R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-20-2007, 06:45 AM   #7216
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Electro-MAX RC
just wondering from the cyclone fans, i've got a yokomo bd, is there anyone that has run both and can give a good perspecive on the performance differences between the two cars. I was going to sell my bd and buy the stormer cyclone.

assume i'll be running the car in 19t rubber on carpet.
I have run Yokomo BDs and Cyclones for the past year. The Yokomo is a great car, and much stronger and durable than the Cyclone or most cars out there today. Its very easy to work on, and is faster than the Cyclone or most cars out there since its so light due to all the chassis cut outs and design. However, its a bit complex to get it to handle as great as a Cyclone since its got more tuning options, especially up front. The Cyclone just works great, and is very clean and simple lay-out. Much easier to set up and get working great- and once you set it up, the CYclone out-handles any car on the market. However, its a bit fragile in some areas, and not as fast as the Yokomo BD...maybe cause its a little heavier? But that Yok BD speed quickly means nothing when the CYclone just out handles it and kills with its unmatched corner speed and agility- nothing like it...exept for maybe an Xray T2...
__________________
Yohan Hayyim [Associated RC10B4.1]

"Release the Kraken"
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 06:55 AM   #7217
Tech Adept
 
Phil C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuneaton, England
Posts: 177
Default

I have run both the BD and the Cyclone as well and I felt, as many have said, the Cyclone is much easier to set up and handles slightly better.

I found with the BD that it flexes differently either way due to the topdeck design, which makes the car less consistent. The shocks Yokomo aren’t particularly good either unless you mod them.

As for speed I don't think you can say one car is faster than another unless the drivetrain is producing lots of drag, which in the case of the Cyclone can't be said. Most people run their cars to the minimum weight limit anyway so weight shouldn’t be an issue either.

Both cars have their pros and cons but in my opinion the Cyclone is the better car.
__________________
| Team XRAY UK | HUDY | RC DisCo| LRP | Sanwa | SMD | Moorespeed | MB Models | Gingapaint | McLaren Racing |
Phil C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 07:51 AM   #7218
Tech Master
 
pcar951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cow Town
Posts: 1,684
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

All true, my Cyclone handling is nearly as sharp as the 007. The BD is more durable than the Cyclone. The drive-line on my Cyclone is more free than both the BD and the Xray for some reason. The Cyclone worked great in stock and 19 last weekend.
__________________
Jim Chapman
PM Hobbycraft | RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Reds Racing
pcar951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 08:56 AM   #7219
Tech Elite
 
KHoff7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

How is the durability on this car?
__________________
Awesomatix USA / Middle River Hobbies / Sweep / Psycho Cells Racing
Karl Hoffmeister
KHoff7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 09:09 AM   #7220
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KHoff7
How is the durability on this car?

all cars break at one point or another...

I have the Pro4 and Cyclone..both use the same suspensions...and managed to only break 1 arm and 1 c-hub... and I'm no expert driver.
by installing the bud's TC3 bumber plate or the P-dub bumper this will help decrease your chances from breaking anything...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 09:13 AM   #7221
Tech Elite
 
BillyCaldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,005
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BillyCaldwell
Default

Got any pics of the buds bumper installed?

I have just been running the stock bumper and not had many failures, but piece of mine sure wouldnt hurt lol.
__________________
Maclin | VP-Pro USA
BillyCaldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 09:18 AM   #7222
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil C
Heres that setup sheet.
ru using the bmi chasis or stock cyclone one
__________________
hotbodies cyclone, hotbodies tcxx orca v3 esc
tc3 racer sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 09:26 AM   #7223
Tech Elite
 
KHoff7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
all cars break at one point or another...

I have the Pro4 and Cyclone..both use the same suspensions...and managed to only break 1 arm and 1 c-hub... and I'm no expert driver.
by installing the bud's TC3 bumber plate or the P-dub bumper this will help decrease your chances from breaking anything...
yea im just tired of fixing this losi all the time and having to put ball cups on ever minute of the race
__________________
Awesomatix USA / Middle River Hobbies / Sweep / Psycho Cells Racing
Karl Hoffmeister
KHoff7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 09:35 AM   #7224
Tech Elite
 
BillyCaldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,005
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BillyCaldwell
Default

I was a loyal losi sedan driver until I got my hands on a cyclone. You would be hard pressed to get me to change cars.
__________________
Maclin | VP-Pro USA
BillyCaldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 10:50 AM   #7225
Tech Regular
 
edward Haywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Upper Darby Pa
Posts: 260
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Do you really need the bmi chasis kit to run on carpet with foams on the cyclone .
__________________
Mtx-4.....Rolling baby/Blue Diamond /West Chester/
Magneto X-Woodawson/FX/Nitro forever/
edward Haywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 10:53 AM   #7226
Tech Master
 
losi09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Fallbrook,Ca
Posts: 1,193
Send a message via Yahoo to losi09
Default

I herd u can use rubber and foam tires on carpet racing and I was wondering what tire would be better to use and why?
losi09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 10:55 AM   #7227
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,558
Trader Rating: 150 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edward Haywood
Do you really need the bmi chasis kit to run on carpet with foams on the cyclone .
YES!!
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 10:55 AM   #7228
Tech Master
 
losi09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Fallbrook,Ca
Posts: 1,193
Send a message via Yahoo to losi09
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyCaldwell
I was a loyal losi sedan driver until I got my hands on a cyclone. You would be hard pressed to get me to change cars.
So u like the cyclone bettere? I am loya losi guy too but that is for off road racing. I was thiking about geting a losi sedan but it sounds like u like the cyclone better.
losi09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 11:31 AM   #7229
Tech Addict
 
academygaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 718
Default

Anyone know the part numbers for the decal sheets of both the Cyclone and Cyclone S?

Also, an online shop stocking them?

Thanks.
__________________
Quote, Leodis, 2007: ''I've been shopping online for 9 years and the only charge I've ever had to dispute with my credit card company was from TiR. Congratulations TiR. Even porn sites are more ethical than your company!''

RC cars - I haz sum.
academygaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 11:40 AM   #7230
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by academygaz
Anyone know the part numbers for the decal sheets of both the Cyclone and Cyclone S?

Also, an online shop stocking them?

Thanks.
tower hobbies hve them in stock just look under cyclone
__________________
hotbodies cyclone, hotbodies tcxx orca v3 esc
tc3 racer sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:25 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net