R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-11-2006, 09:14 PM   #4966
Tech Elite
 
tandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: airdrie
Posts: 2,816
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tandman
Default

Jason....killer looking setup.....when can I make an order????
__________________
Dwayne Flodell
Team Mad Scientist
-When you need mad rip.....call the Mad Scientist Fantom Racing
Team Sweepracing
tandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 09:39 PM   #4967
Tech Regular
 
floodo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 452
Send a message via ICQ to floodo1 Send a message via AIM to floodo1 Send a message via Yahoo to floodo1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by protc3
heres some pics of the prototype kit
do you always run the ballstuds on the inner hole on the steering knuckle on carpet? (hehe on...on...on...)?

is there as much toe-out as it looks in the head on pic?
floodo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 11:44 PM   #4968
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

jason
2.38mm dia. on the new cvd pins.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 10:29 AM   #4969
Tech Lord
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,824
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by floodo1
do you always run the ballstuds on the inner hole on the steering knuckle on carpet? (hehe on...on...on...)?

is there as much toe-out as it looks in the head on pic?
the car was not set up in the pic.one of our drivers took the pic who just got it together yesterday. i only got to run the car 1 time so i didnt get much time to run it.the guy running the car is an excelent driver.he is an A main runner at any big event.he will be able to establish a real good setup and performance feedback.he is running the car now and i will have some feedback by tonight.right now he ran a couple packs through the car and said it looks very promising.he is making some setup changes and is going to report back in a little bit.
__________________
Jason Breiner
BMI Racing
Team Associated
J Concepts
protc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 07:00 PM   #4970
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,605
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

after a weekends racing, i broke 6 ball studs. Most of them were on the bulk heads. is there another brand of studs that will work better then the ones are on it now. I was thinking tamiya. Your thoughts?
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*AWESOMATIX * R1 WURKS * PLAIGE BEARINGS*
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 07:03 PM   #4971
Tech Lord
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,824
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

i think they make a titanium ball stud kit for the car.i may be wrong though
__________________
Jason Breiner
BMI Racing
Team Associated
J Concepts
protc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 07:52 PM   #4972
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Square RC makes Ti ball studs...but they are very hard to get..
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 07:54 PM   #4973
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,605
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

would tamiya ball studs be a better option. if they break off they are easier to get off the car.
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*AWESOMATIX * R1 WURKS * PLAIGE BEARINGS*
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 08:06 PM   #4974
Tech Addict
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Mate,

If you figure out which brand is a straight swap in for the ballstuds. Let me know! I'm not splashing out on the square ones. Too expensive!
AngryAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 01:28 AM   #4975
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

For the shorter of the two ball studs you can use Schumacher ones (the ones which come with the "ball grippa" ball joints.
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 03:02 AM   #4976
Tech Addict
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Perfect! Schumacher is both cheap and abundant..

Thanks for that...
AngryAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 03:11 AM   #4977
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

No problem

The only thing I found with the Schumacher ball studs is that they have a slight neck just above the threads (only about 1mm) so if you're screwing into aluminium the ball stud isn't quite flush, it's not a major problem though.

I'm yet to find a better replacement for the long ones though
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 03:15 AM   #4978
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,605
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

i just sold all my shumacher ball studs with the mi2 i sold a few weeks ago.
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*AWESOMATIX * R1 WURKS * PLAIGE BEARINGS*
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 11:22 AM   #4979
Tech Regular
 
Andrew_Carter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hb Ninja Squad
Posts: 287
Send a message via MSN to Andrew_Carter
Default

I carnt even belive you lot are breakng ball studs in crashes??
Ive done a few when tighting them,but thats just from over tighting them a tad to much.
__________________
ToniSport | Yokomo | GavGraphix | MHP
Andrew_Carter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 01:25 PM   #4980
Tech Elite
 
J.Gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: connecticut
Posts: 2,409
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
jason
2.38mm dia. on the new cvd pins.
I have the standard axles in my kit....(on hb website it shows that ver2 have a line to note is as version 2) and the pins are also 2.38.

Jamie
J.Gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:20 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net