R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-05-2007, 09:03 PM   #7471
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,653
Trader Rating: 193 (99%+)
Default

Is it me or do I need to cut the suspension mount shims in half to use them on the front rear brace? And the rear front brace? I have noticed different mm shims on setup sheets.

I noticed Speedtech has 2 different part numbers for the diff pully and oneway pully. Does anyone know why?
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel

Last edited by dodgeguy; 03-05-2007 at 09:23 PM.
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 11:09 PM   #7472
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy
Is it me or do I need to cut the suspension mount shims in half to use them on the front rear brace? And the rear front brace? I have noticed different mm shims on setup sheets.

I noticed Speedtech has 2 different part numbers for the diff pully and oneway pully. Does anyone know why?
the suspension shims are actually different thickness of washers like these:
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXGPC4&P=7

the diff and oneway pulleys are drilled out and mounted differently.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 06:04 PM   #7473
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,653
Trader Rating: 193 (99%+)
Default

That seems a like a little to much isolation of stress to one point. A shim that is full width of the mount that touches the chassis would be best.

I will say that for a car of this caliber. The instructions were not good at all with setup help. For exapmle the suspenion mount roll cenetr adjustment.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 07:12 PM   #7474
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Aotearoa
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy
That seems a like a little to much isolation of stress to one point. A shim that is full width of the mount that touches the chassis would be best.

I will say that for a car of this caliber. The instructions were not good at all with setup help. For exapmle the suspenion mount roll cenetr adjustment.
Hi Dodgeguy,

I'm not too sure if i understood you correctly, but i think you want to shim the suspension mounts. It isnt possible to have a shim that runs the full length of the mount because of the belt that passes under the mount thru the little gap. Aluminium shims exist already for the pivot blocks, but aluminium washers appear to be the best shim for the front rear and rear front suspension mounts.
jimbobmahua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 07:28 PM   #7475
Tech Master
 
cheehtae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,470
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy
That seems a like a little to much isolation of stress to one point. A shim that is full width of the mount that touches the chassis would be best.

I will say that for a car of this caliber. The instructions were not good at all with setup help. For exapmle the suspenion mount roll cenetr adjustment.
or you can try this:http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXPFC3&P=Z

if that's what I think you would need, though it's not purple.Also I think you can only use this for rear rear and front front only, cuz like what Jimbowamba(LOL)mentioned placing it in the ft rear and rear front would hit the belt.
__________________
every impulse that we strive to strangle broods in the mind, and poison us...action is a mode of purification... the only way to get rid of temptation is to yield to it.
cheehtae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 07:30 PM   #7476
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,181
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wannabee
what spur are you guys running on the rug (stock)???
100 spur
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 07:31 PM   #7477
Tech Elite
 
wannabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: RUBBERNECK RACING Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,484
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

what spur are you guys running on the rug (stock)???
wannabee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 07:31 PM   #7478
jaz
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 428
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wannabee
what spur are you guys running on the rug (stock)???
108
jaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 07:32 PM   #7479
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,653
Trader Rating: 193 (99%+)
Default

I know that a shim full length will not fit. Only shim the part that contacts the chassis. So it would be 2 shims. One on each side of the mount. My cyclone came with a 2mmx2 and .5mmx2. They will only work with the 2.5 and 3.0 mount.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 07:33 PM   #7480
Tech Elite
 
L.Fairtrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beyond the Wall
Posts: 3,748
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to L.Fairtrace
Default

108 Spur is what I run for stock.
__________________
T.O.P Racing - Awesomatix USA - EaMotorsports - BSR Racing Tires - Orca - TQ Wire - Solaris Racing Tires - Side Piece Racing

Horsham RC. Where champions practice Failing. I'm your everything.....
L.Fairtrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 07:38 PM   #7481
Tech Master
 
cheehtae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,470
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy
I know that a shim full length will not fit. Only shim the part that contacts the chassis. So it would be 2 shims. One on each side of the mount. My cyclone came with a 2mmx2 and .5mmx2. They will only work with the 2.5 and 3.0 mount.

It won't? never thought about that. I thought twas the hole in the mount (not the one that screws to chassis) that has different degrees<not very sure though.
__________________
every impulse that we strive to strangle broods in the mind, and poison us...action is a mode of purification... the only way to get rid of temptation is to yield to it.
cheehtae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 07:40 PM   #7482
Tech Elite
 
L.Fairtrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beyond the Wall
Posts: 3,748
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to L.Fairtrace
Default

I just use regular shims for the suspension mounts, like ones used for the camber links. But if your running carpet foam you dont need any shims, the car is much better without shimming.
__________________
T.O.P Racing - Awesomatix USA - EaMotorsports - BSR Racing Tires - Orca - TQ Wire - Solaris Racing Tires - Side Piece Racing

Horsham RC. Where champions practice Failing. I'm your everything.....
L.Fairtrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 07:50 PM   #7483
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,653
Trader Rating: 193 (99%+)
Default

I am going to be running rubber tire outdoor. So I will probably want to raise the mounts up some. I have also noticed on some setup sheets show a .5mm to a 2mm spacer on the susp mounts front or rear.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 07:51 PM   #7484
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,181
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy
I am going to be running rubber tire outdoor. So I will probably want to raise the mounts up some. I have also noticed on some setup sheets show a .5mm to a 2mm spacer on the susp mounts front or rear.
try 1.5 mm f and r, Jason from BMI has a killer setup for rubber tire /asphalt
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 07:51 PM   #7485
Tech Elite
 
wannabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: RUBBERNECK RACING Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,484
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys!!
wannabee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 08:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 08:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 08:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 03:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 06:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:29 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0