R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-08-2013, 09:39 AM   #19711
Tech Apprentice
 
Carlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 71
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Exotek HBX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bikerbob View Post
What I liked about the Exotek chassis is that it turns the car into a modern TC.

One of the biggest drawbacks of buying a used car is you get something 4-5 years old, that was not DESIGNED for lipo and Brushless.. It my have been upgraded, or modded, etc. Weight put on.. things adjusted to work.

The HBX makes it a lipo car -with all the TC bits on it. Many people I talk to about getting something that I can still be competitive with the pack of drivers (I am not elite by any shake) is that getting something old you have to MAKE WORK puts you behind the eightball right away.

HB being a HPI company now.. I am more confident that I will be able to get parts.
I run TC3 for VTA - if I get a good a setup / favorable layout track, I am middle pack with the car.. but because of the lack of adjustment that car has - hard to beat really well setup cars even if I might be a bit better driver.

thats my thinking anyway.

I am actually in the process of converting a Cyclone S to the HBX chassis. I purchased the roller from another member on here and the chassis is on its way. My next step is to buy all of the Aluminum and Carbon Fiber pieces ( bulkheads, shock towers, etc..).

I do have some questions regarding the drive train however, the S has dogbones that I would like to upgrade to dcjs/cvds. Also, I would like to swap out the ball diffs for spool/one-way and gear diffs. Are the TCX/TCXX drive train parts compatible?

Thanks in advance!
__________________
Carlos Marcano a.k.a Sponge Bob
R.M.I. Racing
Xray NT-1
Spec-R R1
Carlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 10:12 PM   #19712
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Jaz406
Default Cyclone parts for sale.

I have a box of cyclone parts for sale. pm me for any needs. This is still a great car for vta and usgt.
Jaz406 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 06:19 AM   #19713
Tech Adept
 
jgGonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 152
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Brushless Motor Mount 61329

Does anyone have an extra or know where I can get a brushless motor mount for my TC?? Part number 61329. Any help would be great, even if the part is across the pond.............Thanks...............jim
__________________
RS4 MT/RS4/Pro2/Pro4/Pro5/D413/RS4 Nitro MT/RS4 Micro/RS4 3 18ss/RS4 Rally/Blitz
Blitz ESE/E.Firestorm/Super E.RS4/MT2 Slash Killer/Mini Recon/HB Cyclone/Midnight Pumpkin
Blitzer Beetle/Revo3.3/Slash/Slash 4x4 Platinum/Mini E.Revo/EXO Terra/SCX10/Twin Hammers
Pro2SC/DEX210/DEST210R/DESC210R/Tekno 410.3/Yeti XL/Kyosho Beetle/Team C TS4
jgGonzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 07:40 AM   #19714
Tech Addict
 
Airwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 669
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Just to be clear, you don't need the Brushless support to mount a brushless motor. This item only raises the central axle by 2mm so you can use bigger spur gears. You will need that if you are running a 4.5T because you will need a 1:9.5 ratio and a huge spur gear.

If you are running 21.5, 17.5, 13.5 or 10.5 the standard support is fine.
Airwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 07:04 PM   #19715
Tech Adept
 
jgGonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 152
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airwave View Post
Just to be clear, you don't need the Brushless support to mount a brushless motor. This item only raises the central axle by 2mm so you can use bigger spur gears. You will need that if you are running a 4.5T because you will need a 1:9.5 ratio and a huge spur gear.

If you are running 21.5, 17.5, 13.5 or 10.5 the standard support is fine.
I was running 17.5 and I needed to grind out the inside of the mount where the can fits so I could slide the motor back far enough to get the pinion I needed to work......along with making the elongated motor bolt holes longer to get them in.
__________________
RS4 MT/RS4/Pro2/Pro4/Pro5/D413/RS4 Nitro MT/RS4 Micro/RS4 3 18ss/RS4 Rally/Blitz
Blitz ESE/E.Firestorm/Super E.RS4/MT2 Slash Killer/Mini Recon/HB Cyclone/Midnight Pumpkin
Blitzer Beetle/Revo3.3/Slash/Slash 4x4 Platinum/Mini E.Revo/EXO Terra/SCX10/Twin Hammers
Pro2SC/DEX210/DEST210R/DESC210R/Tekno 410.3/Yeti XL/Kyosho Beetle/Team C TS4
jgGonzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 02:19 PM   #19716
Tech Addict
 
Airwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 669
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I mean, as fine as it could be... lol

You would have the same problem with BL motor support... It only raises the axle by 2mm... that's all...
Airwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 04:02 PM   #19717
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: northern california
Posts: 876
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgGonzo View Post
I was running 17.5 and I needed to grind out the inside of the mount where the can fits so I could slide the motor back far enough to get the pinion I needed to work......along with making the elongated motor bolt holes longer to get them in.
You're using far too large of a spur gear.

