: 194 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2-Bad
I use Tamiya Anti-wear grease on the front spool in the version 2 spool (on the dogbone pins and outdrive cups) and now in the Moore spool, in both occasions it has shown very little wear. I got 9 months out of a V2 spool in Mod using this grease.... and I only replaced it because the Nationals were coming up at the time and I wanted evrything prefect.

Also, I notice the blades in the rear don't seem to wear out, but the aluminium outdrives do (even with the anti-wear grease). So I replaced the aluminium outdrives with the old Pro 4 Delrin outdrive and they seem a "lot" better for both wear and smoothness of the diff. You can't use the blades with the delrin diff, but I still use the anti-wear grease in between the dogbone pins and delrin outdrive cups.

Hope this helps....
Do you need to shim out the diff outdrives? The Pro4 plastic outdrives are much less than the HB units.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 04:44 PM   #7888
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy
Do you need to shim out the diff outdrives? The Pro4 plastic outdrives are much less than the HB units.
I shimmed it out the same as I would have for the HB aluminium Outdrives... The Delrin Outdrives also come with the a set of delrin ring clips to support the outdrive ends from breaking under extreme load, but I managed to get a set of steel rings in place of them from a friend (extra peace of mind), and they have performed faultlessly in mod for several months now....
__________________
Yokomo * G Force * Sanwa * SMC * ProSpec
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 05:34 PM   #7889
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,790
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

i was at the track today for 4 hours! SOOOOOO FUN!!! OMFG!

but twards the end my car started getting a lil slippery, what do i tune to fix this?
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 05:44 PM   #7890
Tech Master
 
beta bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,101
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

even though you guys are running the pro kits i was wondering if the cyclone sport kit would be good for a noob like me? I would like to buy the kits you guys are running but i'm only 15 and have just enough money to get a t2r or a cyclone sport. I've seen both pro kits run at my local track and and the cyclone kicks a$$ and all over the world too. I already have the electronics so i don't have to worry about that. Also if i do get the kit do you guys have a setup good for a slighty bumpy slighty loose track. The local hot shots wont give me advice and i don't know why because they shouldn't be scared im going to be able to beat them yet.
beta bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:52 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net