R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-25-2007, 02:54 PM   #6856
Tech Regular
 
pug 205 gti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: england uk
Posts: 362
Default

checkout the trf415 thread matt and all will be revealed
pug 205 gti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 02:56 PM   #6857
Tech Initiate
 
vtek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Default

I just got the bmi chassis i got 2 questions. do guys sand and glue the edges on the shock towers and top deck? and there is a hole on the front battery side to the right of the post, what is it for? thanx much
vtek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 03:23 PM   #6858
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,820
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

You traitor.....get out of this thread immediatley

vtek, i on'y run the standard chassis but i sealed the top deck and shock towers...mainly just to make them look a bit better. But i think sealing the chassis is almost essential.
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 03:34 PM   #6859
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Aotearoa
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_blakey
hi guys,

just picked up a mint hara cyclone and it looks amazing. trying to sort out my electrics out. the problem i have is that my ariel wire is running very close to the belt!! too close actually. any of you guys got pics of how you mounted your receiver next to the servo and how close your ariel wire comes to the belt?
i have a futaba PCM receiver if that help size wise.


any help would be appreciated!
Hi Chris,

i have a mate who has put a little bit of fuel tubing around the antenna from where it exits the receiver to where it meets the antenna post. He runs it above the lower half of the belt. Taping it to the chassis may not be ideal as the belts do run quite low on load.
jimbobmahua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 04:10 PM   #6860
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,595
Trader Rating: 150 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_blakey
hi guys,

just picked up a mint hara cyclone and it looks amazing. trying to sort out my electrics out. the problem i have is that my ariel wire is running very close to the belt!! too close actually. any of you guys got pics of how you mounted your receiver next to the servo and how close your ariel wire comes to the belt?
i have a futaba PCM receiver if that help size wise.


any help would be appreciated!
just put a 4mm shim under the antenna mount!
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 04:12 PM   #6861
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,595
Trader Rating: 150 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vtek
I just got the bmi chassis i got 2 questions. do guys sand and glue the edges on the shock towers and top deck? and there is a hole on the front battery side to the right of the post, what is it for? thanx much
i left mine bmi chassis alone
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 07:03 PM   #6862
Tech Master
 
padailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 1,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I have the 3racing universals and on one the pin fell out. I assume the 3racing uni is pretty much the same as the ver 1 cyclone uni. Does anyone know if there is a rebuild kit or what size uni pin I might need?
__________________
www.hobbyplexraceway.com

Tamiya TRF417X (Lion's Automotive GTR)
Tamiya TRF416X
Tamiya F104W MP6/4 converted to F104X1 (Renault R30)
padailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 07:13 PM   #6863
Tech Master
 
padailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 1,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Geeez... isn't that the way things go... I've been searching for hours and couldn't find anything. So I post the question and the next place I go there it is ... Hot Bodies Universal Rebuild kit (2 pcs) HP75188. Sheeesh!!
__________________
www.hobbyplexraceway.com

Tamiya TRF417X (Lion's Automotive GTR)
Tamiya TRF416X
Tamiya F104W MP6/4 converted to F104X1 (Renault R30)
padailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 09:24 PM   #6864
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 274
Default

what you guys use to prep the chassis when glueing the side? except for the sand paper.
jinkasama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 09:55 PM   #6865
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,578
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kave
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jinkasama
what you guys use to prep the chassis when glueing the side? except for the sand paper.
I found several differnt levels of emory cloth will work much better then sand paper. And then apply the CA with a cuetip not right out of the bottle, your chassie will come out amazing.

Just remember take your time.
Kave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 03:59 AM   #6866
kfa
Tech Apprentice
 
kfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kave
I found several differnt levels of emory cloth will work much better then sand paper. And then apply the CA with a cuetip not right out of the bottle, your chassie will come out amazing.

Just remember take your time.
Lots of q-tips. Try emry cloth/fine sand paper - black permanent marker or perhaps a "posca marker" - then CA. Gives you a black glossy finish.
kfa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 06:01 AM   #6867
Tech Adept
 
TWiZTiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 127
Default

by gluing the ends what does it do for the car apart from looks
TWiZTiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 06:03 AM   #6868
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 274
Default

make the chassi solid. wont chip... especialy on asphalt
jinkasama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 01:41 PM   #6869
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Ok who has the 6 degree castor blocks in stock?
__________________
wilsonproperties1.com
Isaac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 01:45 PM   #6870
ASM
Tech Master
 
ASM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 1,289
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbobmahua
Hi,

could you guys also tell me which pivot blocks come standard with the Moorespeed WCE Cyclone? is it the 2.5 degree block front, and 3.0 degree rear like the Hara and Surikarn versions?

Thanks
Yes, that's what comes in the kit. Just got my WCE kit from my local shop yesterday. Can't wait to get this thing together
__________________
Scott Meeks

2016 ROAR Region 4 VTA Champion
USVTA Member #116
ASM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:07 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net