R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-10-2007, 03:38 AM   #7561
Tech Regular
 
stephen hilton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARKANO
Differences between the following bodies??

1. Ride Accord B
2. Ride Stratus 3
3. Moore Mazda
4. Moore Stratus
leave all those and get a p f mazdaspeed6
stephen hilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 05:12 AM   #7562
Tech Master
 
cheehtae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,470
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone has the same problem with their rear diff? it's kinda like not set or really press together.
__________________
every impulse that we strive to strangle broods in the mind, and poison us...action is a mode of purification... the only way to get rid of temptation is to yield to it.
cheehtae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 05:22 AM   #7563
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 26,172
Trader Rating: 166 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheehtae
Has anyone has the same problem with their rear diff? it's kinda like not set or really press together.
the rear pulley will have a little play ( wable)
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 07:13 AM   #7564
Tech Master
 
cheehtae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,470
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J
the rear pulley will have a little play ( wable)
TY, just on my other TC's it's really tight.
__________________
every impulse that we strive to strangle broods in the mind, and poison us...action is a mode of purification... the only way to get rid of temptation is to yield to it.
cheehtae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 08:26 AM   #7565
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,712
Trader Rating: 194 (99%+)
Default

This is common with any ball diff. The balls suspened the diff gear. You do not want the diff gear/pully to rub on the rings. When the diff gear spins it will straighten out on its own. Now if the gear itself is not flat. That is a bad gear.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 10:03 AM   #7566
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: singapore
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Droopz
Yes please. I have heaps of stick packs that I really want to use on the Cyclone. Thanks for the setup guide too.
here's a list of the items you'd need to get :

1) P/N 73512 (hpi pro 4 stick pack holder), qty : 1 set
(this is a set of various parts, each marked with numbers. you'll only need the parts marked 4 (2pcs), 6(1pc), 7(2pcs) and 8(1pc) from this set. i'll refer to these as 73512-4, 73512-6, 73512-7 and 73512-8 respectively)

2) P/N Z082 (flat head screw m3 x 8mm), qty : 2

3) P/N Z352 (button head screw m3 x 8mm), qty : 4

4) P/N Z224 (washer m3 x 6mm), qty : 4

5) P/N Z305 (screw post m3 x 8mm), qty : 2

pics :

underside view


top view


top with battery clip view


steps :
1) cut out P/N 73512-7 (2pcs) from the set. dremel/file away the little "tooth" at the bottom of this part, so that it can sit flat.

2) attach the 2 pcs of P/N 73512-7 to the chassis, using P/N Z082 screws and using the existing unused holes along the centre line of the chassis, as in positions as shown in the "top view" pic.

Impt note : note the direction of the P/N 73512-7. this is the opposite way of how it's mounted on pro 4. this is to prevent the stick pack of getting in the way of the pinion and spur gear on the cyclone.

3) cut out P/N 73512-8 from the set.

4) put your stick pack on the chassis, and push the left side of the stick pack flush against the 2 pcs of P/N 73512-7 installed in step 2.

now place P/N 73512-8 flush against the right side of the stick pack, in the position as shown in the "top view" pic. mark out on the chassis the location of the 2 holes for mounting P/N 73512-8. the 2 holes must be located at a safe distance away from the side-by-side battery slots of the chassis.

5) remove the stick pack, remove P/N 73512-8, and drill the 2 holes marked out in step 4, using a 3mm diameter drill bit. make sure the bit is the type for drilling metal and is sharp (use a new drill bit if you can).

you'll need to clamp down/secure the chassis properly when drilling, to prevent any warpage of the chassis. i also use a vacuum and point it towards the drilling to suck away the cf dust.

along each hole (which will be very close to the side edge of the chassis), parallel to the battery slots, i use a needle file to file a slot from the side edge of the chassis, inwards towards the hole. this creates a "u-shaped" notch along the side edge of the chassis. this is to ease the positioning and mounting of P/N 73512-8 later on.

if you use CA glue to seal the edges of the cf chassis you'll probably want to seal these 2 notches too.

i'm not sure if the description of the notches make it hard to visualize, but i hope you can make out the 2 notches in the "underside view" pic above.

6) place the left side of the stick pack flush against the 2 pcs of P/N 73512-7, and then adjust and mount P/N 73512-8 using the P/N Z352 screws and P/N Z224 washers, as in the "underside view".

