R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-20-2005, 09:06 PM   #1921
Tech Champion
 
danjoy25's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,149
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Would Xray Springs fit the Cyclone Stock Shocks?
__________________
Awesomatix A800 & A800X/ Mugen MTX-5 / 3 Racing F113 / Kyosho RB5 / Kyosho Mini-Z
danjoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2005, 09:16 PM   #1922
Tech Regular
 
Thad Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Trabuco Canyon
Posts: 305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danjoy25
Would Xray Springs fit the Cyclone Stock Shocks?
Sure will

Here is a picture of Hara's car from the IIC LasVagas race with xray springs
__________________
R1Wurks - Awesomatix USA
Thad Garner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2005, 09:49 PM   #1923
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad Garner
thad when is a diff coming out for the front
__________________
hotbodies cyclone, hotbodies tcxx orca v3 esc
tc3 racer sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2005, 10:31 PM   #1924
Tech Master
 
ngo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Posts: 1,263
Send a message via ICQ to ngo8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3 racer sc
thad when is a diff coming out for the front
all i did is looked in the manual got the parts ordered the parts and made a diff the only thing was i used 2 bearings instead of the 2 washers and one bearing and the diff screw and nut was not in stock so i used the associated works great .
__________________
Xray|ORCA|Sanwa|Trinity|KoPropo
ngo8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 03:13 AM   #1925
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
Default

So whos ran the cyclone out doors in stock?

Ive heard things about belt cars being a bit sluggish in stock, id like to buy a third car mainly for out doors but if the cyclone will be slower than my shafties i wont do it has any one noticed a loss of speed when switching from a shaft to belt?
Xrayskid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 05:32 AM   #1926
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xrayskid
So whos ran the cyclone out doors in stock?

Ive heard things about belt cars being a bit sluggish in stock, id like to buy a third car mainly for out doors but if the cyclone will be slower than my shafties i wont do it has any one noticed a loss of speed when switching from a shaft to belt?
I donīt have a Cyclone yet but a TRF415 what is somewhat similar also I have and had some other belt and shaft cars. Both concept has their advantages. From a standing start and out of corners shafts has more rip. But in general a belt car is easier to drive and for most guys seems more consistent. Once I did compare a shaft and belt car with same suspension and I did exactly the same fastest laptime with both cars. But for a complete run the beltcar was faster and overall I liked belt always more.
Same I have heard from someone switching from the Pro4 to the Cyclone. The Pro4 also was fast but the Cyclone is easier to drive and faster over a complete run.
And we both are running stock most times.
__________________
Classic RC - http://classicrc.wordpress.com/
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 07:39 AM   #1927
Tech Master
 
nordheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 1,725
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xrayskid
So whos ran the cyclone out doors in stock?

Ive heard things about belt cars being a bit sluggish in stock, id like to buy a third car mainly for out doors but if the cyclone will be slower than my shafties i wont do it has any one noticed a loss of speed when switching from a shaft to belt?
The Cyclone is certainly not sluggish in stock. I think it was a great step up in many ways from my Pro4. I thought about keeping my Pro4 for stock but felt that even in stock the Cyclone was a better car. It's fast, responsive and has incredible steering.
__________________
SEATTLEINDOORRACEWAY.COM - VALLEYVIEWRC.COM
nordheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 08:16 AM   #1928
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aurra Sing
heres a pic of my newly built Cyclone, as set up for carpet/foam racing:

i haven't actually raced it yet, but here are things i've done so far
- pro4 diff/cvd's
- corally RDX springs (perfect fit)
- Jwerks 102t spur
- custom 1.8mm front sway bar
- dremelled suspension block to accommodate higher roll centers

things I want:
- locked center pulley
- thicker chassis if a reputable company makes one (i got word that BMI will not be making one)
- Jwerks ti. screw set
- APS ceramic berings

very nice Marc...
I have a 3.3mm carpet chassis coming..but unfortunately...the maker will only make the one for me.. trying to convince him to make more... soon as I get..I'll post some pics.

did Jwerks release the Ti Screw set for the Cyclone? or you're using the Pro4 set?
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 10:21 AM   #1929
Tech Fanatic
 
pucho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 804
Send a message via AIM to pucho
Default

Well here it is, Ill be racing it this week end We will see how things go.
Attached Thumbnails
Hot Bodies Cyclone-100_1934.jpg  
pucho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 01:15 PM   #1930
Tech Regular
 
floodo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 452
Send a message via ICQ to floodo1 Send a message via AIM to floodo1 Send a message via Yahoo to floodo1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad Garner
it must be groundhog day!
do you see your shadow thad?

hehe making your yearly appearance eh?
floodo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2005, 07:03 PM   #1931
Tech Regular
 
floodo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 452
Send a message via ICQ to floodo1 Send a message via AIM to floodo1 Send a message via Yahoo to floodo1
Default

just wondering how many people have bent their upper bulkheads?
at least one of the cyclone guys locally bent his front one already, just wondering how prevelant this problem is.
floodo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2005, 08:40 PM   #1932
Tech Master
 
nordheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 1,725
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I want to get a center direct 16T pulley HB70725 but cant find anyone in the US who has them in stock. Is there an alternative part which fits or do you know anyone else who stocks this item? I have tried Speedtech, Stormer and Tower.
Does the Tamiya 415 16T pulley fit the same way?
__________________
SEATTLEINDOORRACEWAY.COM - VALLEYVIEWRC.COM
nordheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2005, 02:33 AM   #1933
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The 415 direct pulley also seems working.
__________________
Classic RC - http://classicrc.wordpress.com/
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2005, 03:46 AM   #1934
Tech Addict
 
Nathan Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 674
Default

If you are going to use the tamiya direct pulley you will need the direct pulley that comes with the kit not the optional one, which is double the width , I would hold out for the HB one which will also match in colour.
Nathan Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2005, 07:48 AM   #1935
Tech Master
 
nordheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 1,725
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan Parker
If you are going to use the tamiya direct pulley you will need the direct pulley that comes with the kit not the optional one, which is double the width , I would hold out for the HB one which will also match in colour.
I dont care about the color. It's a hard part to get a hold of in the states and I dont want to wait.
__________________
SEATTLEINDOORRACEWAY.COM - VALLEYVIEWRC.COM
nordheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:02 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net