R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-06-2005, 03:37 PM   #451
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Shookie
belts have to stock up on pulleys, belts center shaft, shims and more shims.
I have more shims on my BD than my LCG...really what makes a belt drive better or worse is the easy of getting to the stuff...well at least for the BD.

Not unless you drive a PRO 4...J/K I rarely need to shange gears. I have plenty but if you shim everything right and don't hit all the time you don't mess the gears up. I have been using the same spur gear for 6 months (reminds me I should get a new one) on my SD. It really comes down to driver.
Axel I think you are going through what I did a couple of months ago.
You are seeing all your buds and all the guys smokin' you at the track all driving a belt and you assume a belt is the reason. More times it is driver rather than car. I know if I can turn just consistant laps I can be in the top 10 everytime. It is all in practice and what you prefer. I prefer both so I have both. I like shaft for stock and belt for 19T and mod.
But to wiat around for your car should be fun...I know when Yokomo said a new belt car was coming I was excited up to the very day it came out, Only got upset because I found out that they were in country and I still couldn't get my mud grubbers on it....LOL
You will either be very suprised or very disapointed. I was surprised but more from the supreme fit and finish of the BD.
Car is great too. LOL
Stephen <><
. It's funny about the "seeing people with belt cars". I usaully like my own car even more at the track! . It's usually when i go through days without touching my car do i feel the need to get a new one. Yesterday i could have done alot better if i had atleast one practice run. My only real practice was my second heat. My first heat i had motor trouble. I managed to do alright for my first time touching the track. Then in the main i got bumped when i was leading, which caused me to place last. I just think belt cars are more efficient and smoother. But for stock your right about shaft( I race stock by the way).

Anyways, Mr. Shookie you know what it's like to want to have a new car.

ps: I liked being the only person with a pro4 at the track, made me feel different then the rest of the racers *cough Xray t1fk05 cough*
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 03:45 PM   #452
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,713
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by axel

Anyways, Mr. Shookie you know what it's like to want to have a new car.

ps: I liked being the only person with a pro4 at the track, made me feel different then the rest of the racers *cough Xray t1fk05 cough*
YUP YUP
But down here in Southern Cali it is *COUGH Corally and Losi COUGH*
Still I do have a couple of real cool guys even though they drive one of those who always help out this glorified rookie myself.
Take Care & GOD Bless,
Stephen <><
By the way the Cyclone looked awesome when I heald it in my mud grubbers...LOL Very simular to the BD but black and purple... You will have an advantage since you already have the suspension understood from the pro 4.
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 03:45 PM   #453
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

axel: do you race asphalt or carpet? and how big is the track?
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 03:52 PM   #454
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

I race both and all the tracks vary.
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 03:56 PM   #455
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Shookie
By the way the Cyclone looked awesome when I heald it in my mud grubbers...LOL Very simular to the BD but black and purple... You will have an advantage since you already have the suspension understood from the pro 4.
I hope they keep the same pro4 suspenion on the cyclone though...you never know what they might change . Your so lucky you were able to see it person!
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 03:58 PM   #456
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

for carpet and smaller tracks i would say stick with the Pro 4. the shaft gives ya the good torque and response you need onthose tracks. for the larger tracks belts work a little better. also if you have built you car to HARA or 05 spec the thin chassis and top plate will work great for aspahlt. all in all if your going to race small and large, asphalt and carpet, a mix of cars really cant hurt.

seeing how i dont think the pro4 is going to have a converson to the Cyclone because the cars are so different i would look into getting both if you have the money. that is what i am working on. my pro4 for small carpet, and i am either going to get a RDX or maybe the cyclone for the big out door track i race at. but i might not because i just got the pro4 and once i get some of the Hara stuff it might be a great asphalt car.

my 2 cents
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 03:58 PM   #457
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by axel


. It's funny about the "seeing people with belt cars". I usaully like my own car even more at the track! . It's usually when i go through days without touching my car do i feel the need to get a new one. Yesterday i could have done alot better if i had atleast one practice run. My only real practice was my second heat. My first heat i had motor trouble. I managed to do alright for my first time touching the track. Then in the main i got bumped when i was leading, which caused me to place last. I just think belt cars are more efficient and smoother. But for stock your right about shaft( I race stock by the way).

Anyways, Mr. Shookie you know what it's like to want to have a new car.

ps: I liked being the only person with a pro4 at the track, made me feel different then the rest of the racers *cough Xray t1fk05 cough*

Hey Axel.This Is John the race director at Hobbytown Fremont and San jose.I don't remember you leading your race yesterday.BTW,there is a reason there are so many Xrays out there.They are fast.Don't hate.

See you at the races.
__________________
Team I'm Over It
racenut123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 04:01 PM   #458
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Shookie
YUP YUP

By the way the Cyclone looked awesome when I heald it in my mud grubbers...LOL Very simular to the BD but black and purple... You will have an advantage since you already have the suspension understood from the pro 4.
I should re-anodize my BD to purple and bolt on my pro4 suspsension and I bet I can pass it off as a cyclone...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 04:02 PM   #459
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

o one more thing axel that iforgot, if you have never driven a belt car you might have a hard time with one so dont get rid of the pro4. i know a few guys that have belts for years and tryed to make the switch to shaft and htey had a hard time. i havent driven a belt yet so i might have the same problem just saying if you et a belt done toss your shaft because you may not like it
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 04:07 PM   #460
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fjm9898
o one more thing axel that iforgot, if you have never driven a belt car you might have a hard time with one so dont get rid of the pro4. i know a few guys that have belts for years and tryed to make the switch to shaft and htey had a hard time. i havent driven a belt yet so i might have the same problem just saying if you et a belt done toss your shaft because you may not like it

from my Pro4 to the BD... transition was easy.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 04:09 PM   #461
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

well i didnt say everyone has that problem just said i knew a few guys that did and to be careful cuz one had to go buy another car because he was having so many problems
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 04:13 PM   #462
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,713
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
I should re-anodize my BD to purple and bolt on my pro4 suspsension and I bet I can pass it off as a cyclone...
You do that & I will personally place my foot ....(breath Mr. Shookie Breath...Happy thoughts happy thoughts....It was a joke)...LOL
But for real...You know that blue is faster....Heck even AE blue is faster than Purple...J/K
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 04:18 PM   #463
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fjm9898
o one more thing axel that iforgot, if you have never driven a belt car you might have a hard time with one so dont get rid of the pro4. i know a few guys that have belts for years and tryed to make the switch to shaft and htey had a hard time. i havent driven a belt yet so i might have the same problem just saying if you et a belt done toss your shaft because you may not like it
Well actually my first car was a xxx-s... but that was mainly for drifting, and that was a year ago. Plus i never took it apart and tried to know the car.
But i'm pretty sure the transition won't be that difficult...hopefully .
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 04:31 PM   #464
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Shookie
You do that & I will personally place my foot ....(breath Mr. Shookie Breath...Happy thoughts happy thoughts....It was a joke)...LOL
But for real...You know that blue is faster....Heck even AE blue is faster than Purple...J/K
Stephen <><
I did have a Blue Pro3. and it was definately Fast.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 04:40 PM   #465
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,713
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
I did have a Blue Pro3. and it was definately Fast.
See I told you....better stick with the BD or either that or have the cyclone parts made blue...But then again your righ tback where you started.
LOL
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 08:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 08:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 08:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 03:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 06:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:44 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0