R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2007, 11:35 PM   #7441
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 716
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

what if using stock chassis? Will the 4800 fit?
Yellowtaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 12:23 AM   #7442
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

Yes, no mofications whatsoever are required to fit the 4800. My dad has been running one in his car for a few meetings now, and the only thing he's done is put a bit of tape around the battery the other way round as well as the normal way around, just to try and stop it sliding out. So far he's had no problems with it coming loose. I do know of people who just tape it in the normal way and have been fine.
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 02:26 AM   #7443
Tech Regular
 
Capt.Micro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Islip,Ny
Posts: 386
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMF-888
what battery strap will fit to cyclone kit?or is it better to use battey tape?
If you are willing to drill a couple of holes in your chassis, the X-ray T2 battery strap will work. I made a fk05 strap fit on my BMI chassis but the T2 strap is narrower and should work better.
__________________
Kevin Colgan
Team South Shore Hobby
BackBreaker Racing
Long Island Raceway
Capt.Micro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 03:52 AM   #7444
Tech Master
 
RMF-888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: novo ecijano
Posts: 1,933
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to RMF-888
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt.Micro
If you are willing to drill a couple of holes in your chassis, the X-ray T2 battery strap will work. I made a fk05 strap fit on my BMI chassis but the T2 strap is narrower and should work better.
tnx.maybe ill be using battery tape.
RMF-888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 05:30 AM   #7445
Tech Master
 
Geetoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: HPI/HOTBODIES
Posts: 1,871
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Geetoo Send a message via Yahoo to Geetoo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMF-888
tnx.maybe ill be using battery tape.
For me, tape strap is always better than battery holder. That way, its much lighter and it should stick properly also depends on type of tape you use.
__________________
www.hpiracing.com
www.hotbodiesonline.net
www.nosram.com
www.team-durango.com
www.actionhobbiesonline.net
Geetoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 06:33 AM   #7446
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grindog001
On the surikarn and hara kits, is the cutting of the chassis still required under the front diff like hara shows on the above guide? It says on the guide that it is not always needed!
Excuse my ignorance but that one kind of shocked me...taking a dremel to a brand new kit. Is that done so some other mod will fit?
Disaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 06:41 AM   #7447
Tech Lord
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,829
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

its no longer needed.on the black cyclone the cutout under the front diff was small and your belt would slightly rub the chassis.the newer kits such as the hara,surikarn and worlds kit do not require that.
__________________
Jason Breiner
BMI Racing
Team Associated
J Concepts
protc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 06:59 AM   #7448
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by protc3
its no longer needed.on the black cyclone the cutout under the front diff was small and your belt would slightly rub the chassis.the newer kits such as the hara,surikarn and worlds kit do not require that.
I bought the kit on sale at Stormers. Is it required for that one?

Cyclone kit at Stormers
Disaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 07:21 AM   #7449
Tech Lord
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,829
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

your belt will slightly rub the chassis on that kit.all you need to do is bevel the rear edge of the pocket with a small round file.just enough so the belt doesnt rub.the car works awesome
__________________
Jason Breiner
BMI Racing
Team Associated
J Concepts
protc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 07:35 AM   #7450
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,293
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

scroll down THIS PAGE and see hara bevel the chassis so the belt dosent rub waht jason was taliking about
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*TLR Racing*DE Racing*92 Zero Design*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 02:06 PM   #7451
Tech Master
 
cheehtae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,470
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

been building my black chassis since yesterday, I manage to use my Tamiya thrust bearings for the diff and steel dogbones. I will try and use the hard arms and suspension stuff from my TA05 and see if it will go well.
__________________
every impulse that we strive to strangle broods in the mind, and poison us...action is a mode of purification... the only way to get rid of temptation is to yield to it.
cheehtae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 02:22 PM   #7452
jaz
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 428
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by protc3
your belt will slightly rub the chassis on that kit.all you need to do is bevel the rear edge of the pocket with a small round file.just enough so the belt doesnt rub.the car works awesome
Actually, it appears that Hot Bodies has updated their chassis design on the black kit as well. On the original black Cyclone kits, both cutouts for the front and rear diff pulleys were the same size. I just received a new black Cyclone kit from Stormer last week, and the front pulley cutout is about twice the size of the cutout for the rear. So, if your kit is like mine, you won't have to do any special dremeling to the chassis.
jaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 03:12 PM   #7453
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,716
Trader Rating: 194 (99%+)
Default

I got an updated chassis also with my Stormer kit also. No belt rub on mine.

Does anyone know where setup sheets for the cyclone are? I know there is a starting setup in the book. But what are others starting with?
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 03:44 PM   #7454
jaz
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 428
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Check www.cyclonedepot.com. There are several setup sheets on there including a blank one to use for your own setup.
jaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 03:46 PM   #7455
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy
I got an updated chassis also with my Stormer kit also. No belt rub on mine.
Just checked mine as well. Front slot is larger than what is shown on the Hara build page. Looks like new kits don't need chassis work.
Disaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:50 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net