R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-02-2010, 04:59 AM   #19321
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 74
Default

have u got the steel cup or CF exotek chassis ? did you have to flip the belts ?
i have a low profile servo which doesnt help cos there is no room for the reciever :P
madwestmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 05:53 AM   #19322
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Croatia
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madwestmo View Post
have u got the steel cup or CF exotek chassis ? did you have to flip the belts ?
i have a low profile servo which doesnt help cos there is no room for the reciever :P
I have low profile servo with Futaba 2.4 GSM receiver on top.
Receiver is 1/3 out and 2/3 on servo.
tomislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 06:35 AM   #19323
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 74
Default

yeah i think thats how i will have to have mine , was trying to keep everything as low as possible though , also i dont want any of my wires touching the top deck and stopping it flexing
madwestmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 06:56 AM   #19324
Tech Addict
 
warnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 522
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I have the wires on speed controller for the SP/HW on the edge of the car rather then the centre so the speed controller can be moved further to the centre.. otherwise the wires get in the way I found.. I never flipped the belt on mine.. was too lasy.. as I need to dremel the F/R hinge mounts for the belt to fit under.

Anyone flipped the belt found it better with the exotek. I have heard ppl saying its only needed with lighter batteries.. which are under 5000mah.

Cheers

Quote:
Originally Posted by madwestmo View Post
yeah i think thats how i will have to have mine , was trying to keep everything as low as possible though , also i dont want any of my wires touching the top deck and stopping it flexing
__________________
TCX Smokem / F104 wgp
Major Sponsor : Visa Card
TEAM SMA - www.smaracing.org
warnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 02:22 PM   #19325
Tech Champion
 
MantisWorx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,835
Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Default

dont know if anyone is interested but i machined some carbon fiber dif dust covers for the cyclone! they are made of .020 single side laminated carbon fiber and i have included (4) .062 holes in them to secure CA, this way you can pry them off when you have to rebuild them. if there is enough interest i will add them to my website, in the meantime contact me via PM
Attached Thumbnails
Hot Bodies Cyclone-dsc_0620.jpg   Hot Bodies Cyclone-dsc_0622.jpg   Hot Bodies Cyclone-dsc_0623.jpg   Hot Bodies Cyclone-dsc_0624.jpg   Hot Bodies Cyclone-dsc_0625.jpg  

MantisWorx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 03:43 PM   #19326
Tech Elite
 
BillyCaldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,005
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BillyCaldwell
Default

How are the guys that went to nats doing so far in practice?
__________________
Maclin | VP-Pro USA
BillyCaldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 03:49 PM   #19327
Tech Fanatic
 
RLMW VQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Island Lake
Posts: 903
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

i would get them forsure
__________________
Hotbodies-HPI Racing- Hara Products-Team Fantom Driver-True RC-Rc Hobby and Track
RLMW VQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 04:40 PM   #19328
Tech Addict
 
Airwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 646
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madwestmo View Post
have u got the steel cup or CF exotek chassis ? did you have to flip the belts ?
i have a low profile servo which doesnt help cos there is no room for the receiver :P
I have the same receiver but I refuse to put it on the servo... So I did not fix the servo as usual on my Exotek chassis...

As you can see, it's as close of the belt it could, that was the goal... Don't forget, the heaviest part on this side after the motor is the servo (When metal gearing) then ESC and finally the receiver... Here I do not put the ESC in the center because of the wires... But I think it could be more better...



Sorry about the poor quality...
Airwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 04:44 PM   #19329
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,462
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to goop
Default

victor are you coming out saturday for your weekly beat down. that dialed setup wasn't that good.
__________________
Hurricane Motorsports
Team Trinity

TOP Racing - Gravity Rc - Contact tires - KO Propo - Competition Electronics
goop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 04:59 PM   #19330
Tech Fanatic
 
RLMW VQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Island Lake
Posts: 903
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

havent ran that new setup yet. but no i have to work sat. but i will be at strictly on sund. maybe you will show up this time, last time i was in third to jucha and arthur!!!!
__________________
Hotbodies-HPI Racing- Hara Products-Team Fantom Driver-True RC-Rc Hobby and Track
RLMW VQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 05:11 PM   #19331
Tech Addict
 
Bubblehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 701
Default tube chassis

I changed my graphite chassis for the Cyclone S tube chassis for asphalt racing. I haven't been to track yet, but how will this change affect performance?
Bubblehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 05:31 PM   #19332
Super Moderator
 
charlie_b's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,605
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to charlie_b Send a message via MSN to charlie_b Send a message via Yahoo to charlie_b
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubblehead View Post
I changed my graphite chassis for the Cyclone S tube chassis for asphalt racing. I haven't been to track yet, but how will this change affect performance?
Although some would say it is a little inconsistent, i think the Plastic Tub actually handles better on a asphalt/parking lot track. You get the steering AND traction with it. Only downfall is that it is heavier.
__________________
''Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.''-- Thomas Alva Edison
CAL RACEWAY:CAL RACEWAY
GT10 SERIES:GT10 SERIES
CFX Paintworks:="https://www.facebook.com/CFXPaintworks?fref=ts
|HITEC|PARMA|PROTEKRC|SWEEP|IWATA|RPM|AMAIN|CREATE X/WICKED/AUTOAIR PAINTS|TEAMASSOCIATED|REEDY
charlie_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 06:41 PM   #19333
Tech Addict
 
Bubblehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie_b View Post
Although some would say it is a little inconsistent, i think the Plastic Tub actually handles better on a asphalt/parking lot track. You get the steering AND traction with it. Only downfall is that it is heavier.
Traction is what I was looking for I'm racing in a class only allows Jaco blues.
Bubblehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 07:48 PM   #19334
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,462
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to goop
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RLMW VQ View Post
havent ran that new setup yet. but no i have to work sat. but i will be at strictly on sund. maybe you will show up this time, last time i was in third to jucha and arthur!!!!
i would be more impressed if you weren't 3 laps down from jucha. lmao
__________________
Hurricane Motorsports
Team Trinity

TOP Racing - Gravity Rc - Contact tires - KO Propo - Competition Electronics
goop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 07:49 PM   #19335
Tech Fanatic
 
RLMW VQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Island Lake
Posts: 903
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

my transponder missed alex looked after i was only 1 lap down
__________________
Hotbodies-HPI Racing- Hara Products-Team Fantom Driver-True RC-Rc Hobby and Track
RLMW VQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 08:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 08:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 08:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 03:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 06:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:03 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0