edit: my mistake, if you are grinding to move the motor CLOSER to the spur, then you need a LARGER spur gear (and a larger pinion too, to get back to the same FDR you had before)
__________________
I race at:
SpeedWorld Raceway
Roseville / Sacramento, California
VTA, 1/10 nitro, touring, USGT, F1, and more!
www.speedworldraceway.com

Last edited by slashdriver; 10-04-2013 at 06:40 AM.
slashdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 04:03 PM   #19718
CL
Tech Addict
 
CL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 700
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgGonzo View Post
I was running 17.5 and I needed to grind out the inside of the mount where the can fits so I could slide the motor back far enough to get the pinion I needed to work......along with making the elongated motor bolt holes longer to get them in.
You just need bigger spur and pinion gears.
__________________
Believe in yourself!
CL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 01:16 PM   #19719
Tech Adept
 
jgGonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 152
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Ball Diff Needed

Anyone know where I can get a 67720 ball diff for a decent price??

Thanks.........
__________________
RS4 MT/RS4/Pro2/Pro4/Pro5/D413/RS4 Nitro MT/RS4 Micro/RS4 3 18ss/RS4 Rally/Blitz
Blitz ESE/E.Firestorm/Super E.RS4/MT2 Slash Killer/Mini Recon/HB Cyclone/Midnight Pumpkin
Blitzer Beetle/Revo3.3/Slash/Slash 4x4 Platinum/Mini E.Revo/EXO Terra/SCX10/Twin Hammers
Pro2SC/DEX210/DEST210R/DESC210R/Tekno 410.3/Yeti XL/Kyosho Beetle/Team C TS4
jgGonzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 05:40 PM   #19720
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,508
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgGonzo View Post
Anyone know where I can get a 67720 ball diff for a decent price??

Thanks.........
I have one New in package. 40 bucks shipped. I paid 45 not including tax and shipping
DOTMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 06:02 AM   #19721
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,929
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgGonzo View Post
Anyone know where I can get a 67720 ball diff for a decent price??

Thanks.........
shoot me a PM - more of a reminder then anything else - and I can look tonight. I might have one (or 2) of them I can give you a deal on
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 11:13 PM   #19722
Tech Elite
 
CraigMBA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Valley of the Dirt, CA
Posts: 2,832
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

This is probably my last post here. I had a great time with my Cyclones, but since I seem to be Mr. All Things Tamiya these days, it's time to turn the page. I'm posting because I haven't built a new VTA car yet, and I wanted to post that I'd had success putting TCX gear diffs in with only two part numbers necessary to complete the task. Here they are installed:



I used the 2mm shims (one on each side). Here are the PNs you need to convert over. ICRC, total cost was like $32.



Good luck guys!
__________________
* Cee Lo Dizzle, the Secizzle * Red Bull * Team Homies * Pintura de Negro Mate * USVTA #152
CraigMBA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 11:13 PM   #19723
Tech Elite
 
CraigMBA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Valley of the Dirt, CA
Posts: 2,832
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

This is probably my last post here. I had a great time with my Cyclones, but since I seem to be Mr. All Things Tamiya these days, it's time to turn the page. I'm posting because I haven't built a new VTA car yet, and I wanted to post that I'd had success putting TCX gear diffs in with only two part numbers necessary to complete the task. Here they are installed:



I used the 2mm shims (one on each side). Here are the PNs you need to convert over. ICRC, total cost was like $32.



Good luck guys!
__________________
* Cee Lo Dizzle, the Secizzle * Red Bull * Team Homies * Pintura de Negro Mate * USVTA #152
CraigMBA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 07:35 AM   #19724
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 67
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigMBA View Post
This is probably my last post here. I had a great time with my Cyclones, but since I seem to be Mr. All Things Tamiya these days, it's time to turn the page. I'm posting because I haven't built a new VTA car yet, and I wanted to post that I'd had success putting TCX gear diffs in with only two part numbers necessary to complete the task. Here they are installed:



I used the 2mm shims (one on each side). Here are the PNs you need to convert over. ICRC, total cost was like $32.



Good luck guys!
I put one in my car as well and so far so good! I used a bunch of small shims since I didn't have the 2mm shims. Where did you get the shims from? Good luck with the new ride (even if it is not HB) LOL
HD Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 07:49 AM   #19725
Tech Elite
 
CraigMBA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Valley of the Dirt, CA
Posts: 2,832
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HD Racer View Post
I put one in my car as well and so far so good! I used a bunch of small shims since I didn't have the 2mm shims. Where did you get the shims from? Good luck with the new ride (even if it is not HB) LOL
I either got them from A main, or from TQ Racing in Chino.
__________________
* Cee Lo Dizzle, the Secizzle * Red Bull * Team Homies * Pintura de Negro Mate * USVTA #152
CraigMBA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:02 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net