7) Cut out P/N 73512-6 and the 2 pcs of P/N 73512-4 from the set. dremel/file away the little "tooth" at the bottom of P/N 73512-4. screw in P/N Z305 screw posts into the 2pcs of P/N 73512-4, and then mount the 2 pcs of P/N 73512-4 onto the chassis using the existing slots in the chassis, and using P/N Z352 screws and P/N Z224 washers. with a stick pack on the chassis, adjust the positions of P/N 73512-4 until they hold P/N 73512-6 well, and then tighten the 2 pcs of P/N 73512-4 into location.

at the end of this you should see what you see in the "top view with battery clip" pic.

that's it! the above instructions may seem like quite a lot of work but it's actually a pretty simple straight-forward change. main thing is to be careful with the drilling. the disadvantage is that there will be 4 button head screws on the bottom of the chassis. but i have my ride height set pretty high and run on pretty smooth concrete ground so this isn't an issue for me. if you have access to machining equipment that can make accurate countersunk holes into a cf chassis that would be a great way to solve that.

anyway hth and good luck ! if you have any questions just post back.
sidewaysdriver6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 12:12 PM   #7567
Tech Apprentice
 
Drcy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 82
Default Hop Up pulleys for the Cyco


I need some help,

3Racing produces different central pulleys (16/17/18) for the Cyclone.
I bought the kit with this 3 different central pulleys, but :

1st - I only get the original 16T to fit with the Excel Belt???? Does somebody know how (or with which belt) I manage to change from 16T to 18T (does exist another belt for it)?????

2nd - Different pulleys means different ratio, in this case

2.4375 (std Cyclone internal ratio)
39/17 = 2.2941
39/18 = 2.1666

are different ratios related with the Track size??

means smaller track (more technical) requires smaller internal ratio???

thanks for any help in clarifying this

Pedro
Drcy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 12:17 PM   #7568
Tech Apprentice
 
Drcy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 82
Default ROD Ends

I have some problems with the Cyclone original Rod Ends grtting play what affects mainly my steering.
Do you guys have found a good substitution??
thanks

Cy
Drcy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 02:47 PM   #7569
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,137
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drcy

I need some help,

3Racing produces different central pulleys (16/17/18) for the Cyclone.
I bought the kit with this 3 different central pulleys, but :

1st - I only get the original 16T to fit with the Excel Belt???? Does somebody know how (or with which belt) I manage to change from 16T to 18T (does exist another belt for it)?????

2nd - Different pulleys means different ratio, in this case

2.4375 (std Cyclone internal ratio)
39/17 = 2.2941
39/18 = 2.1666

are different ratios related with the Track size??

means smaller track (more technical) requires smaller internal ratio???

thanks for any help in clarifying this

Pedro

Yes 3Racing 17T fit to use excel belt !
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 02:50 PM   #7570
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,137
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

& 3 Racing new product 5 cell 2.5mm main classis after onsale !

Last edited by RC MARKET; 03-10-2007 at 03:01 PM.
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 06:02 PM   #7571
Tech Elite
 
Vicko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

can anyone tell me the part # for the new style 6 degree streeing block
for the cyclone I have the old ones with the white paper, but I thinks the new 1 comes with orange papers
Vicko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 06:21 PM   #7572
Tech Elite
 
dawgmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,452
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The past 2 weekend I've busted about 5 steerings blocks...... it's just driving me nutz because I went about 3 months without breaking anything, I remeber someone saying the T2 castor blocks & steering arms fit the cyclone well I gave it the ole' college try and they work but since I had to use Team Tamale I had to remove 2mm from the steering to keep the ackerman the same just out the pics
Attached Thumbnails
Hot Bodies Cyclone-dj-pics-029.jpg   Hot Bodies Cyclone-dj-pics-027.jpg  
dawgmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 10:18 PM   #7573
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,211
Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to joey
Default

i got a black cyclone it should be here any day now..

can someone help me i need to know what parts to get before i start building.. i know i need a front diff.. anything else you can think of while im at it?

thanks..
__________________
=Joe Wright=
joey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 10:25 PM   #7574
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,974
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC MARKET
& 3 Racing new product 5 cell 2.5mm main classis after onsale !
got a link of the picture, or even one mounted on a car?
__________________
12th Scale - The premier class (if you can make runtime)
Besercoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 12:59 AM   #7575
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,137
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Besercoe
got a link of the picture, or even one mounted on a car?
please wait moment !
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:08 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net