R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-04-2006, 08:24 AM   #4891
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

For the original Cyclone (assuming this means Ver 1 driveshafts) use part number HB61043, front steel driveshafts. They come as a pair, I have been running them for a good few meetings now with no bendage whatsoever.
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 10:43 AM   #4892
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Cyclone & HPI PRO 4 Dog bones

Thanks "Skill". However, would you know if maybe the PRO4 dogbones will work on the Cyclone? I can get several pro4 bones from LHS, and don't want to spend the money unnecerarily. I have heard that the FT TC4 dogbones also fit on the cyclone, and both the PRO4 and Tc4 are carried by Local shops. The week end is comming, and I need a quick solution; no-one carries or races a HB Cyclone in my area, so no-one's got spares, which means I'll have to sit out and wait till mid next week untill I get the order shipped to me from speedtech or precisionrc(however if the pro4 or tc4 fit, then I can race this weekend, since local hobby shops have them). However, need some one to please confirm if infact the PRO 4 can fit or the FT TC4, or maybe another kind...PLEASE HELP!!!
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 10:46 AM   #4893
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

no the pro4 dogbones will not fit..they are too long.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 10:51 AM   #4894
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
no the pro4 dogbones will not fit..they are too long.
What about the FT TC4? Aren't these supposed to be universal, meaning it can fit most TC's? There has to be something besides a HB dogbone that fits! If not, I'm starting to really worry about how fragile the HB Cyclone is...3 weeks of racing and allready the dogbones are bent and one of them came apart yesterday as the pin snapped...this never happed to me with the PRO4, which seems a bit more solid and durable than the Cyclone so far...
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 10:57 AM   #4895
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

no..TC4 bones will not fit the cyclone...same length as the Pro4's.
Tamiay Steel dogbones will fit 42mm that was made for the TBO2. But that's hard to get too. try SpeedTech or Stormer they should have the Cyclone steel bones available.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 11:17 AM   #4896
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
no..TC4 bones will not fit the cyclone...same length as the Pro4's.
Tamiay Steel dogbones will fit 42mm that was made for the TBO2. But that's hard to get too. try SpeedTech or Stormer they should have the Cyclone steel bones available.
There's a whole bunch of Cyclone driveline options here in Japan.
Ramon, you lucky bastard you
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 12:22 PM   #4897
Tech Master
 
nordheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 1,725
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
no..TC4 bones will not fit the cyclone...same length as the Pro4's.
Tamiay Steel dogbones will fit 42mm that was made for the TBO2. But that's hard to get too. try SpeedTech or Stormer they should have the Cyclone steel bones available.
My LHS has these in stock. The 42mm Tamiya ones will fit as Zombies said.
I can pick up some for you if you can't find them anywhere else.
__________________
SEATTLEINDOORRACEWAY.COM - VALLEYVIEWRC.COM
nordheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 04:41 PM   #4898
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Anyone know of a permanent fix for snapping diff screws????

Chewed through 2 in quick succession (in mod 8ís & 7 turns) and Iím about to try an Associate one now. Is the titanium oneís that the proís use available? Also, is there a captured thrust bearing available for this diff?
__________________
Yokomo * G Force * Sanwa * SMC * ProSpec
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 04:49 PM   #4899
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2-Bad
Anyone know of a permanent fix for snapping diff screws????

Chewed through 2 in quick succession (in mod 8ís & 7 turns) and Iím about to try an Associate one now. Is the titanium oneís that the proís use available? Also, is there a captured thrust bearing available for this diff?
I used the AE..no problems thus far..but I race only 19T.
the Ti version is made by Edit and only available overseas in the UK.
no captured thrust bearings available... I wish it was..would make rebuilding alot easier..
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 05:39 PM   #4900
Tech Master
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Guo Chean Send a message via Yahoo to Guo Chean
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
I used the AE..no problems thus far..but I race only 19T.
the Ti version is made by Edit and only available overseas in the UK.
no captured thrust bearings available... I wish it was..would make rebuilding alot easier..
Hey Ramon save your money no need to buy Ti version from Edit. i buy it last month and i put on my cyclone but after few pack the Ti screw was break in two pieces. waste my 18 bucks arrrrr
__________________
[FONT=Comic Sans MS][SIZE=3][COLOR=red]|HotBodies|HPI|Full Throttle Motorsports|KO PROPO|DSM|Nosram|JACO|MUCH MORE RACING|Schacht Design Works|[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]
Guo Chean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 06:39 PM   #4901
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guo Chean
Hey Ramon save your money no need to buy Ti version from Edit. i buy it last month and i put on my cyclone but after few pack the Ti screw was break in two pieces. waste my 18 bucks arrrrr
Thanks for the heads up... looks I'll stick with the AE diff screws.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 09:01 PM   #4902
Tech Master
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Guo Chean Send a message via Yahoo to Guo Chean
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
Thanks for the heads up... looks I'll stick with the AE diff screws.
sometime lighter and strengthen doesn't mean better hahahar
__________________
[FONT=Comic Sans MS][SIZE=3][COLOR=red]|HotBodies|HPI|Full Throttle Motorsports|KO PROPO|DSM|Nosram|JACO|MUCH MORE RACING|Schacht Design Works|[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]
Guo Chean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 09:17 PM   #4903
Tech Elite
 
BillyCaldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,005
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BillyCaldwell
Default

I broke the aluminum piece the servo saver tightens on. But it was a solid hit and I was being stupid. AE diff screws work well. Just do not force them when tightening. Also minimize your airtime and landings
__________________
Maclin | VP-Pro USA
BillyCaldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 05:18 AM   #4904
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
I used the AE..no problems thus far...
The Associated (TC3) Diff screw is not a direct replacement

The original is a 2.0mm thick shaft, the Associated is 2.2mm. It needed some manicuring but now fits....
__________________
Yokomo * G Force * Sanwa * SMC * ProSpec
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 01:11 PM   #4905
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 21
Default

has anyone drived an Xray t1fk05 and switch to Hara or Surikarn edition?
if someone has:


what is the big diffrent?
how is it to rebuild, easy like xray?
how is the shocks?
how is it to drive indoor with a 27t,19t motor?
is it easy to find a setup on the car?
does the car re-tweak easy ?
how is the plastic on the car? is it verry sensitive?
how is the bearings on the car?
is it easy to take out the diff ?
how is the diff, shocks to rebuild?

hope anyone can answer this =)

thanks
En÷_Design is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:11 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net