R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-20-2006, 02:48 PM   #6361
Tech Elite
 
RaceAce701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carbondale, Pa
Posts: 2,841
Trader Rating: 83 (99%+)
Default

my carpet track is really tight and a one way work well

speedtech rc sells a diff kit and all the parts u neeed like the alloy outdrives but u really dont need them the plastic ones are fine
__________________
The Skid Marks -- 24 Heures Du Jackson 9/22-23/2011
"Go for broke or go home broke"
"If it ant broke your not trying"
Alex "ACE" Kubilus
ACE design works
RaceAce701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 02:48 PM   #6362
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,181
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclone
Hi guys,
My cyclone is finally nearlly in my hands... But im going to need to use it with foam tyres, 19turn carpet... i need help. What front diff type should i be using? Im imagining that a ball diff is required...? If so where can i buy one from? will i need alloy outdrives for it etc...? could somebody help me out with part numbers and what i need etc...? Also will a oneway diff or spool not be any good?
Cheers in advance
Andy (in the UK)
,you can run a spool with rubber tires on carpet
precision rc should have the front diff,on my carpet car i have the regular diff front and rear
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 02:51 PM   #6363
Tech Adept
 
cyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 235
Default

cheers with quick reply,
The rear diff is not the same as the front if you wish to use a front ball diff is it...?
A oneway might work but my track is very fast and am likely to need brakes at some point... Do you think a oneways speed advantages around most corners warrents not using brakes/a front balldiff?
cyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 02:54 PM   #6364
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,181
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclone
cheers with quick reply,
The rear diff is not the same as the front if you wish to use a front ball diff is it...?
A oneway might work but my track is very fast and am likely to need brakes at some point... Do you think a oneways speed advantages around most corners warrents not using brakes/a front balldiff?
yes they are the same front and rear
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 02:56 PM   #6365
Tech Adept
 
cyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 235
Default

therefore this will work on the front of the car for sure? cheers
http://rc-mushroom.com/product_info....ducts_id=10700
cyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 02:59 PM   #6366
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,181
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclone
therefore this will work on the front of the car for sure? cheers
http://rc-mushroom.com/product_info....ducts_id=10700
yes
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 03:07 PM   #6367
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

Mirage import the ball diff sets for the Cyclone so any UK model shop who deals with them can get hold of them. They're reasonably priced too at 24.99.
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 03:09 PM   #6368
Tech Adept
 
cyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 235
Default

You guys= the best, cheers everyone!
cyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 04:00 PM   #6369
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,435
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Shookie
hello,

where can I find diff screw Strengthened, As that proposed by edit ?

thank you

Mr.Shookie

Here's some info on another way to go for the diff screws...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisgt2
I actually broke several TC3 diff screws in stock.... needed a stronger screw quick for 19T carpet at the Indoor Champs and fast!

I found an excellent alternative and have broken none since.

UNITED TITANIUM sells very high grade 6-4 titanium screws. They are a bit pricey at $10 a piece and a minimum order of $100, but a small price to pay to finish your race and if you have friends that also need them.

The screws I bought are 2-56 x 1 inch socket cap 6-4 Titanium
(equivelent to Grade 5 Steel in strength)

Contact Info:
www.unitedtitanium.com
3450 Old Airport Road - Wooster, Ohio 44691 - USA
1.800.321.4938

I spoke with Ed and told him that I'm sure others would be calling
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 04:04 PM   #6370
Tech Adept
 
cyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 235
Default

Are they similar to the edit diff screws?
cyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 07:01 PM   #6371
Tech Elite
 
bigb11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: POUGHKEEPSIE,NY
Posts: 3,129
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to bigb11
Default

does anybody know if HPI/HOTBODIES is going to have a us team?
__________________
PHAT QUAD RACING, HPI/HOTBODIES, RATZAS, DARKSIDE MOTOR SPORTS, PARMA, Brown Engineering, ROBITRONICS, RC AMERICA, PANTHER, TEKIN, TEAM HOLY ROLLER, Rev Tech/Epic, RC AFRICA, HITEC www.browneng.org, DE wheels
bigb11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 07:18 PM   #6372
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,435
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclone
Are they similar to the edit diff screws?
i'm thinking you're going to need to use the AE diff nut with that screw, as it's 2-56. I talked to Chris at the Cleveland race, he said they held up awesome for him.
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 07:38 PM   #6373
Tech Master
 
pinggoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: WBP Florida
Posts: 1,263
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to pinggoy
Default

are the xray springs longer than the hpi? i put one xray spring on my cyclone even thecollar is all the way up still i have a 7mm rear ride height and 6mm on the front ride height.(with out electronics.) is nt it to tall? usually if the collar is all the way up the ride height is all the way to 0mm-1mm.. i bouht the xray spring for 19$ for complete front and rear.(wtf is xray thinkin.did they put gold on it? thats also why i love cyclone more affordable price than xray in particular.)
__________________
TAMIYA TRF415 MRE l NOSRAM SPX l BALLISTIC 17.5
TAMIYA TRF416X
www.noicewatches.bigcartel.com
pinggoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 08:28 PM   #6374
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,181
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinggoy
are the xray springs longer than the hpi? i put one xray spring on my cyclone even thecollar is all the way up still i have a 7mm rear ride height and 6mm on the front ride height.(with out electronics.) is nt it to tall? usually if the collar is all the way up the ride height is all the way to 0mm-1mm.. i bouht the xray spring for 19$ for complete front and rear.(wtf is xray thinkin.did they put gold on it? thats also why i love cyclone more affordable price than xray in particular.)
thats weird i have xray springs on my Carpet Cyclone and they fit fine, I have tamiya springs on my asphalt car. What weight springs are you looking for? Shumacher and AE springs are a perfect fit also
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 08:41 PM   #6375
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 274
Default

17lbs. i had the white springs.. i dont know whats wrong but it influences the ride height. i havent try another spring yet.. the shock lenght is 64.5mm .. but probably putting the electronics on will decrease the initial ride height..hopefully
jinkasama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 08:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 08:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 08:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 03:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 06:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:57 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0