R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-09-2007, 07:39 AM   #6616
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Portland, ME
Posts: 75
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys, I had run the Pro4 for quite a while before I got the Cyclone, and I've got a pretty good method for dealing with the servo-saver.

First, the 1.5mm thing is WAY overkill. Given how thin the walls of the threaded tube are, I think this much preload will eventually cause the saver to fail, even with no additonal stress. I run mine just past flush, to make sure it won't bind on the chassis surface once it's all installed.

Second, when you build the servo-saver, use some of the grey thrust-bearing grease. Put some on the purple aluminum tube where the spring and the turnbuckle arm turn. Then put some on the faces where the turnbuckle arm meets the piece that keys into the hex-shaped top. This will keep everything from binding. I was breaking these regularly until I started doing this, and I haven't broken one since.

Mike
Johnboy Walton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 11:04 AM   #6617
Tech Master
 
Essnowyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Somewhere Strange Wisconsin!
Posts: 1,653
Send a message via AIM to Essnowyt
Default Novak Race Setup

Hello all that run the Cyclone with rubber tires. This past weekend I finished 8th overall at the Novak Race in Stock Rubber tire. Here is my setup for you all to use. The car was much better than 8th. In the first A main i had a battery bar fail. In the final two A mains the driver was the problem. But it was still a fun weekend.

Snowy.
Attached Thumbnails
Hot Bodies Cyclone-novakrace-01-07-07.jpg  
__________________
Team XRay, RCAmerica, Motiv, Gravity RC, Schacht Design Works.

Drive it, Dont slide it!

Last edited by Essnowyt; 01-14-2007 at 07:43 AM.
Essnowyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 11:10 AM   #6618
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 179
Default

Thanks for the setup

How would a setup for a Hara convert to one for the Moore?

Is the Moore so similar to the Hara you can just use an Hara setup?
vassago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 11:36 AM   #6619
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vassago
Thanks for the setup

How would a setup for a Hara convert to one for the Moore?

Is the Moore so similar to the Hara you can just use an Hara setup?
the Moore car started life as a Hara...
both cars are basically identical.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 11:42 AM   #6620
Tech Addict
 
|<R1Z |>'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: why stand on a silent platform
Posts: 636
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to |<R1Z |>
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Essnowyt
Hello all that run the Cyclone with rubber tires. This past weekend I finished 8th overall at the Novak Race in Stock Rubber tire. Here is my setup for you all to use. The car was much better than 8th. In the first A main i had a battery bar fail. In the final two A mains the driver was the problem. But it was still a fun weekend.

Snowy.
What is the reason for running heavier oil in the rear shocks?
__________________
signature'd
|<R1Z |> is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 11:53 AM   #6621
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
the Moore car started life as a Hara...
both cars are basically identical.
Doesn't mean much, the geometry may still be slightly different.
(thought I read something about that)
vassago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 12:06 PM   #6622
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,492
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vassago
Doesn't mean much, the geometry may still be slightly different.
(thought I read something about that)
He just told you they are basically identical in the way they are setup.Unless running a 3 piece spool,or hardened diff screws/hingepins is changing the car enough you would have to alter setup.
__________________
Team I'm Over It
racenut123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 12:09 PM   #6623
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by racenut123
He just told you they are basically identical in the way they are setup.Unless running a 3 piece spool,or hardened diff screws/hingepins is changing the car enough you would have to alter setup.
Excuuuuuse me for not believing everything I read

Too much bullshit on forums not to aks a bit further.
vassago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 03:06 PM   #6624
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 179
Default

Almost finished builing my Cyclone Moore-speed WCE and it goes together like a dream. All parts fit perfectly, build quality is at least on par with Xray (of which I have build 5).

The manual could be a bit more clear and some parts are not in the bags where you expect them. Only minor stuff.

Can't wait to run it

If it drives as it looks,
vassago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 01:21 AM   #6625
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 36
Default

Hi Guys
Just finished putting together my WCE cyclone.
The only problem i have is that when i turn the shock collars to change ride hight the shocker turns aswell (the purple cap on top and the thread) so to turn the collar i have to hold the purple cap.
Is this normal or have i done somthing wrong?

Thanks
Andy.
__________________
Hotbodies Cyclone
Gm Racing
MuchMore
Andy__+ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 01:50 AM   #6626
Tech Adept
 
S_fender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dijon, France
Posts: 168
Default

Put oil on the shock body and turn the shock collars. It will be a little better.
S_fender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 01:50 AM   #6627
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,971
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy__+
Hi Guys
Just finished putting together my WCE cyclone.
The only problem i have is that when i turn the shock collars to change ride hight the shocker turns aswell (the purple cap on top and the thread) so to turn the collar i have to hold the purple cap.
Is this normal or have i done somthing wrong?

Thanks
Andy.
I believe on the cyclone it is common, i have seen a couple of remedies, one to put a diff bearing spacer under the cap. When i rebuild i plan on trying this.
__________________
12th Scale - The premier class (if you can make runtime)
Besercoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 02:16 AM   #6628
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy__+
Hi Guys
Just finished putting together my WCE cyclone.
The only problem i have is that when i turn the shock collars to change ride hight the shocker turns aswell (the purple cap on top and the thread) so to turn the collar i have to hold the purple cap.
Is this normal or have i done somthing wrong?

Thanks
Andy.

On my Surikarn it not only turn, but also leaked. I ended up filing 0.5mm of the cap so it would tight right down. No more leaks and the top shock collar stayed firm.
__________________
Yokomo * G Force * Sanwa * SMC * ProSpec
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 03:35 AM   #6629
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 57
Default

one shop selling in good price for andy moore edition.hope can help any fans.

I think the best is the best now!

http://www.racing11.net/shop/product...oducts_id=2725
initialrays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 08:58 AM   #6630
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2-Bad
On my Surikarn it not only turn, but also leaked. I ended up filing 0.5mm of the cap so it would tight right down. No more leaks and the top shock collar stayed firm.

when buildng the kit and especially the shocks...did you guy look at Hara's building tips.. he goes through the entire process in building the kit..from start to finish. the link has been posted here many time.....
sorry don't remmember it off hand.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 08:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 08:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 08:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 03:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 06:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:51 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0