R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-11-2010, 03:59 AM   #18706
Tech Addict
 
AGNO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Firenze Italy
Posts: 609
Default

Did you know that Exotek also makes a chassis kit with the Europeans in mind? Instead of the stainless steel battery retainers, it's all carbon fiber. I'm not sure if he positioned them any different, but you would still get the other benefits of the chassis plate.

http://www41.instantestore.net/merchant10762/pd-hbx.cfm

-Korey




Not know ... very interesting.

Thanks korey
__________________
Team GMV / RC electric AS Laurenziana
Hot Bodies TCXX - HW Xerun - IP - Spec-R
AGNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 04:03 AM   #18707
Tech Adept
 
tomracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Korey Harbke View Post
Did you know that Exotek also makes a chassis kit with the Europeans in mind? Instead of the stainless steel battery retainers, it's all carbon fiber. I'm not sure if he positioned them any different, but you would still get the other benefits of the chassis plate.

http://www41.instantestore.net/merchant10762/pd-hbx.cfm

-Korey
gotta say that annoys me a bit as i just got the original hbx chassis and I was working on making it lighter to fit the rules here. plus this new chassis seems to have some other nice features.
__________________
Tom van den Brink
--------------------------
RC Crewchief - setup software for racers
tomracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 04:39 AM   #18708
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Korey Harbke View Post
Did you know that Exotek also makes a chassis kit with the Europeans in mind? Instead of the stainless steel battery retainers, it's all carbon fiber. I'm not sure if he positioned them any different, but you would still get the other benefits of the chassis plate.

http://www41.instantestore.net/merchant10762/pd-hbx.cfm

-Korey
I didn't know MikeR revised this chassis so that the belts can be reversed

anyone else try reversing the belts like Hara's prototype used at the TITC??
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 06:01 AM   #18709
Tech Adept
 
Coldn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: So Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 115
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Coldn
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
I didn't know MikeR revised this chassis so that the belts can be reversed

anyone else try reversing the belts like Hara's prototype used at the TITC??
here in brazil some guys reverse the belts. to use electric more in center of the car. but we dont use exoteck chassi.

__________________
Cyclone TC - Futaba 3PM Fasst
Speed Passio GT2.0 - MMM 10.5t
Nanotech 6000mah
Coldn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 06:17 AM   #18710
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt
Default

I ran my drivetrain flipped at DHI using stock TC chassis.
Flip diffs and layshaft, then add an extra bearing on the left side to space out the play.
__________________
JMI Motorsport / Red Bull Racing
HB Cyclone TC - Schumacher CAT SX & Cougar SV
Advanced Electronics - Autopartner.se - Savx - NorthTQ
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 07:19 AM   #18711
Tech Addict
 
AGNO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Firenze Italy
Posts: 609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
I didn't know MikeR revised this chassis so that the belts can be reversed

anyone else try reversing the belts like Hara's prototype used at the TITC??
If you use heavy batteries of 280 gr mh type 5000 is not necessary to turn the transmission, the car is balanced only by moving outside the batteries without moving into electronics.
Moving the transmission and electronics to balance the machine is needed when using lightweight batteries 3800/4000 mh of 240 grams, with this configuration makes the car very light and balanced.
The prototype of Hara, from what we can see from the photos shows a very narrow transmission, batteries are in place almost within the standard model even with the transmission then reversed it becomes necessary to move the electronics inside the balance With this configuration you have a car with weights very centered with advantage on handling.
__________________
Team GMV / RC electric AS Laurenziana
Hot Bodies TCXX - HW Xerun - IP - Spec-R
AGNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 08:22 AM   #18712
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AGNO View Post
If you use heavy batteries of 280 gr mh type 5000 is not necessary to turn the transmission, the car is balanced only by moving outside the batteries without moving into electronics.
Moving the transmission and electronics to balance the machine is needed when using lightweight batteries 3800/4000 mh of 240 grams, with this configuration makes the car very light and balanced.
The prototype of Hara, from what we can see from the photos shows a very narrow transmission, batteries are in place almost within the standard model even with the transmission then reversed it becomes necessary to move the electronics inside the balance With this configuration you have a car with weights very centered with advantage on handling.
gotcha - i was just curious about flipping the belts to see if i can get the front belt off the motor mount

i'm assuming the rear diff won't loosen when its put in backwards?
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 08:28 AM   #18713
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy Bergfeldt View Post
I ran my drivetrain flipped at DHI using stock TC chassis.
Flip diffs and layshaft, then add an extra bearing on the left side to space out the play.
left as in electronics side? American drivers' side?

wouldn't spacing out the locked pulleys to eliminate side-side play do the same thing?

how would you handle a one-way pulley? put the extra bearing between the one way and the spur gear?
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 08:39 AM   #18714
Tech Addict
 
AGNO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Firenze Italy
Posts: 609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
gotcha - i was just curious about flipping the belts to see if i can get the front belt off the motor mount

i'm assuming the rear diff won't loosen when its put in backwards?
I tried to turn the trasmisione once but now I use the standard configuration, however, no problem of loosening of the differential.
__________________
Team GMV / RC electric AS Laurenziana
Hot Bodies TCXX - HW Xerun - IP - Spec-R
AGNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 05:03 PM   #18715
Tech Addict
 
trickd122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 509
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
I didn't know MikeR revised this chassis so that the belts can be reversed

anyone else try reversing the belts like Hara's prototype used at the TITC??
looking at this chassis it appears as though it has the hole already made for the Fr/FF block modification. Can anyone clarify/verify?
__________________
TEAM MAGIC "making my competition disappear"
trickd122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 05:10 PM   #18716
Tech Addict
 
trickd122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 509
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy Bergfeldt View Post
I ran my drivetrain flipped at DHI using stock TC chassis.
Flip diffs and layshaft, then add an extra bearing on the left side to space out the play.
Have you noticed any differences in handling v/s standard drive train replacement?
__________________
TEAM MAGIC "making my competition disappear"
trickd122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 05:18 PM   #18717
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trickd122 View Post
looking at this chassis it appears as though it has the hole already made for the Fr/FF block modification. Can anyone clarify/verify?
Nah, that's not it... My exotek chassis has those mounting positions and mine is about 6 months old

but there is an extra cutout by the motor that's interesting
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 05:22 PM   #18718
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,252
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to joey
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
Nah, that's not it... My exotek chassis has those mounting positions and mine is about 6 months old

but there is an extra cutout by the motor that's interesting
mine doesnt have the holes for the FR block mod..
__________________
=Joe Wright=
joey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 05:45 PM   #18719
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joey View Post
mine doesnt have the holes for the FR block mod..
Well ok then I just looked at mine and i stand corrected - was thinking about the stock cyclone chassis I got - oopsie
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 07:57 PM   #18720
Tech Addict
 
JKL1031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

hey folk,,im planning to put the sway bar kit on my sprint 2, and so far besides the sway bars themselves, i know i need

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWAX:IT

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWAX:IT

what else is missing? also which sway bar u all would recommend?
JKL1031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:04 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net